Zane Ulin v. GEICO General Insurance Company; Jane Susan Kurth; James Kurth also known as Janes M. Kurth and James Michael Kurth; the Estate of James Michael Kurth; Barry A. Cape; and one driver whose name is unknown, but whose name is believed to be known to Jane Susan Kurth
Opinion
NOTICE
Memorandum decisions of this court do not create legal precedent. A party wishing to cite such a decision in a brief or at oral argument should review Alaska Appellate Rule 214(d).
THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA ZANE ULIN, )
) Supreme Court No. S-17113 Appellant, )
) Superior Court No. 3AN-17-10921 CI v. )
) MEMORANDUM OPINION GEICO GENERAL INSURANCE ) AND JUDGMENT* COMPANY; JANE SUSAN KURTH; ) JAMES KURTH also known as JAMES ) No. 1749 – November 27, 2019 M. KURTH and JAMES MICHAEL ) KURTH; the ESTATE of JAMES ) MICHAEL KURTH; BARRY A. CAPE; ) and one driver whose name is unknown, ) but whose name is believed to be known ) to Jane Susan Kurth, )
)
Appellees. )
)
Appeal from the Superior Court of the State of Alaska, Third Judicial District, Anchorage, Dani Crosby, Judge.
Appearances: Zane Ulin, pro se, Palmer, Appellant. Barry J. Kell, Kell & Associates, P.C., Anchorage, for Appellee GEICO General Insurance Company. Notices of nonparticipation filed by Michael J. Hanson, Call & Hanson, P.C., Anchorage, for Appellees Jane Susan Kurth, James Kurth, and the Estate of James Michael Kurth; and Marc A.
Spooner, Walker & Eakes LLC, Anchorage, for Appellee Barry Cape.
Before: Bolger, Chief Justice, Winfree, Stowers, Maassen, and Carney, Justices.
I. INTRODUCTION
A victim in a hit-and-run car accident sued all parties involved in the accident, as well as the insurer of the vehicle that left the scene. The insurer filed a motion to dismiss for failure to state a claim, which the superior court granted. The victim appeals the order granting the motion to dismiss and the court’s denial of his subsequent motion for reconsideration. We affirm the judgment of the superior court because the victim’s pleadings and motions do not allege a compensable cause of action. II. FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS
Zane Ulin was injured in a three-vehicle accident occurring in December 2015.1 Ulin was approaching an intersection when an unknown driver in a vehicle owned by James M. Kurth failed to stop at the intersection. The vehicle owned by Kurth collided with a vehicle owned by Barry A. Cape. Cape’s vehicle in turn struck Ulin’s vehicle. The vehicle owned by Kurth then left the scene. As a result of the accident, Ulin suffered unspecified physical injuries.
In September 2016 an attorney representing Ulin sent a notice to GEICO General Insurance Company (GEICO), Kurth’s insurer. The attorney asked GEICO to retain relevant evidence and to “provide [Ulin] with a certified copy of the insurance policy in effect on December 4, 2015, covering the vehicle involved in this accident.”
Ulin filed a complaint in the superior court in December 2017. He named several defendants, including the unknown driver, Cape, and GEICO. Ulin alleged that both the unknown driver and Cape negligently operated their vehicles but failed to allege any cause of action against GEICO.
In February 2018 GEICO filed a motion to dismiss. It asserted that Ulin had failed to state a claim against GEICO for which relief could be granted. GEICO acknowledged that it insured the vehicle owned by Kurth, but claimed that “Alaska law precludes a plaintiff from bringing suit directly against an alleged tortfeasor’s insurer for bad faith” and “that a plaintiff cannot sue an alleged tortfeasor’s insurer directly for the alleged negligence of its insured.”
Ulin filed a response, claiming that “the cause of action directed against [GEICO] would be a duty owed to the Plaintiff for damages he received as a result of the accident caused by [GEICO]’s insured.” He also stated that GEICO “demonstrated bad faith and unfair dealing in the claims handling process when counsels representing [Ulin] contacted the insurer with claims and requests for disclosure and production of information.” He stated that this bad faith conduct was actionable. Ulin further indicated that he might amend or supplement his claims against GEICO at a later time. The superior court granted GEICO’s motion to dismiss with prejudice in April 2018.
Ulin filed a motion for reconsideration, stating that the court erred by not considering statutes governing unfair claim settlement practices and related portions of the administrative code. He also claimed that the court failed to recognize that GEICO intentionally violated these statutes and regulations by “intentionally concealing and withholding information that [GEICO] was mandatorily required to disclose and produce.” The superior court denied this motion in May 2018.
Ulin now appeals, representing himself.2 III. DISCUSSION
Ulin argues that the superior court erred when it granted GEICO’s motion to dismiss for failure to state a claim and when it denied his motion for reconsideration.3 He primarily claims that the superior court erred by failing to apply relevant statutes, relevant regulations, and our precedent to the facts. We review an order dismissing a complaint for failure to state a claim de novo,4 and the denial of a motion for reconsideration for an abuse of discretion.5
As GEICO argues that, “Ulin’s complaint makes no factual allegations sufficient to support any claim against GEICO.” It is well-established that “under Alaska law a plaintiff may not sue a tortfeasor’s insurance company directly.”6 But in light of Ulin’s status as a self-represented litigant, we consider his response to the motion to dismiss and his motion for reconsideration broadly for clarification of his potential claim against GEICO.
Ulin’s opposition to GEICO’s motion to dismiss states that “at this time the cause of action directed against [GEICO] would be a duty owed to [Ulin] for damages he received as a result of the accident.”7 But we have rejected the proposition that an insurer owes an injured claimant a general duty of good faith and fair dealing.8
Ulin argues that such a duty arises from the statutes and regulations governing insurance companies.9 But we have rejected this position as well, explaining that AS 21.36.125 in particular “prohibits acts committed so frequently as to become a trade practice; it does not readily lend itself to enforcement by a private cause of action arising from a single claim.”10
We therefore conclude that we must affirm the superior court’s order of dismissal with respect to the claims Ulin has asserted in his complaint and his motion for reconsideration.11 IV. CONCLUSION
The superior court’s judgment is AFFIRMED.
Case-law data current through September 30, 2026. Source: CourtListener bulk data.