Ex Parte Murray
Cases that cite this one
28 later published cases cite this decision. The 25 that cite it most often are listed here.
- Sanders v. Dunlop Tire Corp. (Ala. Civ. App. 1996)
- Farmers Home Gin v. Christopher (Ala. Civ. App. 1995)
- Lydy v. Trustaff, Inc./Wausau Insurance Company (Vt. 2013)
- Smith v. QHG of Dothan, Inc. (Ala. Civ. App. 2003)
- Anderson v. Baptist Medical Center (S.C. 2001)
- Schlotfeld v. Mel's Heating and Air Conditioning (Neb. 1989)
- Martin v. Austal USA, LLC (Ala. Civ. App. 2015)
- Ex Parte Dunlop Tire Corp. (Ala. 1997)
- North River Ins. Co. v. Purser (Ala. Civ. App. 1992)
- Fowler v. the City of Huntsville (Ala. Civ. App. 1992)
- Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co. v. Gilbert (Ala. Civ. App. 1987)
- Ex parte Austal USA, LLC (Ala. 2017)
- Rodriguez-Flores v. U.S. Coatings, Inc. (Ala. 2013)
- Ex Parte G.A. West Company, 2100507 (ala.civ.app. 6-24-2011) (Ala. Civ. App. 2011)
- Cockle v. Dept. of Labor and Industries (Wash. 2001)
- Cooks v. Bender Shipbuilding & Repair Co. (Ala. Civ. App. 2001)
- Lazarus v. Industrial Commission (Ariz. Ct. App. 1997)
- Dunlop Tire Corp. v. Hill (Ala. Civ. App. 1997)
- Ciampi v. Hannaford Bros. Co. (Me. 1996)
- Haney v. Union Foundry Co. (Ala. Civ. App. 1996)
- Jarrell v. Bender Shipbuilding & Repair Co. (Ala. Civ. App. 1996)
- Ingram v. Brookwood Health Services, Inc. (Ala. Civ. App. 1994)
- Barnett v. Sara Lee Corp. (Md. Ct. Spec. App. 1993)
- Upchurch v. UNIVERSAL UNDERWRITERS INS. (Ala. Civ. App. 1992)
- Antillon v. New Mexico State Highway Department (N.M. Ct. App. 1991)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion
James Marshall Murray obtained a judgment against his employer, International Paper Company, for an on-the-job injury covered under the Alabama Workmen's Compensation Act. The Court of Civil Appeals reversed the judgment, holding that Murray failed to give notice of the injury to his employer within five days, as required by Code 1975, §
We granted certiorari and reversed the judgment of the Court of Civil Appeals. Ex parte Murray,
On remand, International Paper Co. v. Murray,
Murray then filed the present petition for writ of certiorari, which we granted. We affirm that portion of the judgment of the Court of Civil Appeals relating to the *Page 1240 "good reason" issue. However, we reverse that portion of that court's judgment excluding employer-paid premiums on insurance policies from the computation of the worker's average weekly wage.
The statute that prescribes the method for computing workmen's compensation benefits states, in pertinent part:
"Whatever allowances of any character made to an employee in lieu of wages are specified as part of the wage contract shall be deemed a part of his earnings."
Code 1975, §
In construing this statute to determine whether such benefits should be included in the computation, the Court of Civil Appeals relied heavily on Morrison-Knudsen Construction Co. v.Director, Office of Workers' Compensation Programs, UnitedStates Department of Labor,
"`Wages' means the money rate at which the service rendered is recompensed under the contract of hiring in force at the time of the injury, including the reasonable value of board, rent, housing, lodging, or similar advantage received from the employer, and gratuities received in the course of employment from other than the employer."
The two phrases are not synonymous. The language of Code 1975, §
The Court of Civil Appeals also found comfort in Professor Larson's The Law of Workmen's Compensation, § 60.12 (b) (Supp. 1983), which supports the Morrison-Knudsen decision. Professor Larson states that the primary reason for calculating the average weekly wage is to determine what has in fact been lost. According to him, fringe benefits do not "form part of the standard of living . . . and are not in any meaningful sense lost as the result of the death or injury." Larson, supra, at 219. First, Larson argues that because the value of fringe-benefit protections is not realized until an event triggers the compensation, the value cannot then be part of the pre-event standard of living, which the compensation plan is meant to maintain. Second, he argues that nothing in fringe benefits is really lost if the worker is injured or killed; he says that, in fact, the very event will trigger payment of benefits, which results in a gain of the face value of the insurance plan.
Professor Larson's arguments are not persuasive. First, the proposition that employer-paid fringe benefits do not form part of the standard of living is shortsighted. There is a discernible economic value to the worker in having someone else pay his or her insurance premiums. If forced to purchase the same insurance out of take-home wages, the employee reduces disposable money income, which, of course, affects his or her standard of living. Second, the proposition that fringe benefits are not really lost as a result of death or injury is equally shortsighted. A compensable injury in Alabama does not entitle an employee to unlimited care, but to reasonably necessary treatment incident to the job-related injury, with the employer selecting the physician. See Code 1975, §
We are required to interpret statutory language to give effect to the legislative intent. To read the broad term "allowances of any character" to exclude these insurance premiums is unreasonable, notwithstanding Professor Larson's criticism of courts which disagree with him. If we are wrong in our view of what the legislature meant, it can correct us by a simple amendment to the statute.
We affirm the judgment of the Court of Civil Appeals in regard to the notice issue. We reverse the judgment regarding the computation of Murray's average weekly wage and remand.
AFFIRMED IN PART; REVERSED IN PART; AND REMANDED.
MADDOX, FAULKNER, JONES, SHORES, BEATTY and HOUSTON, JJ., concur.
ALMON and ADAMS, JJ., not sitting.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.