Hikida v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd.
Cases that cite this one
6 later published cases cite this decision.
- County of Santa Clara v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (Cal. Ct. App. 2020)
- City of Petaluma v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. of State (Cal. Ct. App. 2018)
- Mayor v. Workers' Compensation Appeals Bd. (Cal. Ct. App. 2024)
- Mayor v. Workers' Compensation Appeals Bd. etc. (Cal. Ct. App. 2024)
- Applied Materials v. Workers' Comp Appeals Board (Cal. Ct. App. 2021)
- City of Petaluma v. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. (Cal. Ct. App. 2018)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
*1252Petitioner Maureen Hikida seeks review of an order of respondent Workers' Compensation Appeals Board (the Board) affirming the decision of the workers' compensation judge (WCJ) to apportion the permanent total disability suffered by petitioner between industrial and nonindustrial causes prior to issuing its award. Petitioner contends that because the agreed medical examiner (AME) concluded her permanent total disability was the result of a failed surgery for carpal tunnel syndrome, a condition she contracted primarily due to the clerical work she performed for respondent Costco Wholesale Corporation (Costco) for more than 25 years, apportionment was not appropriate.
FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND
Petitioner was employed by respondent Costco from November 1984 to May 2010. During this period, she developed a number of medical conditions, including carpel tunnel syndrome.
In May 2010, she took leave from *1253work to undergo carpel tunnel surgery.
In 2012 and 2013, petitioner was examined by an AME in orthopedics, Chester Hasday, M.D. Dr. Hasday found petitioner permanently and totally disabled from the labor market. He found that her permanent total disability was due entirely to the effects of the CRPS that she developed as a result of the failed carpal tunnel surgery. He further concluded that petitioner's carpal tunnel condition itself was 90 percent due to industrial factors and 10 percent to nonindustrial factors.
In issuing the award, the WCJ found that petitioner's permanent total disability was 90 percent due to industrial factors, "after adjustment for apportionment." Petitioner sought reconsideration by the Board, contending her disability was 100 percent industrial because it derived from medical treatment, entitling her to an unapportioned award. The WCJ prepared a report and recommendation, in which he recommended denying the petition for reconsideration, stating that he was "obligated under Labor Code section 4663 to address apportionment of permanent disability to factors other than applicant's industrial injury."
On February 8, 2016, in a two-to-one decision, the Board affirmed the apportionment. The majority concluded: "To properly evaluate the issue of apportionment of permanent disability, it is necessary to 'parcel out' the causative sources of the permanent disability, nonindustrial, prior industrial and current industrial, and 'decide the amount directly caused by the current industrial source.' [Citation.] [¶] As the WCJ notes in the Report, the AME Dr. Hasday concluded that [petitioner's] CRPS caused her to be totally permanently disabled. However, there is a basis for apportionment of that permanent disability to nonindustrial causative sources as found by the WCJ because the CRPS was caused by the surgery to treat [petitioner's] carpal tunnel condition, which is 10 percent nonindustrial and 90 percent industrial as opined by Dr. Hasday. [Citation.]" (Quoting Brodie v. Workers. Comp. Appeals Bd . (2007)
The dissent, citing multiple cases holding that an employee is entitled to compensation for new or aggravated injury resulting from the medical or surgical treatment of an industrial injury, stated the WCJ erred "because he apportioned the permanent disability caused by [petitioner's] CRPS based upon the causation of [her] underlying carpal tunnel injury and not upon the cause of her permanent disability.... In that the CRPS causing [petitioner's] total permanent disability resulted entirely from the surgery reasonably performed to treat [her] industrial carpal tunnel injury, it is error to apportion the permanent disability resulting from that medical treatment based upon the causes *658of the injury that was being treated." (Italics omitted.)
After the Board issued its February 2016 decision remanding the case, petitioner prepared a trial brief urging the WCJ to find her 100 percent disabled based on the psychiatric injury, which she alleged was entirely industrial. Petitioner further contended that the vocational expert's opinion supported a 100 percent award, and that a 100 percent award was required under section 4662, subdivision (b) due to her inability to fully use her arms and hands.
*1255DISCUSSION
A. Timeliness of Appeal
Shortly before oral argument, respondents Costco and Helmsman filed a supplemental brief contending the Board's February 8, 2016 opinion was "likely" the "final decision" with respect to the apportionment issue, and that the appeal should be dismissed as untimely. For the reasons set forth below, we disagree.
Section 5950 provides that "[a]ny person affected by an order, decision, or award of the [Board] may ... apply to the Supreme Court or to the court of appeal for the appellate district in which he resides, for a writ of review...." The petition for writ of review must be filed "within 45 days after a petition for reconsideration is denied, or, if a petition is granted or reconsideration is had on the appeal board's own motion, within 45 days after the filing of the order, decision, or award following reconsideration." (§ 5950.) "The failure of an aggrieved party to seek judicial review of a final order of the [Board] bars later challenge to the propriety of the order or decision before either the [Board] or the court." (State Farm General Ins. Co. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd . (2013)
Generally, an appeal will not lie to review an order made by the Board where the order remands the matter for a further hearing, leaving issues to be resolved by the WCJ. (Gumilla v. Industrial Acc. Comm . (1921)
In general, a threshold issue is one "crucial to the employee's right to receive benefits." (Maranian , supra , 81 Cal.App.4th at p. 1078,
The Board's February 2016 decision was not a final order disposing of the case, as it remanded the matter to the WCJ to determine the amount of compensation to be awarded for the psychiatric disability and other issues raised by petitioner. Nor was the Board's decision on apportionment a threshold issue, "crucial to [petitioner's] right to receive benefits." (Maranian , supra , 81 Cal.App.4th at p. 1078,
B. Merits
We turn now to the merits of petitioner's assertion that the Board erred when it found that despite the AME's unchallenged opinion that petitioner's CRPS resulting from the failed surgery rendered her totally disabled, the Board deemed her permanent total disability to be 90 percent due to industrial factors after apportionment.
The Board's conclusions on questions of law are reviewed de novo. (Benson v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd . (2009)
1. Changes in the Law of Apportionment
" 'Apportionment is the process employed by the Board to segregate the residual[ ] [effects] of an industrial injury from those attributable to other industrial injuries, or to nonindustrial factors, in order to fairly allocate the legal responsibility.' " (Brodie , supra, 40 Cal.4th at p. 1321,
In addition, prior to 2004, former section 4750-which governed apportionment between a current and past industrial injury-was interpreted as allowing the employee to defeat apportionment by establishing rehabilitation of an injury for which a permanent disability award had already been issued.
As the Supreme Court explained in Brodie , reversing these constraints on apportionment was a key goal of the Legislature when it amended the governing statutes in 2004, eliminating section 4750, re-writing section 4663 and adding section 4664:
2. Disability Caused by Medical Treatment of an Industrial Injury
Under the changes wrought by the 2004 amendments, the disability arising from petitioner's carpal tunnel syndrome was apportionable between industrial and nonindustrial causes. However, petitioner's permanent total disability was caused not by her carpal tunnel condition, but by the *663CRPS resulting from the medical treatment her employer provided. The issue presented is whether an employer is responsible for both the medical treatment and any disability arising directly from unsuccessful medical intervention, without apportionment. For the reasons discussed below, we conclude it is.
In Granado , the Supreme Court provided the following rationale for its conclusion that "medical expense is not apportionable"
*664: "If medical expense reasonably necessary to relieve from the industrial injury were apportionable, a workingman, who is disabled, may not be able to pay his share of the expense and thus forego treatment. Moreover, the uncertainties attendant to the determination of the proper apportionment might cause employers to refuse to pay their share until there has been a hearing and decision on the question of apportionment, and such delay in payment may compel the injured workingman to forego the prompt treatment to which he is entitled." (Granado, supra, 69 Cal.2d at pp. 405-406,
It also has long been the rule that "the aggravation of an industrial injury or the infliction of a new injury resulting from its treatment or examination are compensable under the provisions of the Workmen's Compensation Act and, therefore, within the exclusive cognizance of the Industrial Accident Commission."
*1262(Nation v. Certainteed Corp . (1978)
In De a u ville v. Hall , supra ,
Here, there is no dispute that the disabling carpal tunnel syndrome from which petitioner suffered was largely the result of her many years of clerical employment with Costco. It followed that Costco was required to provide medical treatment to *665resolve the problem, without apportionment. The surgery went badly, leaving appellant with a far more disabling condition-CRPS-that will never be alleviated. California workers' compensation law relieves Costco of liability for any negligence in the provision of the medical treatment that led to petitioner's CRPS. It does not relieve Costco of the obligation to compensate petitioner for this disability without apportionment.
Our review of the authorities convinces us that in enacting the "new regime of apportionment based on causation," the Legislature did not intend to transform the law requiring employers to pay for all medical treatment caused by an industrial injury, including the foreseeable consequences of such medical treatment. Pre-2004 law constraining the application of apportionment in the award of permanent disability benefits was based primarily on the interpretation of former sections 4663 and 4750, which were eliminated or fundamentally altered by the 2004 amendments. The longstanding rule that *1263employers are responsible for all medical treatment necessitated in any part by an industrial injury, including new injuries resulting from that medical treatment, derived not from those statutes, but from (1) the concern that applying apportionment principles to medical care would delay and potentially prevent an injured employee from getting medical care; and (2) the fundamental proposition that workers' compensation should cover all claims between the employee and employer arising from work-related injuries, leaving no potential for an independent suit for negligence against the employer. Nothing in the 2004 legislation had any impact on the reasoning that has long supported the employer's responsibility to compensate for medical treatment and the consequences of medical treatment without apportionment. Accordingly, the WCJ erred in relying on the 2004 amendment to support apportioning petitioner's award, and the Board erred in upholding his decision.
DISPOSITION
The order of the Board on reconsideration is annulled. The matter is remanded to the Board for further proceedings consistent with the view expressed in this opinion. Petitioner shall recover her costs.
We concur:
EPSTEIN, P.J.
WILLHITE, J.
Costco is adjusted by respondent Helmsman Management Services (Helmsman). We granted permission to California Applicants' Attorneys Association to file an amicus curiae brief in support of petitioner.
Pursuant to stipulation of the parties, the WCJ found that petitioner "sustained injury arising out of and in the course of employment to her cervical spine, thoracic spine, upper extremities, ... psyche, fingers, [and] elbows...." He further found that she suffered from employment-related headaches, memory loss, sleep disorder, and "deconditioning." Petitioner claimed to have other medical conditions, including hypertension and irritable bowel syndrome, but the WCJ did not find them employment related.
Medical reports indicate petitioner was considered temporarily totally disabled at this time. Medical treatment was provided under the auspices of workers' compensation law. (See Labor Code, § 4600.) (Undesignated statutory references are to the Labor Code.)
Petitioner was also evaluated by a vocational expert who found her permanently and totally disabled, without access to any occupation in the open labor market.
Section 4662, subdivision (a) provides: "Any of the following permanent disabilities shall be conclusively presumed to be total in character: ... (2) Loss of both hands or the use thereof."
Respondents Costco and Helmsman filed an answer. The Board submitted a letter to the court stating it would not answer the petition because "the decisions of the [WCJ] and the Appeals Board provide the reasons and record for the [Board's] decision in this case...." The letter stated: "When the Appeals Board denied reconsideration of the WCJ's August 3, 2016 Decision on October 25, 2016, the August 3, 2016 Decision of the WCJ became the final decision of the [Board] in this case for purposes of appellate review."
In Safeway Stores, the court agreed to decide whether the worker's injury arose out of and in the course of employment. (Safeway Stores, supra, 104 Cal.App.3d at p. 533,
We observe that in the authorities relied on by respondents, the courts saved an otherwise premature appeal by deeming the issue involved a "threshold issue." (Safeway Stores, supra, 104 Cal.App.3d at pp. 531, 535,
Former section 4663 provided: "In case of aggravation of any disease existing prior to a compensable injury, compensation shall be allowed only for the proportion of the disability due to the aggravation of such prior disease which is reasonably attributed to the injury." (Stats. 1937, ch. 90, § 4663, p. 284.)
Former section 4750 provided: "An employee who is suffering from a previous permanent disability or physical impairment and sustains permanent injury thereafter shall not receive from the employer compensation for the later injury in excess of the compensation allowed for such injury when considered by itself and not in conjunction with or in relation to the previous disability or impairment. [¶] The employer shall not be liable for compensation to such an employee for the combined disability, but only for that portion due to the later injury as though no prior disability or impairment had existed." (Stats. 1945, ch. 1161, § 1, p. 2209.)
Section 4663 currently provides that "[a]pportionment of permanent disability shall be based on causation" and "[a] physician who prepares a report addressing the issue of permanent disability due to a claimed industrial injury shall address in that report the issue of causation of the permanent disability" which "must include an apportionment determination" stating "what approximate percentage of the permanent disability was caused by the direct result of injury arising out of and occurring in the course of employment and what approximate percentage of the permanent disability was caused by other factors both before and subsequent to the industrial injury, including prior industrial injuries."
Section 4664 provides: "(a) The employer shall only be liable for the percentage of permanent disability directly caused by the injury arising out of and occurring in the course of employment. [¶] (b) If the applicant has received a prior award of permanent disability, it shall be conclusively presumed that the prior permanent disability exists at the time of any subsequent industrial injury. This presumption is a presumption affecting the burden of proof. [¶] (c)(1) The accumulation of all permanent disability awards issued with respect to any one region of the body in favor of one individual employee shall not exceed 100 percent over the employee's lifetime unless the employee's injury or illness is conclusively presumed to be total in character pursuant to Section 4662.... "
The Board had come to a similar conclusion in Escobedo v. Marshalls (2005)
Petitioner and amicus curiae contend this issue has been resolved, citing County of Sacramento v. WCAB (Chimeri) (2010)
Petitioner further contends this matter was resolved in Escobedo v. Marshalls, in which the Board stated: "Section 4663(a)'s statement that the apportionment of permanent disability shall be based on 'causation' refers to the causation of the permanent disability, not causation of the injury, and the analysis of the causal factors of permanent disability for purposes of apportionment may be different from the analysis of the causal factors of the injury itself." (Escobedo v. Marshalls, supra, 70 Cal.Comp.Cases at p. 607.) In Escobedo, the employee's disability was not the result of medical treatment. The Board addressed apportionment where the disability was caused 50 percent by an industrial injury and 50 percent by a preexisting degenerative condition. " '[A]n opinion is not authority for a proposition not therein considered.' " (Westly v. Board of Administration (2003)
The Industrial Accident Commission was replaced by the Board in 1966. (Ramirez v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2017)
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.