American National Insurance v. Gregg
Cases that cite this one
5 later published cases cite this decision.
- National Ben Franklin Life Insurance Corp. v. Cohen (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1985)
- Owen W. Markel, of the Estates of Raymond E. King and Yvonne King, Deceased v. The Travelers Insurance Company (10th Cir. 1975)
- Moulden v. Kansas City Life Insurance (United States District Court for the District of Colorado 1955)
- Pyramid Life Insurance v. Williams (Ark. 1952)
- Kapalczynski v. Globe Construction Co. (Mich. Ct. App. 1969)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
delivered the opinion of the court.
At the close of the case, the court, proceeding well advised, as we are persuaded, and as moved thereto, disposed of the case as follows, that is to say: “After all of the testimony was in and both parties to the action rested,” said the court, “the defendant moved for a nonsuit and joined with its motion for a nonsuit a motion for a directed verdict, and both motions were overruled. Then the plaintiff moved for a directed verdict, * * * [which was] argued but not passed upon by the court. Then the defendant filed its supplementary motion for a directed verdict and that motion was argued and taken under advisement until this morning, so at the present time there is plaintiff’s motion for a directed verdict, and defendant’s supplementary motion for a directed verdict before the Court. Under the code, of
Giving attention to plaintiff in error’s challenge of the applicability of the Shinall and McClain cases, on which the trial court based its ruling, we have been at pains to re-examine those opinions in the light thereof. Our considered conclusion is that the trial court sensed the philosophy thereof, and. correctly resolved that the inquiry here is not of distinguishing factors. In the application which the insured signed, and which was made part of the policy, the company stressed the fact that delivery of the policy was essential to its validity. The circumstances considered, and in all reason, as we think, and in the absence of specific agreement otherwise, not claimed here, the delivery date of the policy here should control, and that is the sum of our holding in those cases. It would not be profitable to review the cited cases at
While this case involves only the policy issued to Mr. Gregg, the company in its answer refers to the Mrs. Gregg and Carter policies, and says that “all * * * enter into the transactions which go to make up the facts pertinent to this case.” It is not claimed that conspiracy in any degree or for any purpose attended the fact that the three applied for, and received, policies from plaintiff in error. The company’s agent, not the several insured, initiated the movement out of which the applications were signed. No misrepresentation by any of the applicants was alleged, shown or even hinted. Separate applications were ma.de, as already appears, and that any of the applicants was a bad risk is not claimed. In the interest of information we undertake to relate the story in which John Q. Adams, Gregg, Leola M. Gregg, his wife, and Victor R. Carter, were characters, and the parts severally played by them.
At all times important here, -and for several years prior thereto, Adams, an experienced life insurance agent, was the representative of plaintiff in error at Pueblo. The Greggs and Carter were the officers and in control of the Gregg Aircraft Manufacturing Company, a corporation, operating in Pueblo. June 27, 1946, Adams solicited them to take life policies from the company of his representation, to which they severally acceded. In evidence thereof the solicitees, acting individually, and not in concert, signed applications for insurance, Gregg for ten thousand dollars, Carter for a like sum, and Mrs. Gregg for five thousand dollars. Gregg and Carter named their respective wives as beneficiaries, and Mrs. Gregg, her husband. Gregg’s policy, as already has been stated, was delivered September 10, 1946, Carter’s September 17, 1946, and Mrs. Gregg’s October 16, 1946. In connection therewith, as defendant pleaded in its answer, and as Adams testified, “said agent personally advanced the sum of $251.50, being the amount of the
It is without legal significance, we think, that Adams accepted the stock and notes as indicated. It is not claimed, nor does it appear otherwise, that the stock and notes mentioned were taken for or in the interest or behalf of the company. On the contrary, as the company pleaded, .and Adams testified, the latter paid the premium on the policy involved here, which payment, as is conceded, made it “paid up” to February 9, 1947, plus
The company specifies error on two rulings made at a pretrial conference. The first one pertained to' paragraph four of plaintiff’s complaint, in which she alleged, “That at the time of the said death of the said William Timothy Gregg all premiums due and payable on said policy had been paid by one J. Q. Adams, agent of defendant.” Counsel for the company inquired, “how plaintiff intended to prove the allegations contained in paragraph 4 and by whom.” The answer was that, “plaintiff expected to prove the allegations in paragraph 4 by plaintiff, Virgil R. Carter and John Q. Adams, agent, and by the allegations made in defendant’s answer and defendant’s motion for summary judgment” Counsel for the company insisted that plaintiff state the “specific allegations in defendant’s answer' and motion for
The second complaint in the same regard is that, the court erred “in not requiring defendant [plaintiff] to state whether or not they intended to prove that the agent had authority to accept a promissory note and stock in the Gregg Aircraft Manufacturing Company.” The record considered, and re-emphasizing what already we have said, the question is not pertinent. It neither was pleaded nor otherwise claimed that in behalf of the company its agent Adams sought or accepted promissory notes or shares of stock, or that either the insured or the agent intended that the company should take or accept notes or shares of stock in payment of the premium, nor .did it.
The company’s other specifications have had our attention, but we believe them to be without merit. Let the judgment be affirmed.
Mr. Justice Hays and Mr. Justice Moore concur, Mr. Justice Alter concurs specially, and Mr. Chief Justice
Concurring Opinion
specially concurring.
Here the opinion is supported by those announced in Shinall v. Prudential Ins. Co., 91 Colo. 194, 14 P. (2d) 183; Hill v. Capitol Life Ins. Co., 91 Colo. 300, 14 P. (2d) 1006, both announced in 1932, and in Columbian National Life Ins. Co. v. McClain, 115 Colo. 458, 174 P. (2d) 348. I dissented from the opinion in each of those cases, believing then and now, that they do violence to the law of contracts. My convictions have not undergone any change, but since I now feel bound by the law as determined in the cases, supra, the rule of stare decisis compels my concurrence.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.