JMJ Plumbing v. Cudihy
Cases that cite this one
5 later published cases cite this decision.
- Henry County Board of Education v. James A. Rutledge (Ga. Ct. App. 2020)
- Mckenney's, Inc. v. Sinyard (Ga. Ct. App. 2019)
- McKenney's Inc. v. Kevin Sinyard (Ga. Ct. App. 2019)
- Antonio Burch v. Stf Foods, Inc. (Ga. Ct. App. 2019)
- Willie Barnes v. Roseburg Forest Products Co (Ga. Ct. App. 2015)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
We granted the application for discretionary appeal of JMJ Plumbing and its workers’ compensation insurer, United Business Insurance (collectively, “JMJ”). JMJ appeals from the superior court’s order reversing the award of the appellate division of the State Board of Workers’ Compensation (the “Board”), which had reversed the award of the administrative law judge (“ALJ”); the ALJ had awarded disability income and medical benefits to Derek Cudihy. JMJ contends that the superior court erred in reversing the Board’s award when there was some evidence to support it and the Board had committed no legal error. We agree and reverse the decision of the superior court.
“In resolving this appeal, we must keep in mind the various standards of review applicable in this case. The [Board] is authorized to review the evidence adduced before the ALJ, weigh that evidence, and assess witness credibility.”
If the [Board] determines that the preponderance of evidence supports the ALJ’s decision, it will accept and affirm that award. But, if the [Board] concludes that the award does not meet the applicable evidentiary standards, it may substitute its own alternative findings for those of the ALJ, and enter an award accordingly. When reviewing awards in workers’ compensation cases, both the appellate court and the superior court must construe the evidence in the light most favorable to the party prevailing before the [Board], It*159 is axiomatic that the findings of the [Board] . . . , when supported by any evidence, are conclusive and binding.3
“[N] either the superior court nor this court has any authority to substitute itself as a fact finding body in lieu of the Board.”3
Viewed in the light most favorable to JMJ as the party prevailing before the Board, the record shows that Cudihy worked for JMJ as a plumber. On Tuesday, September 2,2008, while performing a digging task on the job, Cudihy felt a sharp pain in his back that radiated to his leg. He took a break for a few minutes, then went back to work. Cudihy did not report the injury to his employer, and continued to perform his regular work duties.
After work, Cudihy went to “Physician’s Immediate Med” for treatment. He told the treating physician that he had developed back pain over the weekend and had experienced pain while digging that morning; he was diagnosed with muscle spasms and prescribed muscle relaxers. Cudihy sought further treatment at Physician’s Immediate Med in January 2009 and was diagnosed with low back pain. Cudihy went to a chiropractor in March 2009, where he was diagnosed with muscle spasms. In May and June 2009, he saw an orthopedist, who diagnosed him with possible disk herniation. On June 3,2009, the orthopedist recommended that Cudihy be placed on light duty work and stated that he might need surgery.
On June 25, 2009, Cudihy first reported the injury to JMJ, which placed him on light duty work full-time. Cudihy continued to work at
Cudihy subsequently applied for workers’ compensation benefits, alleging a June 25, 2009 injury date. JMJ controverted the claim but, after a hearing, an ALJ awarded Cudihy disability income and medical benefits. The ALJ found, among other things, that Cudihy had sustained a work-related injury to his back on September 2,2008 and, citing the “new accident” theory (regarding a gradual worsening of condition) explained in Central State Hosp. v. James,
The Board vacated the ALJ’s award and denied Cudihy’s claim. The Board found, inter alia, that the preponderance of the evidence did not support the ALJ’s finding that Cudihy had sustained a new accident
Cudihy appealed to superior court.
To support its finding that Cudihy had established a cumulative trauma injury, the superior court made various findings of fact. Among the court’s findings: Cudihy “began having back pain related to his work duties” and, as he continued to work full-duty, “his injury gradually worsened from simple back pain to a herniated disk”; and Cudihy’s pain, symptoms, and diagnoses worsened between the time he first began experiencing pain and June 25, 2009, when he became unable to perform the same work. Finding that Cudihy had established a gradual injury causedby deterioration of his back due to daily work activities and that, under the cumulative trauma theory, Cudihy was not required to prove he was injured on September 2, 2008, the court concluded that Cudihy was entitled to medical benefits.
JMJ contends that the superior court exceeded its authority when it found that Cudihy had sustained a cumulative trauma injury on June 25, 2009. JMJ asserts that the court failed to employ the proper standard of review of the Board’s award and substituted itself as finder of fact. We agree.
The Board found that Cudihy had failed to show that he sustained a new accident on June 25,2009. The Board cited, among other things, evidence that Cudihy had injured his back during the weekend preceding September 2, 2008; when seeking medical treatment on September 2, 2008, he did not indicate that he was injured on the job, even when specifically asked; he admitted he had not sustained any injury on June 25, 2009; he did not become unable to work on June 25, 2009, as he continued working until August 12, 2009, when he was fired for unrelated reasons; and, by his own admission, at the
“For accidental injury to be compensable under the Workers’ Compensation Act, the injury must . . . occur in the course of the employment [and] arise out of the employment.”
Cudihy counters that the superior court did not engage in factfinding, but simply applied the correct legal theory to the facts found by the Board. As noted above, the superior court is authorized to reverse the Board’s award where legal errors were committed.
The Board performed the appropriate review,
Notwithstanding the Board’s finding that Cudihy’s condition had not worsened due to his work activity, the superior court found that Cudihy’s injury had worsened “due to daily work activities,” and then used that finding to support an alternative legal theory as grounds for reversing the Board’s award. It was not the superior court’s role to find its own facts and then determine whether an alternative theory required a different outcome.
Judgment reversed.
St. Joseph’s Hosp. v. Ward, 300 Ga. App. 845 (686 SE2d 443) (2009).
Bonus Stores v. Hensley, 309 Ga. App. 129, 132 (1) (710 SE2d 201) (2011) (citation and punctuation omitted).
St. Joseph’s Hosp., supra at 845-846 (citation and punctuation omitted).
John W. Rooker & Assocs. v. Patterson, 276 Ga. App. 410 (623 SE2d 258) (2005) (footnote omitted).
Parker v. American Carpet Mills, 168 Ga. App. 171, 172 (308 SE2d 409) (1983).
R. R. Donnelley v. Ogletree, 312 Ga. App. 475 (718 SE2d 825) (2011).
147 Ga. App. 308 (248 SE2d 678) (1978).
Id. at 309 (1) (a) (explaining that a “new accident,” also referred to as a “new injury,” occurs “where the claimant is injured on the job but continues to perform the duties of his employment until such time that he is forced to cease work because of the gradual worsening of his condition which was at least partly attributable to his physical activity in continuing to work subsequent to his injury”; “the date of the ‘new accident’ is the date that the disability manifests itself”).
It was undisputed that Cudihy did not sustain an actual injury on June 25, 2009.
See OCGA § 34-9-80 (pertinently providing that every injured employee shall immediately on the occurrence of any accident or as soon thereafter as practicable, give or cause to be given to the employer a notice of the accident; until such notice is given, the employee shall not be entitled to any physician’s fees nor to any compensation which may have accrued under the terms of this chapter prior to the giving of such notice; and, with certain exceptions, no compensation will be payable unless the required notice is given within 30 days after the occurrence of an accident).
The court reversed the award as to medical benefits, but did not disturb the Board’s ruling that Cudihy was not entitled to income benefits due to his failure to satisfy the job-search
See D. W. Adcock, M.D., P.C. v. Adcock, 257 Ga. App. 700, 702 (1) (572 SE2d 45) (2002) (“Cumulative trauma over time, which does not lend itself to identifying a specific incident or date as the onset of the injury, nevertheless may be found to be an injury under [the Workers’ Compensation Act].”).
St. Joseph’s Hosp., supra at 848 (1) (citations and punctuation omitted).
Stokes v. Coweta County Bd. of Ed., 313 Ga. App. 505, 509 (722 SE2d 118) (2012) (citations omitted).
Davidson v. Employers Ins. of Wausau, 139 Ga. App. 621 (229 SE2d 97) (1976).
Northbrook Property &c. Ins. Co. v. Babyak, 186 Ga. App. 339, 341 (367 SE2d 567) (1988); United States Fidelity &c. Co. v. Reynolds, 146 Ga. App. 615 (247 SE2d 199) (1978).
St. Joseph’s Hosp., supra.
Jones County Bd. of Ed. v. Patterson, 255 Ga. App. 166, 167 (564 SE2d 777) (2002).
See Central State Hosp., supra.
See St. Joseph’s Hosp., supra; Bibb County v. Short, 238 Ga. App. 291, 292 (518 SE2d 484) (1999); United Family Life Ins. Co. v. Sasser, 224 Ga. App. 871, 873 (482 SE2d 491) (1997).
See Parker, supra.
See John W. Rooker & Assocs., supra.
See Central State Hosp., supra.
See St. Joseph’s Hosp., supra.
Dixie-Cole Transfer Trucking Co. v. Fudge, 147 Ga. App. 306, 307 (3) (248 SE2d 694) (1978).
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.