Reed v. Auto-Owners Insurance
Cases that cite this one
54 later published cases cite this decision. The 24 that cite it most often are listed here.
- Georgia Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company v. Smith (Ga. 2016)
- Brownlee v. Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Co. (Md. 2017)
- RaceTrac Petroleum, Inc. v. Ace American Insurance (United States District Court for the Northern District of Georgia 2011)
- Evanston Ins. Co. v. Xytex Tissue Servs., LLC (United States District Court for the Southern District of Georgia 2019)
- Bobby S. Chupp v. Georgia Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company (Ga. Ct. App. 2015)
- Evanston Insurance Company v. Sandersville Railroad Company (11th Cir. 2019)
- Scottsdale Insurance Company v. Richard Pursley, etc, Sheryl Simpson-Jones (11th Cir. 2012)
- Pulte Home Corp. v. TIG Ins. Co. (United States District Court for the Southern District of California 2018)
- Scottsdale Insurance Company v. Richard Pursley, Sheryl Simpson-Jones (11th Cir. 2012)
- Home Depot, Inc. v. Steadfast Ins. Co. (6th Cir. 2025)
- National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, PA, Allianz Global Risks US Insurance Company, Ace American Insurance Company, Zurich American Insurance Company, Great Lakes Insurance SE, XL Insurance America, Inc., General Security Indemnity Company of Arizona, Aspen Insurance UK Limited, Navigators Management Company, Inc., Ironshore Specialty Insurance Company, Validus Specialty Underwriting Services, Inc., and HDI-Gerling America Insurance Company v. Westlake Chemical Corporation and Axiall Corporation; and Westlake Chemical Corporation and Axiall Corporation v. National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, PA, Allianz Global Risks US Insurance Company, Ace American Insurance Company, Zurich American Insurance Company, Great Lakes Insurance SE, XL Insurance America, Inc., General Security Indemnity Company of Arizona, Aspen Insurance UK Limited, Navigators Management Company, Inc., Ironshore Specialty Insurance Company, Validus Specialty Underwriting Services, Inc., and HDI-Gerling America Insurance Company (W. Va. Ct. App. 2025)
- General Security Indemnity Company of Arizona v. Gerald Jones Ford, LLC (Ga. Ct. App. 2024)
- Pulte Home Corp. v. American Safety Indemnity Co. (United States District Court for the Southern District of California 2017)
- State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v. Dantzler (Neb. 2014)
- Garrison v. Jackson National Life Insurance (United States District Court for the Northern District of Georgia 2012)
- The Estate of Josiah Wheeler, Pursuant to the Assignment of Rights of Insured Deborah Overly and Terry Summers; Keith Wheeler; Rhetta Wheeler, Individually and as Representatives of the Estate of Josiah Wheeler v. Garrison Property and Casualty Insurance Company, a Subsidiary of USAA Insurance Company (Alaska 2025)
- Progressive Mountain Insurance Company v. Chen (United States District Court for the Northern District of Georgia 2024)
- Henry's Louisiana Grill, Inc. v. Allied Insurance Company of America (11th Cir. 2022)
- TransWorld Food Service, LLC v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company (United States District Court for the Northern District of Georgia 2022)
- Progressive Mountain Insurance Company v. Mobile Maintenance On The Go, LLLP (United States District Court for the Northern District of Georgia 2022)
- McCruter v. Travelers Home & Marine Ins. Co. (Ohio Ct. App. 2021)
- Gilreath Family & Cosmetic Dentistry, Inc. v. The Cincinnati Insurance Company (11th Cir. 2021)
- Nat'l Cas. Co. v. Ga. Sch. Bds. Ass'n-Risk Mgmt. Fund (Ga. 2018)
- National Casualty Company v. Georgia School Boards Association-Risk Management Fund (Ga. 2018)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
This appeal involves the proper construction of a pollution exclusion clause in a commercial general liability (“CGL”) policy. A residential tenant sued her landlord for carbon monoxide poisoning allegedly caused by the landlord’s failure to keep the rental house in good repair. The landlord tendered the claim to his insurance carrier under his CGL policy. The carrier initially defended the suit but later filed a declaratory judgment action requesting a determination of non-liability. The trial court denied the carrier’s motion for summary judgment based on the pollution exclusion clause, and a seven-judge panel of the Court of Appeals reversed on interlocutory appeal. The Court of Appeals held that the pollution exclusion clause in the landlord’s CGL policy unambiguously excluded the tenant’s claim from coverage.
1. Leslie Reed sued her landlord, Melvin Waldrop, for carbon monoxide poisoning allegedly caused by Waldrop’s failure to maintain the house she was renting from him in good repair.
On May 11, 2005, Auto-Owners filed a complaint for declaratory judgment in the Butts County Superior Court seeking a declaration
A seven-judge panel of the Court of Appeals reversed. The majority held that a straightforward reading of the pollution exclusion clause, and in particular the provision defining a “[pjollut-ant[ ]” as “any solid, liquid, gaseous or thermal irritant or contaminant, including . . . fumes,” compelled the conclusion that Reed’s claim against Waldrop was excluded from coverage under the CGL policy. Two judges dissented.
2. Under Georgia law, insurance companies are generally free to set the terms of their policies as they see fit so long as they do not violate the law or judicially cognizable public policy.
Waldrop’s CGL policy requires Auto-Owners to “pay those sums that the insured becomes legally obligated to pay as damages because of ‘bodily injury’ or ‘property damage’ to which this insurance applies.” The carrier is also obligated to “defend any ‘suit’ seeking those damages.” It is undisputed that Reed’s complaint initiated a “suit” against Waldrop seeking “damages” for “bodily injury” as those terms are initially defined in the CGL policy. However, the policy also provides, under the heading “Exclusions,” as follows:
*288 This insurance does not apply to ... ££[b]odily injury” or “property damage” arising out of the actual, alleged or threatened discharge, dispersal, seepage, migration, release or escape of pollutants . . . [a]t or from any premises ... owned . . . by . . . any insured.... Pollutants means any solid, liquid, gaseous or thermal irritant or contaminant, including smoke, vapor, soot, fumes, acids, alkalis, chemicals, and waste. . . .
Reed alleges that she suffered “bodily injury” from the “release” of carbon monoxide gas “at. . . [the] premises,” i.e., the rental house, “owned . . . by . . . [the] insured,” i.e., Waldrop. As all parties recognize, the question thus narrows to whether carbon monoxide gas is a “pollutant” — i.e., matter, in any state, acting as an “irritant or contaminant,” including “fumes.” We need not consult a plethora of dictionaries and statutes to conclude that it is. After all, the very basis for Reed’s lawsuit is her claim that the release of carbon monoxide gas inside the rental house poison[ed]” her, causing her to suffer difficulty breathing, dizziness, insomnia, vomiting, nausea, headaches, and decreased appetite. Accordingly, we agree with the Court of Appeals that the plain language of the pollution exclusion clause excludes Reed’s claim against Waldrop from coverage under the CGL policy.
The dissenting judges in the Court of Appeals reached a contrary conclusion only by first identifying “the purpose” of pollution exclusion clauses generally and then surveying the “historical evolution of the text of the standard exclusion” before turning to the plain language of the pollution exclusion clause in the CGL policy issued to Waldrop by Auto-Owners. Looking through the prism of what one might expect to find based on this previously determined ‘‘purpose” and “historical evolution,” the dissenters concluded that the pollution exclusion clause “care” reasonably be read as being “limited to what is commonly or traditionally considered environmental pollution.”
Judgment affirmed.
Auto-Owners Ins. Co. v. Reed, 286 Ga. App. 603, 604 (649 SE2d 843) (2007).
The source of the alleged leak is unclear from the record on appeal.
Auto-Owners Ins. Co., supra, 286 Ga. App. at 607-614.
Payne v. Twiggs County Sch. Dist., 269 Ga. 361, 363 (496 SE2d 690) (1998); Continental Cos. Co. v. HSI Fin. Svcs., 266 Ga. 260, 262 (466 SE2d 4) (1996).
Grain Dealers Mut. Ins. Co. v. Pat’s Rentals, 269 Ga. 691, 692 (505 SE2d 729) (1998); Park ’n Go ofGa., Inc. v. U. S. Fid. & Guar. Co., 266 Ga. 787, 791 (471 SE2d 500) (1996).
Payne, supra, 269 Ga. at 363. See Williams v. Fallaize Ins. Agency, Inc., 220 Ga. App. 411, 414 (469 SE2d 752) (1996) (“When the language ... is clear, an insurance policy is interpreted according to its plain language and express terms, just like any other contract.”).
Payne, supra, 269 Ga. at 363; Continental Cas. Co., supra, 266 Ga. at 262.
Auto-Owners Ins. Co., supra, 286 Ga. App. at 607 (emphasis in original).
Dissenting Opinion
dissenting.
“A contract of insurance should be strictly construed against the insurer and read in favor of coverage in accordance with the reasonable expectations of the insured. [Cit.]” Roland v. Ga. Farm Bureau Mut. Ins. Co., 265 Ga. 776, 777 (1) (462 SE2d 623) (1995). Thus, where a baldly literal interpretation of the words in an insurance policy would lead to a result no reasonable insured would expect, we have rejected such interpretation. See id. (though plain language of homeowners’ policy predicated coverage on condition that subject residence was “the only premises where the named insured or spouse maintains a residence,” wife’s coverage was effective even after she had moved out of residence upon couple’s separation). Whether or not the terms “pollutant,” “irritant,” or “contaminant” in this context are characterized as ambiguous — which, simply by virtue of the impressive number of reported cases in which courts have struggled to construe these terms, I would posit they are
Indeed, the interpretation advanced by Auto-Owners and adopted by the majority
stretches the plain meaning of the policy exclusion. When viewed in isolation, the terms “irritant” and “contaminant” are “virtually boundless, for there is no substance or chemical in existence that would not irritate or damage some person or property.”
(Citations and punctuation omitted.) Regional Bank of Colorado v. St. Paul Fire and Marine Ins. Co., 35 F3d 494, 498 (10th Cir. 1994) (carbon monoxide from residential heater not within meaning of pollution exclusion). Take, for example, a scenario in which a malfunctioning dishwasher overflows, flooding the kitchen and warping its floor; is the water, by virtue of its ability to damage the floor, a “contaminant” or “irritant” falling within the pollution exclusion? Under the majority’s holding, the answer, absurdly, would seem to be yes.
In short, as construed by the majority, the pollution exclusion
I am authorized to state that Justice Carley joins in this dissent.
The Court of Appeals below identified at least 17 state and federal cases construing similar pollution exclusions, with roughly half cited in favor of the majority’s position and half supporting the dissent. See Auto-Owners Ins. Co. v. Reed, 286 Ga. App. 603, 606, 608, n. 8 (649 SE2d 843) (2007).
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.