Martin v. Board of Trustees of the Police Pension Fund of the Village of Shiloh
Cases that cite this one
2 later published cases cite this decision.
- Frisby v. Village of Bolingbrook Firefighters' Pension Fund (Ill. App. Ct. 2018)
- Martin v. Board of Trustees of the Police Pension Fund of the Village of Shiloh (Ill. App. Ct. 2018)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion
¶ 1 Plaintiff, David Martin, applied to the Board of Trustees of the Police Pension Fund of the Village of Shiloh, Illinois (Board), for a line-of-duty disability pension pursuant to section 3114.1 of the Illinois Pension Code (Code). 40 ILCS 5/3-114.1 (West 2012). Alternatively, plaintiff requested a not-on-duty disability pension pursuant to section 3-114.2 of the Code. 40 ILCS 5/3-114.2 (West 2012). The Board denied plaintiff a line-of-duty disability pension but granted him a not-on-duty disability pension.
¶ 2 Plaintiff sought administrative review of the Board's decision in the circuit court of St. Clair County, naming the Board as a defendant. The Village of Shiloh intervened in the proceedings. The circuit court reversed the Board's decision. On appeal, the Board argues it appropriately denied plaintiff a line-of-duty disability pension because plaintiff was not performing an "act of duty" when he was injured. For the following reasons, we affirm the circuit court's judgment reversing the Board.
¶ 3 BACKGROUND
¶ 4 Plaintiff was a detective employed by the Village of Shiloh Police Department. On May 25, 2012, while riding as a passenger in the front seat of an unmarked squad car, plaintiff was injured in an automobile accident after the squad car, which was stopped at a stoplight, was rear-ended by another vehicle. Plaintiff sustained cervical spine injuries in his neck and back. There is no dispute regarding the permanent disabilities plaintiff incurred as a result of the accident. There is also no dispute that plaintiff was on duty when the accident occurred. Specifically, plaintiff was returning to the Shiloh police department from the St. Clair County courthouse, where he was conducting police work with the State's Attorney's office. This work included obtaining subpoenas for an ongoing investigation and filing traffic tickets and other citations.
¶ 5 Plaintiff is a fully vested member in the Village of Shiloh Police Pension Fund. On July 15, 2013, petitioner filed an application for disability with the Board, seeking a line-of-duty disability pursuant to section 3-114.1 of the Code. 40 ILCS 5/3-114.1 (West 2012). The Village of Shiloh subsequently filed a motion to intervene in the proceedings, which was allowed without objection.
¶ 6 An administrative hearing was held before the Board on August 11, 2015, where plaintiff presented evidence and testimony *935 in support of his application for a line-of-duty disability. Additionally, pursuant to the applicable provisions of the Code, the Board considered the medical reports of three licensed physicians who specialize in the treatment and examination of cervical spine injuries. 40 ILCS 5/3-115 (West 2012). In their medical reports, the physicians opined that plaintiff suffered disabling injuries as a result of the accident that would prevent him from performing the duties of a police officer. As previously stated, the parties do not dispute plaintiff suffered disabling injuries. Also at the hearing, plaintiff orally moved to amend his application, requesting, in the alternative, a not-on-duty disability pursuant to section 3-114.2 of the Code. 40 ILCS 5/3-114.2 (West 2012).
¶ 7 The Board entered an order denying plaintiff's request for a line-of-duty disability pension on October 19, 2015, finding plaintiff failed to meet his burden that he sustained a line-of-duty disability under section 3-114.1 of the Code. 40 ILCS 5/3-114.1 (West 2012). Instead, the Board concluded plaintiff was entitled to a not-on-duty disability pension pursuant to section 3-114.2 of the Code. 40 ILCS 5/3-114.2 (West 2012). In reaching its conclusion, the Board noted that plaintiff's request for a line-of-duty disability pension necessitates a determination of whether plaintiff was performing an "act of duty" as required for entitlement to a line-of-duty disability pension under section 3-114.1 of the Code. 40 ILCS 5/3-114.1 (West 2012). The Board outlined several factors in support of its conclusion that plaintiff failed to establish his disability resulted from the performance of an "act of duty":
Plaintiff had completed his business with the St. Clair County State's Attorney's office at the St. Clair County courthouse and was returning to the Shiloh police department at the time of the accident.
Neither the squad car nor its occupants were in apprehension of a suspect at the time of the accident, nor were the officers summoned to assist a citizen in need.
At the time of the accident, the squad car was merely at a complete stop. Such an incident is one repeated and experienced numerous times by many citizens within the community.
Since the Board concluded plaintiff was not performing an "act of duty" at the time of the accident, it denied his application for a line-of-duty disability pension.
¶ 8 Plaintiff timely filed a petition for judicial review of the Board's order on November 9, 2015, in the circuit court of St. Clair County. The parties submitted briefs to the trial court, and oral arguments were heard on May 18, 2016. After considering the parties' arguments, the trial court entered an order reversing the Board's decision on July 12, 2016. The trial court concluded that our supreme court's ruling in
Johnson v. Retirement Board of the Policemen's Annuity & Benefit Fund
,
¶ 9 This appeal followed.
¶ 10 ANALYSIS
¶ 11 The Board contends it appropriately denied plaintiff a line-of-duty pension because plaintiff was not performing an "act of duty" at the time of the accident, a requirement for entitlement to a line-of-duty disability under section 3-114.1 of the Code. 40 ILCS 5/3-114.1 (West 2012). In administrative cases, we review the decision of the administrative agency, not that of the trial court.
*936
Marconi v. Chicago Heights Police Pension Board
,
¶ 12 The standard of review employed in reviewing administrative decisions depends upon the question presented.
Marconi
,
¶ 13 Initially, we observe that the primary consideration in construing a statute is to determine and give effect to the intent of the legislature.
Jones v. Board of Trustees of the Police Pension Fund
,
¶ 14 As we set forth above, this case involves plaintiff's application for an award of a line-of-duty disability pension. Alternatively, plaintiff requested an award of a not-on-duty disability pension. We outline those relevant sections of the Code as follows.
¶ 15 Section 3-114.1 of the Code provides for a pension equal to 65% of the officer's salary if the officer becomes disabled as a result of "the performance of an act of duty." 40 ILCS 5/3114.1 (West 2012). Specifically, section 3-114.1 provides:
"(a) If a police officer as the result of sickness, accident or injury incurred in or resulting from the performance of an act of duty, is found to be physically or mentally disabled for service in the police department, so as to render necessary his or her suspension or retirement from the police service, the police officer shall be entitled to a disability retirement pension equal to the greatest of (1) 65% of the salary attached to the rank on the police force held by the officer at *937 the date of suspension of duty or retirement, (2) the retirement pension that the police officer would be eligible to receive if he or she retired (but not including any automatic annual increase in that retirement pension), or (3) the pension provided under subsection (d), if applicable.
A police officer shall be considered 'on duty' while on any assignment approved by the chief of the police department of the municipality he or she serves, whether the assignment is within or outside the municipality." 40 ILCS 5/3-114.1(a) (West 2012) (entitled "Disability pension-Line of duty").
¶ 16 In contrast, section 3-114.2 of the Code provides that if a police officer "becomes disabled as a result of any cause other than the performance of an act of duty," the officer is "entitled to a disability pension of 50% of the salary attached to the officer's rank on the police force at the date of suspension of duty or retirement." 40 ILCS 5/3-114.2 (West 2012) (entitled "Disability pension-Not on duty").
¶ 17 For purposes of article 3 of the Code (pertaining to police pension funds in municipalities with populations less than 500,000-which applies to the instant case), Illinois courts have adopted the definition of "act of duty" as that term is defined in article 5 of the Code (pertaining to police pension funds in municipalities with populations exceeding 500,000):
" 'Act of duty': Any act of police duty inherently involving special risk, not ordinarily assumed by a citizen in the ordinary walks of life, imposed on a policeman by the statutes of this State or by the ordinances or police regulations of the city in which this Article is in effect or by a special assignment; or any act of heroism performed in the city having for its direct purpose the saving of the life or property of a person other than the policeman." 40 ILCS 5/5-113 (West 2012).
¶ 18 Illinois courts recognize that an officer does not perform an "act of duty" merely by being on duty at the relevant time.
Sarkis v. City of Des Plaines
,
¶ 19
Johnson
involved a police officer who slipped and injured himself while crossing an intersection from his assigned post in response to a citizen's request for assistance in a traffic accident.
Johnson
,
¶ 20 In reaching its decision, our supreme court rejected the argument that the officer was not entitled to line-of-duty benefits because crossing the street did not involve a special risk:
"The defendant's ultimate reliance on the fact that the plaintiff was 'traversing a street' when he was injured is misplaced. The provisions of [the Code] conferring *938 the right to duty-disability benefits do not require that an officer be injured by an act of duty. Rather, the duty disability is awarded when an officer is 'disabled * * * as the result of the injury incurred * * * in the performance of an act of duty .' (Emphasis added.) [Citation.] In the plaintiff's case, the act of duty was the act of responding to the call of a citizen for assistance. In performing that act, he was injured.
The defendant's interpretation envisions a police officer involved in a gun battle, a high-speed car chase, or some other obviously dangerous situation in order to qualify for duty-disability benefits. This is an overly restrictive and unrealistic interpretation. If this court were to adopt the defendant's narrow reading * * *, it could discourage police officers from the dedicated and enthusiastic performance of their duties * * *." (Emphases in original.) Johnson ,114 Ill. 2d at 522-23 ,104 Ill.Dec. 221 ,502 N.E.2d 718 .
¶ 21 A string of appellate court decisions have followed
Johnson
. In
Wagner v. Board of Trustees of the Police Pension Fund
,
¶ 22 In
Rose v. Board of Trustees of the Mount Prospect Police Pension Fund
,
¶ 23 In
Jones
,
¶ 24 In
Alm v. Lincolnshire Police Pension Board
,
¶ 25 In
Merlo v. Orland Hills Police Pension Board
,
¶ 26 In
Mingus v. Board of Trustees of the Police Pension Fund
,
*940
Mingus
,
¶ 27
Sarkis
,
¶ 28 In light of the precedent established by our supreme court in Johnson , we find the Board erred in denying plaintiff's application for a line-of-duty disability pension. Here, plaintiff sustained injuries in an automobile accident during his shift while performing duties in furtherance of his job as a detective for the Village of Shiloh Police Department. The record shows that, prior to the accident, plaintiff was a passenger in a squad car that drove from the police department to the St. Clair County courthouse to meet with the State's Attorney's office in order to obtain subpoenas for an ongoing investigation. Plaintiff also filed traffic tickets and other citations at the courthouse. (The tickets filed by plaintiff produce fines that help the Village of Shiloh receive funds, and do not get processed unless a police officer or detective files them with the circuit clerk's office at the St. Clair County courthouse.) The duties performed by plaintiff are not delegated to any members of the general public. Further, because plaintiff was on duty at the time of the accident and was a passenger in a squad car, he was subject to attend to any other police responsibility if necessary.
¶ 29 As we discuss throughout this opinion, when determining whether an officer performed an "act of duty" within the meaning of the Code, "[t]he crux is the capacity in which the police officer is acting," not the precise manner in which the officer was injured.
Johnson
,
¶ 30 The Board cites to several decisions in support of its argument that it appropriately denied plaintiff a line-of-duty disability pension because plaintiff was not engaged in an act of duty when he sustained his injuries:
Robbins v. Board of Trustees of the Carbondale Police Pension Fund
,
¶ 31
Robbins
examines the classification of an officer's stress as a psychological disability and encourages the awarding of a line-of-duty pension for stress if the conditions result from the performance of an act of duty.
Robbins
,
¶ 32 In
Morgan
, a police officer was injured while filling out paperwork inside the police station when he missed his chair and fell on the floor.
Morgan
,
¶ 33 Unlike
Morgan
, plaintiff in this case was not performing a clerical duty at a desk when he sustained his injuries. Rather, plaintiff was in a squad car performing duties in furtherance of his job as a detective. As previously stated, plaintiff was in a squad car on his way back to the police station after he obtained subpoenas for an ongoing investigation and filed traffic citations at the St. Clair County courthouse. Such duties are not delegated to any members of the general public. Further, because
*942
he was in a squad car at the time of the accident, plaintiff was subject to attend to any other police responsibility if necessary.
Johnson
,
¶ 34 In
White
, a police officer was injured while exiting his squad car to place a parking citation on the windshield of an illegally parked car.
White
,
"Just as filling out police reports does not involve a special risk, neither does exiting a car to place a traffic ticket on a windshield. Both filling out a report and exiting a car to place a notice or flyer are acts that ordinary citizens assume. Numerous civilian occupations involve filling out citations and placing them where the violator will see them. In fact, [the officer] acknowledged that parking regulations are enforced by Aurora employees who are not police officers." White ,323 Ill. App. 3d at 736 ,257 Ill.Dec. 618 ,753 N.E.2d 1244 .
¶ 35 In contrast to the instant case, White involved a police department that employed civilians to issue parking citations in addition to police officers. Here, the duties plaintiff performed immediately prior to returning to the police station were not delegated to any members of the general public, and could only be effectuated by a police officer. Accordingly, we reject the Board's argument.
¶ 36 Finally, the Board asserts this case is similar to
Fedorski
,
¶ 37 The Second District Appellate Court concluded that the plaintiff was not entitled to a line-of-duty disability because he was not acting in a capacity involving a special risk when he was injured.
Fedorski
,
"Had [the officer] been acting in a capacity involving a special risk when he was injured, he would have been entitled to a line-of-duty disability pension even though the immediate cause of the injury was an act-riding in an automobile-involving only ordinary risk." Fedorski ,375 Ill. App. 3d at 375 ,313 Ill.Dec. 720 ,873 N.E.2d 15 .
¶ 38 As we previously discussed, a police officer or detective faces special risks when driving in a squad car, as they must have their attention and energies directed towards being prepared to confront any eventuality.
Johnson
,
¶ 39 CONCLUSION
¶ 40 For the reasons stated, we affirm the circuit court's judgment reversing the Board.
¶ 41 Affirmed.
Justices Chapman and Cates concurred in the judgment and opinion.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.