Sontag v. Galer
Cases that cite this one
44 later published cases cite this decision. The 25 that cite it most often are listed here.
- J. D'Amico, Inc. v. City of Boston (Mass. 1962)
- Queen City Farms, Inc. v. Central National Insurance (Wash. Ct. App. 1992)
- Group Insurance v. Czopek (Mich. 1992)
- Patrons-Oxford Mutual Insurance v. Dodge (Me. 1981)
- Royal Indemnity Co. v. Kuhr (Ga. Ct. App. 1966)
- Penley v. Gulf Insurance Company (Okla. 1966)
- Kraus v. Allstate Insurance Company (District Court, W.D. Pennsylvania 1966)
- Service Welding & Machine Company, Inc., and Great American Indemnity Company of New York v. Michigan Mutual Liability Company of Detroit, Michigan (6th Cir. 1962)
- Wolk v. Royal Indemnity Co. (Appellate Terms of the Supreme Court of New York 1961)
- Dorothy Milam Jernigan v. Allstate Insurance Company (5th Cir. 1959)
- Levin v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. (D.C. 1945)
- Huntington Cab Co. v. American Fidelity & Casualty Co. (District Court, S.D. West Virginia 1945)
- New Amsterdam Casualty Co. v. Jones (District Court, E.D. Michigan 1942)
- Archer Ballroom Co. v. Great Lakes Casualty Co. (Wis. 1940)
- Rothman v. Metropolitan Casualty Ins. (Ohio 1938)
- Floralbell Amusement Corp. v. Standard Surety & Casualty Co. (City of New York Municipal Court 1937)
- Westerland v. Argonaut Grill (Wash. 1936)
- Baron v. Auto Mutual Indemnity Co. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 1936)
- Roe v. LAWN AETNA CASUALTY & SURETY CO. (Mass. App. Ct. 1993)
- Newton v. NORFOLK & DEDHAM MUTUAL FIRE INS. CO (Mass. App. Ct. 1988)
- City of Newton v. Norfolk & Dedham Mutual Fire Insurance (Mass. App. Ct. 1988)
- Quincy Mutual Fire Insurance v. Abernathy (Mass. 1984)
- Quincy Mutual Fire Insurance v. Abernathy (Mass. App. Ct. 1983)
- Travers v. Travelers Insurance (Mass. Dist. Ct., App. Div. 1981)
- Lipson v. Queen Insurance Co. of America (Mass. App. Ct. 1974)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
The plaintiff, who had obtained a judgment in an action for personal injuries against the defendant Ida Galer, brought this suit to establish the indebtedness of the defendant insurance company to Galer on a liability insurance policy issued by it to her, and to have the proceeds of that policy applied in satisfaction of the judgment. The insurance company filed a demurrer which was overruled, and the trial judge, being of opinion that his order so affected the merits of the controversy that the matter ought before further proceedings to be determined by the full court, reported the questions raised by the demurrer.
The plaintiff alleged, in substance, that on or about August 31, 1926, Galer was the owner of certain premises, in Roxbury, and the defendant insurance company had issued to her a landlord’s public liability policy by which it undertook to indemnify her to the amount of $5,000 against loss from liability for damages on account of bodily injuries “accidentally sustained by any person not in the employ” of the assured while within or upon the premises aforesaid; that on that date the plaintiff while on the premises sustained severe bodily injuries for which he brought an action against the defendant Galer. It is further alleged that the insurance company, pursuant to the provisions of the policy, by its attorney appeared and took upon itself the defence of this action on behalf of Galer, and that on April 12, 1929, the plaintiff recovered
By order of court made pursuant to G. L. c. 231, § 7, Eleventh, there were filed in this suit a copy of the policy relied on, a copy of the record of the judgment of the Municipal Court, and a copy of the pleadings and findings filed in that court. Examination of these documents shows that the plaintiff brought an action of tort against Galer, alleging in count 1 that the defendant assaulted the plaintiff by throwing a heavy vessel from a great height upon his head, and in count 2 that the defendant carelessly, negligently and by lack of due care caused the vessel to fall upon the plaintiff’s head. The answer was a general denial, with a plea of contributory negligence.
The judge who tried the case made findings to the effect that Galer had said to boys who had come upon her premises without leave that they were annoying her and if they came again she would throw something on them. On August 31, 1926, the plaintiff came on the premises and was playing with a faucet, and the defendant came out with a porcelain cooking utensil in her hand which she maliciously, wantonly and recklessly threw and struck the plaintiff on the head, causing the injuries complained of. He further found that Galer’s explanation of the affair was not true, and that the injury was “the result of the deliberate and wanton action of the defendant in throwing the utensil hereinbefore described and striking the plaintiff upon the head”; and that the plaintiff was entitled to recover damages on the first count of the declaration in the full amount of the ad damnum claimed in the writ. A ruling was made in the Superior Court, without objection, that all the documents were a part of the pleadings and were to be considered upon the demurrer.
Upon the allegations in the bill the defendant insurance company is not estopped from contending that the policy did not cover the assault of the insured upon the plaintiff which caused his injury. The bill does no more than to allege
The important question raised by the demurrer is whether the policy covered an injury caused by the deliberate, wilful, wanton or reckless act of the insured in throwing a utensil which struck the plaintiff upon his head causing a fracture of the skull. The liability of the insurance company to the plaintiff is dependent upon its liability to Galer, the insured. G. L. c. 176, §§ 112, 113. Lorando v. Gethro, 228 Mass. 181, 185. Kana v. Fishman, 276 Mass. 206, 210. The first count alleges that the plaintiff was violently assaulted by Galer, and the findings support that allegation. In Bohaker v. Travelers Ins. Co. 215 Mass. 32, 33-34, the court said: “‘Accidental means’ is used in the contract of insurance in its common significance of happening unexpectedly, without intention or design.” In Tremont Trust Co. v. Burack, 235 Mass. 398, 402, the word “accident” in the printed agreement there under consideration was held to mean “an event without the con
The interlocutory decree overruling the demurrer must be reversed and an interlocutory decree be entered sustaining the demurrer on the third ground, namely, that the bill with the exhibits ordered filed shows that the defendant
Ordered accordingly.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.