Lopardi v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance
Cases that cite this one
27 later published cases cite this decision. The 25 that cite it most often are listed here.
- Kobico, Inc. v. Pipe (Mass. App. Ct. 1997)
- Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company v. Karl's Boat Shop, Inc. (District Court, D. Massachusetts 2020)
- Drake Fishing, Inc. v. Clarendon American Insurance (1st Cir. 1998)
- Drake Fishing Inc. v. Clarendon American (1st Cir. 1998)
- Miller v. United States Liability Insurance (Mass. Dist. Ct., App. Div. 1976)
- Krause v. Equitable Life Insurance Co. of Iowa (Mass. 1955)
- Connolly v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance (Mass. 1948)
- Connolly v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance (Mass. Dist. Ct., App. Div. 1947)
- Bogosian v. New York Life Insurance (Mass. 1944)
- Prudential Ins. Co. of America v. Same (D.C. Cir. 1943)
- Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance v. Fraidowitz (1st Cir. 2006)
- Dean S. Edmonds, Jr. v. United States of America (1st Cir. 1981)
- Edmonds v. United States (District Court, D. Massachusetts 1980)
- Shaw v. COMMERCIAL INSURANCE CO. OF NEWARK, NEW JERSEY (Mass. 1971)
- Shaw v. Commercial Insurance Co. of Newark (Mass. 1971)
- The First Pennsylvania Banking And Trust Company v. The United States Life Insurance Company In The City Of New York (1st Cir. 1969)
- First Pennsylvania Banking & Trust Co. v. United States Life Insurance (3d Cir. 1969)
- Joseph G. Warren, Sr. v. Confederation Life Association (1st Cir. 1968)
- Charles, Henry & Crowley Co. Inc. v. Home Ins. Co. (Mass. 1965)
- American National Insurance v. Herrera (Cal. Ct. App. 1963)
- Paratore v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance (Mass. 1957)
- Shurdut v. John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance (Mass. 1947)
- Metropolitan Life Insurance v. Burno (Mass. 1941)
- Giannelli v. Metropolitan Life Insurance (Mass. 1940)
- Terrasi v. Peirce (Mass. 1939)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
This is an action of contract brought by the beneficiary named in two industrial life insurance policies issued by the defendant, dated, respectively, November 21, 1928, and January 16, 1929, upon the life of Seraphina (or Sarafina) Lopardi, the mother of the plaintiff, who died March 26, 1930. There was a verdict for the defendant
There was no error.
Bach policy consisted of four pages and was executed by the defendant company on the first page. It provided thereon that the company “grants this insurance . . . subject to the conditions and provisions on this and the three following pages which are hereby made a part of this contract . . .” and that this “policy shall not take effect unless upon its date the Insured shall be alive and in sound health and the premium duly paid.” On page 3 occurs the following: “Policy When Void. This policy shall be void: (1) if the Insured . . . has attended any hospital ... or has been attended by any physician, within two years before the date hereof, for any serious disease . . .; or has had before said date . . . disease of the heart . . .; unless each such . . . medical and hospital attendance and previous disease is specifically waived by an endorsement in the space for endorsements on Page 4 hereof signed by the Secretary.” The space for indorsements on page 4 is entitled “Endorsements Referred to in Policy Conditions.” There was no indorsement of such a waiver on either policy. The only questions raised by the defendant at the trial related to the health of the insured.
1. The plaintiff contends that the provisions contained in the policies under the heading “Policy When Void,” above set forth, are warranties within the meaning of G. L. (Ter. Ed.) c. 175, § 186, and, consequently, do not preclude recovery by the plaintiff in the absence of proof that the warranties were “made with actual intent to deceive” or that the matters made warranties “increased the risk of loss.” See McDonough v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. 228 Mass. 450, 452. This question is raised by the plaintiff’s exceptions to the refusal of the judge to instruct the jury in. accordance with his requests numbered 9-15, inclusive, and to the charge. The contention cannot be sustained, for the provisions referred to are not warranties within the meaning of G. L. (Ter. Ed.) c. 175, § 186.
This statute does not apply to provisions in a policy which, by agreement of the parties, are made conditions precedent to the duty of performance on the part of the insurance company. Kravit v. United States Casualty Co. 278 Mass. 178. Faris v. Travelers Indemnity Co. 278 Mass. 204, and cases cited. See Am. Law Inst. Restatement: Contracts, § 250. The provisions in each of the policies in question, on page 3 thereof, entitled “Policy When Void,” are such conditions. Though the word “conditions” is not used in this clause of the policy except as it may be incorporated therein by reference to the space for indorsements (compare Souza v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. 270 Mass. 189, 191), the clause in form created a condition precedent. This is the force of the provision that the “policy shall be void” if certain facts existed before the date thereof, in the absence of a specific waiver indorsed on the policy. In form the clause resembles those held to create conditions precedent in Penta v. Home Fire & Marine Ins. Co. of California, 263 Mass. 262, 263, and in Kravit v. United States Casualty Co. 278 Mass. 178. That this clause provides that the policy “shall be void” in certain circumstances, while the clause on the first page of the policy provides that the policy “shall not take effect” unless the insured is in sound health upon the date of the policy, does not deprive the words “shall be void,” of their natural meaning. Moreover, the provision that the policy “is in full immediate benefit from its date” and the provision that it shall be incontestable after two years from its date are not inconsistent with an interpretation of the provisions in the clause entitled “Policy When Void” as conditions precedent.
2. There was no error in the refusal of the judge to instruct the jury in accordance with the plaintiff's request numbered 16 that if they should "find that the defendant either as a result of the examinations of the insured by its medical examiner or otherwise was informed that the insured had heart disease prior to the issue of the policies and thereafter accepted premiums from her and continued the policies in force . . . (They] should find that the insurer waived its right, or is estopped, to avoid the policies for such disease of the heart.”
Even if preliminary findings such as are described in the request would have been warranted by the evidence, as we do not decide, and such findings had been made, waiver or estoppel would not have been shown. The facts amounting to breach of condition existed before the policies were issued. No waiver or estoppel resulted from the defendant’s issuing the policies. Thereafter premiums were paid and accepted in accordance with the terms of the policies which were binding on the parties thereto. The principles stated in Kukuruza v. John Hancock Mutual Life Ins. Co. 276 Mass. 146, 151, in reference to a contract of reinstatement of a policy are applicable to an original contract of insurance.
3. There was no error in the denial of the plaintiff’s request numbered 8 in regard to false representations and fraud. The plaintiff in this respect was amply protected by the charge. The judge instructed the jury that if they believed the testimony of a medical witness that a disease for which he attended the insured was a serious disease the
Exceptions overruled.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.