Barnstable County Insurance v. Gale
Cases that cite this one
28 later published cases cite this decision. The 25 that cite it most often are listed here.
- RLI INSURANCE COMPANY v. Santos (District Court, D. Massachusetts 2010)
- IDS Prop. Casualty Ins. Co. v. Government Employees Ins. Co. (1st Cir. 2021)
- Atlantic Specialty Insurance Company v. Karl's Boat Shop, Inc. (District Court, D. Massachusetts 2020)
- Hingham Mutual Fire Insurance v. Mercurio (Massachusetts Superior Court 2006)
- John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance v. Banerji (Mass. App. Ct. 2004)
- Metro. Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. v. Devlin (District Court, District of Columbia 2018)
- Hingham Mutual Fire Insurance v. Mercurio (Mass. App. Ct. 2008)
- Federal Insurance Co v. HPSC, Inc. (1st Cir. 2007)
- Figuereo v. Valverde (Mass. Dist. Ct., App. Div. 2002)
- Tejada v. Commerce Insurance (Mass. Dist. Ct., App. Div. 2002)
- Testa v. Norfolk & Dedham Mutual Fire Insurance (R.I. 2001)
- Continental Insurance v. Bahnan (1st Cir. 2000)
- Boston Mutual Insurance v. New York Islanders Hockey Club, L.P. (1st Cir. 1999)
- Boston Mutual v. NY Islanderes (1st Cir. 1999)
- Federal Deposit Insurance v. Underwriters of Lloyd's of London Fidelity Bond No. 834/FB9010020 (District Court, D. Massachusetts 1998)
- Metropolitan Property and Casualty Insurance Company v. Devlin (District Court, D. Massachusetts 2018)
- Schultz v. Tilley (Mass. App. Ct. 2017)
- Commerce Insurance Co., Inc. v. Gentile (Mass. 2015)
- Commerce Insurance v. Gentile (Mass. App. Ct. 2014)
- Quincy Mutual Fire Insurance v. Quisset Properties, Inc. (Mass. App. Ct. 2007)
- Kenneth Fontaine v. Commerce Insurance (Massachusetts Superior Court 2007)
- Guerrier v. Commerce Insurance (Mass. App. Ct. 2006)
- Guerrier v. Commerce Insurance (Mass. Dist. Ct., App. Div. 2005)
- Figuereo v. Valverde (Mass. App. Ct. 2003)
- Liquor Liability Joint Underwriting Ass'n v. Aim Insurance Agency (Mass. App. Ct. 2002)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
In this appeal we decide whether a material misrepresentation of fact exists which permits the voiding of an insurance policy under G. L. c. 175, § 186. The plaintiff sought a declaratory judgment in the Superior Court that an umbrella liability insurance policy issued to Sanford F. Gale (defendant) was void because the defendant had failed to disclose the ownership of a second automobile. On cross motions for summary judgment, the judge' concluded that the misrepresentation was material as a matter of law and al
1. Facts. The following facts were not in dispute for purposes of summary judgment. In 1988, the plaintiff issued a personal umbrella liability insurance policy to the defendant and charged a $110 premium. In his application for insurance, the defendant stated that he owned a 1981 Oldsmobile Cutlass automobile. This automobile was garaged in Massachusetts and insured by Commercial Union Homeland Insurance Company. The umbrella policy provided coverage in excess of the bodily injury limits on the automobile insurance policy.
The defendant lived in Florida during the winter and spent the remainder of the year in Massachusetts. In 1990, the defendant purchased a 1971 Dodge Dart automobile in Florida and registered it in Florida. Subsequently, the defendant renewed the umbrella policy, but failed to disclose on the renewal application that he owned a second automobile.
The defendant did not let anyone else drive his automobiles. He took his Oldsmobile Cutlass off the road when he left Massachusetts to spend the winter in Florida so that no one could drive it in his absence. He did the same thing with the Dodge Dart when he left Florida in the spring. In December, 1992, the defendant was involved in an automobile accident in Florida while driving the Dodge Dart. Edna Davis, a passenger, was injured in the accident.
2. Summary judgment. Summary judgment is appropriate where there is no genuine issue of material fact and the mov-
3. Material misrepresentation. A material misrepresentation by the applicant may void an insurance policy. See Employers’ Liab. Assur. Corp. v. Vella, 366 Mass. 651, 655 (1975); Sullivan v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co., 342 Mass. 649, 658 (1961); Campbell v. New England Mut. Life Ins. Co., 98 Mass. 381, 395 (1867). General Laws c. 175, § 186, provides:
“No oral or written misrepresentation or warranty made in the negotiation of a policy of insurance by the insured or in his behalf shall be deemed material or defeat or avoid the policy or prevent its attaching unless such misrepresentation or warranty is made with actual intent to deceive, or unless the matter misrepresented or made a warranty increased the risk of loss.”
This statute is declaratory of long-standing common law principles defining the sort of false representations that can serve to avoid an insurance policy. Pahigian v. Manufacturers’ Life Ins. Co., 349 Mass. 78, 85 (1965).
The defendant argues that omission of the second automobile was not material because it did not change the character of the risk. The defendant was the sole operator of both automobiles. He kept one automobile in Massachusetts and the other in Florida. Because he can only drive one automobile at a time, he argues that there was no significant difference in the degree or the character of the risk of loss.
For purposes of G. L. c. 175, § 186, a fact is deemed material if it influences the premium. “A fact ‘must be regarded as material, the knowledge or ignorance of which would naturally influence the judgment of the underwriter in making the contract at all, or in estimating the degree and character of the risk, or in fixing the rate of the premium.’ ” Employers’ Liab. Assur. Corp. v. Vella, supra at 655, quoting Daniels v. Hudson River Fire Ins. Co., 12 Cush. 416, 425 (1853). If an insured falsely states a fact that would increase the premium, the misrepresentation is material. It is undisputed in this case that the factual misrepresentation resulted in a lower premium. It is also clear that, because
Insurance serves to distribute risk of economic loss among a large group by having each member pay a premium into a general fund. The premium reflects the actuaries’ estimate of the fund’s exposure to liability under the insured’s policy. 1 G. Couch, Insurance §§ 1:6, 1:9 (3d ed. 1995). Because it is generally true that an insured’s ownership of two automobiles increases the risk of loss, a higher premium is charged for an additional automobile. The calculation of the premium does not depend on the particular habits of the insured. Thus, the defendant’s pattern of using one automobile at a time in this case was irrelevant to measuring the risk of loss. The premium reflects the risk of loss. Id.
The defendant failed to disclose his ownership of a second automobile. The uncontroverted evidence shows that the premium would have increased had the plaintiff known this fact. Any misrepresentation which would influence the premium is regarded as material. Employers’ Liab. Assur. Corp. v. Vella, supra at 655. Thus, we conclude that a material misrepresentation exists, which permits the insurer to void the policy under G. L. c. 175, § 186.
Judgment of the Superior Court affirmed.
The facts show that $45 of the premium was attributable to the excess liability coverage on the automobile. .
The defendant never carried primary insurance on the Dodge Dart.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.