Barney v. Maryland Insurance
Cases that cite this one
2 later published cases cite this decision.
- New England Gas & Electric Ass'n v. Ocean Accident & Guarantee Corp. (Mass. 1953)
- Wilson v. Hilliard (Md. 1917)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
delivered the opinion of the court. The proof, as set out in the bill of exbeptions, is substantially this—That on the 29th of September 1809, the schooner •Hawk, the property of the plaintiff, was insured by The ■Maryland Insurance Company, at and from Baltimore to St. Sebastians; that she sailed on the 16th of October of the same year, and was captured on the 11th of January 1810, by certain French armed Vessels, and carried into ■Bermia, a port in Spain, then in the possession of the French government; that she was taken from thence by the captors-to At. Sebastians, and afterwards, on the 19th of April 1810, to Bayonne in France, and there detained by them until the 9th of January 1811, when she was ultimately taken into the service of the French government, by order of the minister of marine, as a public armed ship, and has never been restored. That on the 10th of October 1809, the policy of insurance was assigned by the plaintiff to Falls and-Bfown, of which the defendants had notice; and that on the 18th of April 1810, they addressed a letter to the defendants, '■ advising them of the capture- and detention of the vessel- at Bermia, and offering to abandon. That on the 24th" of April the defendants acknowledged the receipt of the letter of Falls and Broivn of the 18th of April, but declined to accept the abandonment. That on the 13th of November 1810, Stewart Brown, the agent of Falls and Brown, wrote again to the defendants, informing them that the cargo had been sold at Bay-{nine on the 9th of August 1810, and the proceeds paid
There are two questions arising in the cause—1. Whether, admittingthe facts as stated to be true, the plaintiffis entitled to recover as for a total loss? 2. If he is not entitled to recover as for a total loss, whether he can recover as for a partial loss? They will be considered in the order in which they are presented. The warranty or stipulation ip the policy, “not to abandon in case of capture until condemned,” is to be construed according to the ordinary sense of the terms used; and so understood, must be taken to mean a capture -jure belli, and a judicial condemnation in a prize court of competent jurisdiction. The intention of the parties ivas, ‘ that in the event of the vessel being captured, the insurers should not be made answerable by abandonment as for a total loss, unless the capture should be followed up by a regular sentence of condemnation. By the word “condemned,” connected as it is with the words “in case of capture,” a condemnation on proceedings founded on the capture is intended, which could only be in a court of prize, and it cannot be strained to mean any thing else. But if any thing" was necessary to explain the sense in which the terms were intended to be used, it might be found in the further stipulation by the plaintiff “to do all in his power, in case of capture, for the defence of the property, and if condemned to enter an appeal;’!
With respect to the second question; though the plaintiff has declared as for a total loss, there is no doubt that he might recover .as for a partial loss, if there was any thing in the record to support such a claim. The insurance is on the vessel, and it seems to be settled, that in such case there can be no recovery for loss incurred on account of wages, provisions or demurrage, during the detention of the
But it is contended, that the vessel being taken into the service of the French government, and nothing but the tight of property remaining, the sum insured, after deducting the value of the spes rpcupetandi, to be ascertained by the jury, is the loss actually sustained, and the amount for which the plaintiff ought to recover. Here again we are met by the exception in the policy of seizure in port. But if it should.be admitted, that the taking the vessel in-: to the service of the government of France, under the order of the minister of marine, does not fall within the exception, and is to be considered as a loss by capture, yet the spes recupercindi cannot be resorted to as a criterion by which to ascertain, without any other evidence, the amount of the loss sustained. It would be to put insurers too much at the mercy of the insured, and might often work great injustice, by holding out to the insured a temptation to fraud, whose interest it would always be to sink the value of the spes recuperandi as low as possible. Juries, having no knowledge of the course and manner of proceeding in foreign courts, would seldom attach to it .more'than a nominal value, and the insured would in almost every Case, in the' name of a partial loss, substantially recover as for a total loss, with the advantage of all the chances of after-wards regaining the property itself. There would be h.o safeguard for insurers against fraud and imposition, whilst the assured, having a full knowledge of the situation of the vessel, and eyery thing relating to her, with the right to' abandon or not at his election, would always be secure—•< abandoning in desperate cases, and claiming as for a total loss, and in others, retaining the right of property, and after recovering in the name of a partial loss, substantially the value of the property, turning round and recovering the possession of the thing itself, which ought of right to go to the insurer. The' adoption of such a rule would go-to defeat the very object of abandonment, which, with the great uncertainty that would always attend such a mode of coming at the amount of the loss sustained, is a sufficient objection jo it.-
Without going into a minute detail of all the facts and circumstances stated in the bill of exceptions, I will content myself with referring to those material facts which relate to the question in this case. (He here stated the material facts.) On the admission that the condemnation would relate back to the time of the capture, and in that way to justify and give validity to the abandonment as
As to the recovery for a partial loss: It appears to me that there is no proof in this case to warrant such recovery, on the supposition that in a case so circumstanced as this such recovery could be obtained. It is not proved that the vessel was restored, or that any compensation was made for the use and detention Of her; but on the contrary, there is negative proof that the vessel was retained by the French government. In De Hahn vs. Hartley, 1 T. R. 343, which is a ruling decision, the law is established, that a warranty in a policy of insurance is a condition or a contingency, and unless that is performed there is no contract; and that it is perfectly immaterial for what purpose a warranty is introduced, but being inserted, must be strictly and literally complied with. In Woolmer vs. Muilman, 3 Burr. 1419, 1420, the ship and property were warranted neutral. It was stated that the ship, at the time, and before she was lost; was not neutral—adjudged to be no contract, becaiise thé property was not neutral; and judgment for the defendant.
In my opinion á Violation of the warranty has been plainly and unequivocally proved by the abandonment at the time proved, and that the plaintiff cannot recover on the facts stated in the bill of exceptions; and I think the judgment of the court below ought to be affirmed.
JUDGMENT AíTIUMED»
This opinion of the Chief Judge was prepared hy him after the first argument of the cause; owing to indisposition he did not attend at the last argument, or when the opinion of the court was delivered.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.