Minnesota Court of Appeals, 1985 Minnesota Court of Appeals held that the six-year contract limitations period on an uninsured motorist claim begins only upon demand and refusal to arbitrate, and denied the insurer a set-off absent double recovery.

Minnesota Court of Appeals held that the six-year contract limitations period on an uninsured motorist claim begins only upon demand and refusal to arbitrate, and denied the insurer a set-off absent double recovery.

Spira v. American Standard Insurance Co.
Minnesota Court of Appeals · Decided January 29, 1985 · Heard
361 N.W.2d 454; 1985 Minn. App. LEXIS 3785 (North Western Reporter, Second Series)

Outcome: Affirmed for appellee.

AI-enhanced analysis. Verify before relying in legal proceedings.

Counsel

Diane C. Hanson, Schwebel, Goetz, Sie-ben & Hanson, P.A., Minneapolis, for respondent., Line S. Deter, Albers & Associates, Bloomington, for appellant.

Can I rely on this case?

Citation treatment has not been reviewed for this case. The notes below come from the citation graph and the Minnesota Revisor's amendment records, not from a review of how later courts treated this decision.

(as of 9/30/2026)

Last cited by a Minnesota appellate court in 2004, among the opinions in this site’s citation index.

Cites Minnesota statutes amended since this decision

Amendment history from the Minnesota Revisor of Statutes. A later amendment does not necessarily affect this decision's analysis — check the current statute text.

Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.

See our Terms of Use before relying on these notes. Report an error

Spira v. American Standard Insurance Co.

What happened

The facts of the case, in plain language.

On August 23, 1975, Florence Spira was injured as a passenger in a two-car accident in Tennessee while carrying uninsured motorist coverage with American Standard Insurance Company.

The trial court vacated the arbitration award and entered judgment in Spira's favor against American for $24,000, allowing no set-off.

Under Har-Mar, the six-year contract limitations statute does not begin to run in arbitration proceedings until there has been both a demand and a refusal to arbitrate.

Absent an express policy limitation, Spira's cause of action arose on December 9, 1982, when American rejected her identifiable claim for uninsured motorist benefits, placing her arbitration request and subsequent court action well within the six-year statute.

Because there was no evidence of double recovery by Spira, American was not entitled to a set-off in the amount of the uninsured tortfeasor's liability limits.

What the court decided

Florence Spira was hurt in a 1975 Tennessee car accident and carried uninsured motorist coverage with American Standard Insurance Company. She first notified the insurer in 1976, asking for a benefits application, but did not specifically identify an uninsured motorist claim until November 1982; American rejected that claim in December 1982 as time-barred. An arbitration panel agreed the claim was barred by the contract statute of limitations but valued her damages at $24,000. The trial court vacated the award and ordered judgment for Spira without a set-off for the tortfeasor's $10,000 liability coverage. Affirming, the appeals court reasoned that under Har-Mar the six-year limitations clock starts only when there is both a demand and a refusal to arbitrate, so the statute began running when American refused Spira's identifiable uninsured motorist claim in December 1982. Because Spira faced no double recovery, no set-off applied.

  1. In arbitration proceedings, the six-year contract limitations statute does not begin to run until there has been both a demand and a refusal to arbitrate. (*457)
  2. Absent an express policy limitation restricting the time in which an insured may bring an uninsured motorist claim, the cause of action accrues when the insurer rejects the insured's identifiable claim for uninsured motorist benefits. (*457)
  3. An uninsured motorist carrier is entitled to a set-off in the amount of the tortfeasor's liability limits only to the extent the insured will achieve a duplicate recovery; absent evidence of double recovery, no set-off is permitted. (*457)
  4. Where it is reasonably debatable whether questions of insurance coverage were arbitrable, the district court properly reviews the arbitrators' findings de novo in proceedings to vacate the award. (*456)

How the court reached its decision

The court's reasoning, step by step.

When did the six-year contract statute of limitations begin to run on Spira's uninsured motorist arbitration claim? Rejecting American's reliance on Leisure Dynamics for accrual from the date an action could be commenced, the court reasoned that American had notice of the accident within a year and bore an affirmative responsibility to inquire into the particular benefit claimed; because American treated the 1976 request for a benefits form as a no-fault claim rather than an uninsured motorist claim, the statute could not begin to run until Spira's identifiable uninsured motorist claim was rejected. Absent an express policy limitation, Spira's cause of action arose on December 9, 1982, when American rejected her uninsured motorist claim, placing her arbitration demand and subsequent court action well within the six-year period; the trial court properly concluded the claim was not time-barred.

Whether American is entitled to a set-off in the amount of the tortfeasor's liability policy limits. The arbitration panel had reduced any potential award by $10,000 on the theory that American could not subrogate against the time-barred tortfeasor, but the court found no evidence that Spira would recover twice for the same damages. Because there is no evidence of double recovery by Spira, American is not entitled to a set-off in the amount of the uninsured tortfeasor's liability limits.

Did the trial court properly conduct a de novo review of the arbitrators' statute of limitations determination? It was reasonably debatable whether the statute of limitations issue presented in this case was arbitrable. The district court properly conducted a de novo review of the arbitrators' findings on the limitations question.

Key quotes from the opinion

Notable passages from the opinion, in the court's own words.

“In arbitration proceedings, the 6-year limitations statute does not begin to run until there has been both a demand and a refusal to arbitrate.”
Accrual rule for the six-year contract limitations period in arbitration claims — *457
“Consequently, the contract statute did not begin to run until Spira’s identifiable claim for uninsured benefits was rejected.”
Statute did not start until the identifiable uninsured-motorist claim was rejected — *457
“Absent an express limitation in her insurance policy restricting the time in which Spira could bring an uninsured motorist claim, her cause of action arose on December 9, 1982, the date when American rejected Spira’s claim for uninsured motorist benefits.”
Fixes the accrual date at the insurer's December 9, 1982 denial — *457
“There is no evidence of double recovery by Spira. American is not entitled to a set-off.”
Basis for denying the insurer's set-off — *457

Cases the court relied on

Earlier decisions the court cited as authority for its ruling.

  • Har-Mar, Inc. v. Thorsen & Thorshov, Inc. (300 Minn. 149, 218 N.W.2d 751 (1974)) — Supplies the controlling accrual rule that in arbitration the six-year contract limitations period runs only from a demand for and refusal of arbitration, which the court applies to Spira's uninsured motorist claim.
  • Flanery v. Total Tree, Inc. (332 N.W.2d 642 (Minn. 1983)) — Establishes that a reparation obligor paying uninsured motorist benefits may subrogate only to the extent the insured would achieve a duplicate recovery, grounding the denial of American's set-off.
  • United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co. v. Fruchtman (263 N.W.2d 66 (Minn. 1978)) — Permits a party to challenge the arbitrability of a coverage dispute in judicial proceedings to vacate the arbitration award.
  • Rosenberger v. American Family Mutual Insurance Co. (309 N.W.2d 305 (Minn. 1981)) — Provides the reasonably debatable standard under which the district court properly reviewed the arbitrators' coverage findings de novo.
  • Leisure Dynamics, Inc. v. Falstaff Brewing Corp. (298 N.W.2d 33 (Minn. 1980)) — Relied on by American for the view that the limitations period runs from the time an action can be commenced; the court rejected that accrual date for arbitration claims.

Minnesota statutes cited

Sections of the Minnesota Statutes this opinion cites.

Cases that cite this one

18 later published cases cite this decision.

This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.

Full opinion

The complete text of the court's opinion as published.

Opinion

OPINION

NIERENGARTEN, Judge.

American Standard Insurance Company appeals from an order of the trial court vacating an arbitration award barring Florence Spira’s recovery under the statute of limitations, and ordering judgment in favor of Spira against American for $24,000. We affirm.

*456 FACTS

On August 23, 1975, Florence Spira was injured ás a passenger in a two-car accident in Tennessee. Spira had uninsured coverage with American. An arbitration panel later determined the other Tennessee car, which had limits of $10,000, was totally at fault. It was uninsured for purposes of Spira’s claim because its limits were less than that required by the State of Minnesota. Minn.Stat. § 65B.49, subd. 3 (1982).

In March 1976, Spira’s first attorney wrote American that it represented Spira “in her claim for injuries sustained in an automobile accident” on August 23, 1975, and requested “an application for benefits form”. This was the first notice American received of the accident. In April 1976, American advised Spira’s attorney that the claim for “no-fault benefits” was denied due to untimely notice. Spira then commenced suit in Minnesota against the Tennessee auto insurer, State Farm, which was later dismissed for lack of jurisdiction. By that time, the suit was barred in Tennessee because of its one-year limitation statute.

On November 4,1982, Spira’s substituted attorney wrote to American, claiming uninsured motorist benefits. American denied the claim on December 9, 1982, on the grounds the Minnesota statute of limitations had run on such claim on August 23, 1981, six years after the accident. The matter was then submitted to arbitration. At the hearing, the parties agreed to initially submit all issues to the arbitrators, subject to the right of judicial review of the arbitrability of the issues presented in this appeal.

' The panel found Spira’s claim had begun to run on the date of the accident, that the November 4, 1982 notice given American by Spira was not timely, and that her claim was consequently barred by the contract statute of limitations.

The panel did determine that Spira suffered damages in the amount of $24,000, and if it was ultimately determined that she was entitled to receive an award, the award should be reduced by $10,000, the amount of the tortfeasor’s liability coverage. The panel made this finding because it determined that American could not sub-rogate against the tortfeasor because of the limitations bar but that Spira might have a remedy against her former attorney.

The trial court vacated the award, and entered judgment in her favor against American in the amount of $24,000, allowing no set-off. American appeals.

ISSUES

1. When did the contract statute of limitations begin to run on Spira’s uninsured motorist arbitration claim?

2. Whether American is entitled to a set-off in the amount of the policy limits of the tortfeasor’s insurance policy.

ANALYSIS

I

The arbitrability of the coverage dispute may be challenged in judicial proceedings to vacate the arbitrator’s award. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co. v. Fruchtman, 263 N.W.2d 66, 71 (Minn. 1978). Where it is “reasonably debatable” as to whether questions of coverage were arbitrable, the district court reviews the arbitrators’ findings de novo. Rosenberger v. American Family Mutual Insurance Co., 309 N.W.2d 305, 308 (Minn. 1981). Because it is “reasonably debatable” as to whether the statute of limitations issue was arbitrable, the district court properly conducted a de novo review.

The major issue is whether Spira’s uninsured motorist claim is barred by a statute of limitations. The applicable statute is the contract statute of limitations. See Sahloff v. Western Casualty & Surety Co., 45 Wis.2d 60, 63, 171 N.W.2d 914, 915 (Wis. 1969); Detroit Automobile Inter-Insurance Exchange v. Hafendorfer, 38 Mich.App. 709, 197 N.W.2d 155 (1972). In Minnesota, that limitation is six years. Minn. Stat. § 541.05, subd. 1(1) (1982).

American argues the statute of limitations begins to run from the time an action can be commenced, citing Leisure Dynamics, Inc. v. Falstaff Brewing Corp., 298 N.W.2d 33, 37 (Minn. 1980). It therefore *457 contends the statute of limitations on Spi-ra’s claim began to run on August 23,1975, the time of the accident.

We disagree. An “action”, as defined in the 6-year statute of limitations, is confined to judicial proceedings. Har-Mar, Inc. v. Thorsen & Thorshov, Inc., 300 Minn. 149, 152-55, 218 N.W.2d 751, 754-55 (1974). In arbitration proceedings, the 6-year limitations statute does not begin to run until there has been both a demand and a refusal to arbitrate. Id. at 155, 218 N.W.2d at 755-56.

American was, in fact, notified of the accident within a year of its occurrence, although Spira did not specifically request an uninsured motorist claim form. It then had an affirmative responsibility to inquire into the particular benefit that Spira was claiming. American treated Spira’s request for “an application for benefits form” as a “no-fault benefits” claim, which was by then barred by the contract provisions, and not as an uninsured motorist benefit claim, which was not barred. Consequently, the contract statute did not begin to run until Spira’s identifiable claim for uninsured benefits was rejected.

Absent an express limitation in her insurance policy restricting the time in which Spira could bring an uninsured motorist claim, her cause of action arose on December 9, 1982, the date when American rejected Spira’s claim for uninsured motorist benefits. Spira’s request for arbitration and subsequent court action were commenced well within, the six year statute of limitations.

II

American further contends it was denied the right to pursue its subrogation interests against the Tennessee tortfeasor because of Spira’s failure to give timely notice of her claim.

The Minnesota No-Fault Act relating to uninsured motorist coverage does not specifically provide for subrogation when benefits are paid. See Minn.Stat. § 65B.49, subd. 4 (1982); Flanery v. Total Tree, Inc., 332 N.W.2d 642, 643 (Minn. 1983). However, “[ajbsent subrogation, an insured who is fully compensated might achieve double recovery.” Id. at 644. The court, therefore, held that “a reparation obligor has a right to subrogation upon payment of uninsured motorist benefits to the extent that the insured will achieve a duplicate recovery.” Id. at 645.

There is no evidence of double recovery by Spira. American is not entitled to a set-off.

DECISION

The trial court properly concluded the contract statute of limitations did not bar arbitration pursuant to the uninsured motorist claim of Spira. American is not entitled to a set-off in the amount of the uninsured tortfeasor’s liability limits.

Affirmed.

This page includes AI-generated summaries and analysis based on the full opinion text and citing cases. We believe the summaries are accurate, but you should always verify the holdings, quotes, and treatment data against the original opinion before relying on them in legal proceedings.

Case-law data current through September 30, 2026. Source: CourtListener bulk data.