Minnesota Court of Appeals, 1985 The Minnesota Court of Appeals reversed a denial of unemployment benefits, holding that a Nabisco materials foreman who resigned amid sharply increased hours, an added shift responsibility, and supervisor conflict quit with good cause attributable to the employer.

The Minnesota Court of Appeals reversed a denial of unemployment benefits, holding that a Nabisco materials foreman who resigned amid sharply increased hours, an added shift responsibility, and supervisor conflict quit with good cause attributable to the employer.

Porrazzo v. Nabisco, Inc.
Minnesota Court of Appeals · Decided January 15, 1985 · Heard
360 N.W.2d 662; 1985 Minn. App. LEXIS 3741 (North Western Reporter, Second Series)

Outcome: Reversed for relator.

AI-enhanced analysis. Verify before relying in legal proceedings.

Counsel

F. Clayton Tyler, Minneapolis, for James J. Porrazzo., Nabisco, Inc., Grocery Product Div., pro se., Regina M. Chu, Sp. Asst. Atty. Gen., St. Paul, for Commissioner of Economic Security.

Can I rely on this case?

Citation treatment has not been reviewed for this case. The notes below come from the citation graph and the Minnesota Revisor's amendment records, not from a review of how later courts treated this decision.

(as of 9/30/2026)

Last cited by a Minnesota appellate court in 2016, among the opinions in this site’s citation index.

Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.

See our Terms of Use before relying on these notes. Report an error

Porrazzo v. Nabisco, Inc.

What happened

The facts of the case, in plain language.

On April 1, 1983, Porrazzo was promoted to materials foreman, assuming responsibility for the receiving department in addition to shipping; with no supervisor appointed for the second shift, he was held responsible for both shifts.

After the promotion, Porrazzo's work hours increased to an average of 55 per week, but Nabisco paid overtime only for full four-hour increments worked beyond the normal eight-hour day, so he was not paid for all the overtime he was required to work.

Testimony before the Department of Economic Security referee established that Porrazzo was subject to criticism and harassment from his immediate supervisor and that his requests for vacation time were denied.

In March 1984, Porrazzo met with two representatives of the personnel department to discuss his relationship with his supervisor and was told he was expected to work out his problems directly with the supervisor.

After suffering headaches, difficulty breathing, and irritability, Porrazzo was examined twice in April 1984 by a physician and a company nurse and found to have a stress reaction and an irregular heartbeat.

What the court decided

James Porrazzo worked for Nabisco until April 1984, when he resigned. After a 1983 promotion made him responsible for both the shipping and receiving departments—and for both work shifts—his hours rose to about 55 per week, yet Nabisco paid overtime only in full four-hour increments beyond a normal eight-hour day, leaving some overtime uncompensated. He also endured criticism and harassment from his immediate supervisor and developed stress symptoms, including headaches, breathing difficulty, and an irregular heartbeat. The Commissioner of Economic Security ruled he quit without good cause attributable to the employer, disqualifying him from unemployment benefits under Minn.Stat. § 268.09. The court of appeals disagreed: deferring to the Commissioner's factual findings, it held the legal conclusion lacked reasonable support in them. Because Nabisco offered no assurance of assistance and knew of his problems through the supervisor, Porrazzo resigned with good cause attributable to the employer.

  1. An employee who resigns because substantially increased work hours and responsibilities, uncompensated overtime, and an unworkable relationship with an immediate supervisor together impose demands that no one person could reasonably be expected to meet quits with good cause attributable to the employer and is not disqualified from unemployment compensation benefits. (*664)
  2. The employee's duty to fully apprise the employer of continuing workplace problems before quitting arises only after the employer has given the employee an expectation or assurance of assistance; absent such an expectation, an employee who attempts to resolve the problems through the supervisor as directed—and whose difficulties are thereby known to the employer—has satisfied any duty to inform. (*664)
  3. On review of a Commissioner of Economic Security decision, the Commissioner's factual findings supported by the record are not disturbed, but the Commissioner's conclusion of law that a claimant quit without good cause attributable to the employer is not binding on the reviewing court unless it has reasonable support in those findings. (*664)

How the court reached its decision

The court's reasoning, step by step.

Whether Porrazzo resigned with good cause attributable to the employer under Minn.Stat. § 268.09, subd. 1(1), notwithstanding his concession that the resignation was voluntary. After his promotion Porrazzo's hours rose to an average of fifty-five per week, he was made responsible for two departments and an additional full shift without added pay, the employer's four-hour-increment overtime policy left part of his required overtime uncompensated, and he endured criticism and harassment from his immediate supervisor that the employer did nothing to resolve; as in Zepp, he attempted to complete his job under increasingly difficult circumstances. The combined work pressures amounted to unreasonable demands of an employee that no one person could be expected to meet, so Porrazzo terminated his employment with good cause attributable to the employer and is not disqualified from benefits.

Whether Porrazzo's failure to further inform the employer of his continuing problems immediately before quitting defeats his claim under the duty-to-apprise principle. Porrazzo had no assurance or expectation of assistance: when he raised the supervisor relationship with the personnel department in March 1984, he was told to work out his problems directly with the very supervisor who was the source of many of his difficulties, and when he attempted resolution through that supervisor as directed, the employer—through the supervisor—must be deemed to have known of his continuing problems. Because no expectation of assistance was ever created, the Larson duty to further apprise the employer never attached, and Nabisco's disqualification argument based on Porrazzo's silence fails.

Whether the Commissioner's determination that Porrazzo quit without good cause can stand in light of the administrative record. The Commissioner's factual findings were supported by the record and left undisturbed, but the conclusion of law that Porrazzo quit without good cause attributable to the employer lacked reasonable support in those findings, which instead showed substantially increased hours and shift-wide responsibilities, uncompensated overtime, and an unaddressed hostile supervisory relationship. The unsupported legal conclusion was not binding; the findings supported the contrary conclusion that Porrazzo quit with good cause attributable to the employer, requiring reversal of the disqualification decision.

Key quotes from the opinion

Notable passages from the opinion, in the court's own words.

“unreasonable demands of employee that no one person could be expected to meet.”
Zepp formulation: resignation justified where employer makes demands no one person could meet —
“the burden was upon him to fully apprise the employer of the continuing [problem]. Without this full knowledge, it was reasonable for the employer to assume that the problem had been corrected.”
Larson rule: once assistance is expected, employee must fully apprise employer of continuing problem — *664
“we believe the Commissioner’s conclusion of law that Porrazzo quit without good cause attributable to the employer does not have reasonable support in the findings. Therefore, it is not binding on this court.”
Scope of review: factual findings deferred to, but unsupported legal conclusions rejected — *664
“Because relator terminated his employment with good cause attributable to the employer, he is not disqualified from the receipt of unemployment compensation benefits pursuant to Minn.Stat. § 268.09, subd. 1(1).”
Holding: claimant eligible for unemployment benefits despite voluntary resignation — *664

Cases the court relied on

Earlier decisions the court cited as authority for its ruling.

  • Zepp v. Arthur Treacher Fish & Chips, Inc. (272 N.W.2d 262) — Supplies the controlling standard that unreasonable demands no one person could be expected to meet—there, doubled duties and hours—constitute good cause to quit, which the court applied to Porrazzo's substantially increased workload and unresolved supervisor conflict.
  • Larson v. Department of Economic Security (281 N.W.2d 667) — Establishes the employee's burden to fully apprise the employer of continuing problems once assistance is expected, which the court held inapplicable because Porrazzo was never given any assurance or expectation of assistance.
  • White v. Metropolitan Medical Center (332 N.W.2d 25) — Confirms the narrow scope of review in economic security cases—factual findings supported by the record stand, while legal conclusions must have reasonable support in the findings.
  • Marz v. Department of Employment Services (256 N.W.2d 287) — Establishes that a claimant who voluntarily leaves employment bears the burden of proving good cause attributable to the employer under Minn.Stat. § 268.09.
  • Johnson v. Wilson & Co. (266 Minn. 500, 124 N.W.2d 496) — Cited alongside Zepp for the proposition that a Commissioner's conclusion of law lacking reasonable support in the findings does not bind the reviewing court.

Minnesota statutes cited

Sections of the Minnesota Statutes this opinion cites.

Cases that cite this one

17 later published cases cite this decision.

This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.

Full opinion

The complete text of the court's opinion as published.

Opinion

OPINION

HUSPENI, Judge.

This is an appeal from the Commissioner of Economic Security’s decision that relator voluntarily left his employment without good cause attributable to the employer. We reverse.

FACTS

Relator James J. Porrazzo was employed by respondent Nabisco, Inc. until he submitted his resignation on April 9, 1984. Porrazzo concedes that he voluntarily resigned, but asserts that his resignation was with good cause attributable to the employer. The Commissioner of Economic Security determined that the termination was without good cause.

On April 1, 1983, Porrazzo was promoted to the position of materials foreman, assuming the responsibility of the receiving department in addition to his existing responsibilities in the shipping department. No supervisor was appointed for the second shift and Porrazzo was held responsible for both shifts.

As a result of his increased responsibilities, Porrazzo’s work hours increased substantially to an average of 55 hours per week. The employer paid overtime compensation only for those full four hour increments worked in excess of the normal eight hour day. Because of the employer’s policy on overtime compensation, Porrazzo was not paid for all the overtime he was now required to work. Testimony before the Department of Economic Security referee established that Porrazzo was subject to criticism and harassment from his immediate supervisor and that his requests for vacation time were denied.

In March 1984, Porrazzo met with two representatives of the personnel department to discuss his relationship with his supervisor. Porrazzo was told that he was expected to work out his problems directly with his supervisor.

The pressures of his increased workload, in addition to the relationship with his supervisor, affected Porrazzo’s physical and mental health. He suffered from headaches, experienced difficulty breathing, and became generally irritable. In April of 1984, he was examined twice by a physician and a company nurse and found to have a stress reaction and an irregular heartbeat.

On April 9, 1984, Porrazzo submitted his resignation to his employer. On April 11, Porrazzo met with the plant manager about returning to work. The next day, he was informed that he could not return.

ISSUE

Did relator terminate his employment without good cause attributable to the employer, thereby becoming disqualified from receiving unemployment compensation benefits pursuant to Minn.Stat. § 268.09, subd. 1(1) (Supp. 1983)?

ANALYSIS

Because Porrazzo voluntarily left his employment, he must establish that he did so with good cause attributable to his employer. Minn.Stat. § 268.09, subd. 1(1); Marz v. Department of Employment Services, 256 N.W.2d 287 (Minn. 1977).

Porrazzo claims that, because his work hours and responsibilities increased without any increase in salary and because of his stressful relationship with his employer, he resigned with good cause attributable to his employer. We agree that the combined work pressures resulted in “unreasonable demands of employee that no one person could be expected to meet.” Zepp v. Arthur Treacher Fish & Chips, 272 N.W.2d 262, 263 (Minn. 1978).

In Zepp, the Minnesota Supreme Court determined that doubling an employee’s duties and his work hours was good cause to quit. In this case, although the work hours were not doubled, they were substantially increased. Further, Porrazzo was assigned responsibility for operations not *664 only on the shift he regularly worked, but for an additional full shift each day. Finally, Porrazzo had an unworkable relationship with his immediate supervisor that the employer did nothing to resolve. As in Zepp, the employee attempted to complete his job in increasingly difficult circumstances.

Nabisco argues that Porrazzo had a duty to further inform the employer of his continuing problems and, because he did not do so, should be disqualified from receiving unemployment compensation benefits.

In Larson v. Department of Economic Security, 281 N.W.2d 667 (Minn. 1979), the Minnesota Supreme Court denied unemployment compensation benefits stating:

[Ojnce [claimant] was provided with the expectation of assistance from his employer in eliminating his [problem], the burden was upon him to fully apprise the employer of the continuing [problem]. Without this full knowledge, it was reasonable for the employer to assume that the problem had been corrected.

Id. at 669.

Porrazzo admits that he did not seek assistance from his employer immediately before quitting. However, he was given no assurance and had no expectation of assistance from the employer. Earlier discussions with representatives of the employer resulted merely in the statement that Por-razzo was expected to work the matters out with his direct supervisor even though the supervisor was the source of many of his difficulties. Further, Porrazzo did attempt to resolve his problems through his supervisor as directed. The employer, through that supervisor, must be deemed to have had knowledge of Porrazzo’s continuing problems.

We recognize that the court’s scope of review in economic security cases is narrow. White v. Metropolitan Medical Center, 332 N.W.2d 25, 26 (Minn. 1983). The findings of fact drawn by the Commissioner of Economic Security are supported by the record and are not disturbed on appeal. Id. However, we believe the Commissioner’s conclusion of law that Porrazzo quit without good cause attributable to the employer does not have reasonable support in the findings. Therefore, it is not binding on this court. Zepp; Johnson v. Wilson and Co., 266 Minn. 500, 509, 124 N.W.2d 496, 502 (1963).

DECISION

We hold that the findings do not support the conclusion that relator voluntarily terminated his employment without good cause attributable to the employer, but instead support the contrary conclusion. Because relator terminated his employment with good cause attributable to the employer, he is not disqualified from the receipt of unemployment compensation benefits pursuant to Minn.Stat. § 268.09, subd. 1(1).

Reversed.

This page includes AI-generated summaries and analysis based on the full opinion text and citing cases. We believe the summaries are accurate, but you should always verify the holdings, quotes, and treatment data against the original opinion before relying on them in legal proceedings.

Case-law data current through September 30, 2026. Source: CourtListener bulk data.