Minnesota Court of Appeals, 1990 A Minnesota appeals court held that a dissolution decree awarding the insured 'all right, title and interest' in her life insurance policy divested her ex-husband's beneficiary rights, sending the proceeds to her estate despite no formal change of designation.

A Minnesota appeals court held that a dissolution decree awarding the insured 'all right, title and interest' in her life insurance policy divested her ex-husband's beneficiary rights, sending the proceeds to her estate despite no formal change of designation.

Larsen v. Northwestern National Life Insurance Co.
Minnesota Court of Appeals · Decided December 11, 1990 · Crippen, Foley, Schumacher
463 N.W.2d 777; 1990 Minn. App. LEXIS 1205; 1990 WL 195057 (North Western Reporter, Second Series)

Outcome: Affirmed for appellee.

AI-enhanced analysis. Verify before relying in legal proceedings.

Counsel

William L. Lucas, Harvey, Thorfinnson, Scoggin, Lucas & Kallas, P.A., Eden Prairie, for appellant., Dennis L. Johnson, Minneapolis, for respondent.

Can I rely on this case?

Citation treatment has not been reviewed for this case. The notes below come from the citation graph and the Minnesota Revisor's amendment records, not from a review of how later courts treated this decision.

(as of 9/30/2026)

Last cited by a Minnesota appellate court in 2024, among the opinions in this site’s citation index.

Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.

See our Terms of Use before relying on these notes. Report an error

Larsen v. Northwestern National Life Insurance Co.

What happened

The facts of the case, in plain language.

On July 7, 1983, decedent executed a life insurance beneficiary designation form naming Larsen, her then-husband, as beneficiary of the policy.

The stipulation incorporated into the dissolution decree provided that each party may be awarded all right, title and interest in those life insurance policies covering his or her respective life.

Decedent died in an automobile accident on March 23, 1988, approximately 50 days after entry of the final judgment and decree, and Larsen was still listed as the designated beneficiary at her death.

During the dissolution proceeding, decedent's attorney advised her not to change the beneficiary designation until the dissolution was final, and on the date of the final decree advised her to consult her employer's personnel or benefits office to effectuate the change.

NWNL received copies of the stipulation and dissolution decree prior to making any payment on the policy and did not object to those documents as notification of decedent's intention to change the beneficiary designation.

What the court decided

LuAnn Knapp Larsen named her husband Peter J. Larsen as beneficiary of her life insurance policy in 1983. When the couple divorced in 1988, their stipulated settlement, incorporated into the dissolution decree, awarded each spouse all right, title and interest in life insurance policies covering his or her respective life. Larsen remained the designated beneficiary when decedent died in an automobile accident about 50 days after the decree, having been advised by counsel to wait until the dissolution was final before contacting her employer's benefits office. The trial court granted summary judgment ordering the proceeds paid to decedent's estate. The court of appeals affirmed, holding that the decree divested Larsen of his beneficiary rights and that the stipulation and decree showed decedent's clear intent to change the designation, which must be given effect because the insurer received copies of both documents without objection.

  1. A stipulated dissolution settlement incorporated into a decree that awards each spouse 'all right, title and interest' in life insurance policies covering his or her respective life divests a former spouse of rights as designated beneficiary of the other spouse's policy, even though neither document expressly mentions the beneficiary designation. (*780)
  2. An insured's clear and unambiguously demonstrated intent to change a life insurance beneficiary must be given effect unless the insurer would be prejudiced; a stipulation and dissolution decree received by the insurer without objection can sufficiently demonstrate that intent even though the policy's formal change-of-beneficiary procedure was never completed. (*781)
  3. Whether a marital property settlement bars an ex-spouse beneficiary's claim to insurance proceeds is a question of the settlement's construction; absent a provision effecting that result, the settlement will not be given broader scope than its express terms. (*780)

How the court reached its decision

The court's reasoning, step by step.

Whether the stipulated dissolution-decree provision awarding each spouse all right, title and interest in life insurance policies covering their respective lives divested the ex-husband of his rights as named beneficiary. Read in concert with the stipulation provisions awarding each party items of property free and clear of any claim by the other, the grant of 'all right, title and interest' contemplated rights beyond the cash surrender value or mere physical delivery of the policy, showing the provision was intended to divest Larsen of his beneficiary right; the contrary Wisconsin approach in Bersch was inapplicable to these decree terms. The provision awarding decedent all interest in her insurance policy was intended to divest Larsen of his right as beneficiary, upholding the trial court's award of the proceeds to the estate on this ground.

Whether the insured's intent to change the beneficiary could be given effect when she died approximately fifty days after the decree without submitting the change-of-beneficiary form required by the policy. The stipulation and dissolution decree adequately demonstrated decedent's intent that her ex-husband have no interest in her policy; her failure to act sooner was attributable to counsel's advice to await finality of the dissolution, and NWNL received copies of both documents before making any payment and did not object to them as notification of the intended change, so the insurer suffered no prejudice. Because NWNL was not prejudiced, effect was given to decedent's intention to change the beneficiary designation, and the judgment ordering the proceeds paid to her estate was affirmed.

Key quotes from the opinion

Notable passages from the opinion, in the court's own words.

“Each party may be awarded all right, title and interest in those life insurance policies covering his or her respective life.”
Stipulated settlement provision at the center of the divestment question — *780
“it is clear the provision awarding decedent all interest in her insurance policy was intended to divest Larsen of his right as beneficiary”
Court's construction of the decree language as divesting the ex-spouse beneficiary — *780
“where an insured has clearly and unambiguously demonstrated an intent to change the beneficiary on a life insurance policy, this intent should be given effect unless prejudice to the insurer would result”
Minnesota rule on effectuating an unexecuted change of beneficiary absent insurer prejudice — *781
“The rule generally applied is that equity regards that as done which ought to have been done.”
Equitable-change doctrine supporting enforcement of the insured's intent — *780

Cases the court relied on

Earlier decisions the court cited as authority for its ruling.

  • Brown v. Agin (260 Minn. 104, 109 N.W.2d 147) — Supplies the two-part test for effecting an informal change of beneficiary—intent plus substantial action evidencing it—and the equitable maxim that equity regards that as done which ought to have been done.
  • Lemke v. Schwarz (286 N.W.2d 693) — Provides the controlling rule that an insured's clear and unambiguous intent to change beneficiaries must be given effect unless the insurer would be prejudiced, on which the disposition of the proceeds turns.
  • Gwin v. Gappa (394 N.W.2d 530) — Prior court-of-appeals application of the Brown test establishing that delivery of a change form is not essential but that confusion or conflicting expressions of intent favor the named beneficiary.
  • Bersch v. VanKleeck (334 N.W.2d 114) — Wisconsin decision holding that decree language awarding each spouse 'the life insurance policies on their respective persons' did not divest the ex-spouse beneficiary; distinguished as inapplicable to the broader 'all right, title and interest' grant in this decree.
  • Donnay v. Boulware (275 Minn. 37, 144 N.W.2d 711) — Source of the canon that where the parties' intention may be gained wholly from the writing, its construction is for the court, supporting the divestment reading of the stipulation.

Cases that cite this one

15 later published cases cite this decision.

This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.

Full opinion

The complete text of the court's opinion as published.

Opinion

OPINION

FOLEY, Judge.

The question presented in this appeal arises from a declaratory judgment brought to determine the proper recipient *779 of the proceeds of a life insurance policy following the death of the insured, LuAnn Knapp Larsen. Decedent’s life was insured under a policy issued by Northwestern National Life Insurance Company.

Appellant Peter J. Larsen, the beneficiary named in the policy, brought this action against NWNL and respondent James L. Knapp, personal representative of decedent’s estate. Pursuant to cross-motions, the trial court granted summary judgment in favor of Knapp and ordered the proceeds of the policy paid over to the estate. We affirm.

FACTS

The facts of the matter are largely undisputed. On July 7, 1983 decedent executed a life insurance beneficiary designation form naming Larsen, her then-husband, beneficiary of the policy. Four years later, pursuant to proceedings to dissolve their marriage, decedent and Larsen entered into a stipulated settlement, which was incorporated into the dissolution decree, awarding each all right, title and interest in the insurance policies covering his or her respective life. The parties’ marriage was dissolved on February 2, 1988.

During the dissolution proceeding, decedent asked her attorney if she could remove Larsen’s name from her life insurance beneficiary designation. Decedent’s attorney advised her that she should not change the beneficiary of the life insurance policy until the dissolution was final. On the date of the final decree, decedent’s attorney advised her that it would be appropriate to consult with her employers’ personnel or benefits office to effectuate the change.

Decedent died in an automobile accident on March 23, 1988, approximately 50 days after entry of the final judgment and decree. Decedent had indicated that, in the event of her death, she wanted her property to go to her mother. At the time of her death, however, Larsen was still listed as the designated beneficiary of decedent’s life insurance policy. Knapp and Larsen each claim right to the proceeds of decedent’s insurance policy.

ISSUE

Did the trial court err by ordering the proceeds of decedent’s insurance policy to be paid over to her estate when, at the time of her death, Larsen was still designated as beneficiary of the insurance policy?

ANALYSIS

Summary judgment is appropriate where there is no genuine dispute as to any material facts. Minn.R.Civ.P. 56. Where the facts are not disputed, this court need not defer to the trial court’s decision on matters of law. Hubred v. Control Data Corp., 442 N.W.2d 308, 310 (Minn. 1989).

The effect of a stipulation or dissolution decree granting each spouse his or her own interest in a life insurance policy on the beneficiary designation in such policy appears to be a matter of first impression in Minnesota. Ordinarily, marriage dissolution does not affect the right of the named beneficiary. When an insured does not change the beneficiary of his or her life insurance policy after a marriage dissolution, the ex-spouse beneficiary is entitled to the proceeds of the policy upon the death of the insured. This rule is based on the notion that the beneficiary’s claim to the proceeds evolves from the terms of the policy rather than the status of the marital relationship. 4 Couch on Insurance (Second) § 27:11 (1984).

However, under certain circumstances the ex-spouse beneficiary may have surrendered his or her right by a property settlement, which may or may not have been incorporated into the dissolution decree. 5 Couch on Insurance (Second) § 29:4 (1984).

Whether a property settlement agreement should be deemed to bar the [ex-spouse beneficiary’s right to the insurance proceeds] is a question of the construction of the agreement itself. Where there is no provision that the effecting of the settlement agreement should deprive her of her rights as named beneficiary and she in fact remains named as beneficiary, the settlement agreement will not *780 be given broader scope than its express terms specify.

Id. at 243.

Here, the stipulation between decedent and Larsen, which was incorporated into the dissolution decree, provides:

Each party may be awarded all right, title and interest in those life insurance policies covering his or her respective life.

Although neither the stipulation nor the dissolution decree specifically referred to the beneficiary designation of decedent’s life insurance policy, we believe the references in the decree and stipulation granting “all right, title and interest ” contemplated rights beyond the cash surrender value of the policy or the right merely to receive physical delivery of the policy. 1 It is a well established rule of law that where the intention of the parties may be gained wholly from the writing, the construction is for the court. Donnay v. Boulware, 275 Minn. 37, 44, 144 N.W.2d 711, 716 (1966).

When read in concert with the provisions in the stipulation by which decedent and Larsen each were awarded items of property free and clear of any claim to such property by the other, it is clear the provision awarding decedent all interest in her insurance policy was intended to divest Larsen of his right as beneficiary. We do not believe such an interpretation gives the settlement broader scope than expressed terms.

Larsen has urged this court to follow the rationale of the Wisconsin Supreme Court determination that a life insurance beneficiary was not divested of her interest by a dissolution decree awarding each spouse “the life insurance policies on their respective persons.” Bersch v. Vankleeck, 112 Wis.2d 594, 596-98, 334 N.W.2d 114, 116-17 (1983). Under the terms of the decree at issue, however, we are compelled to uphold the trial court’s award of the insurance proceeds to decedent’s estate.

A change of beneficiary of an insurance policy may be effectuated without notice to the insurer where the insured’s efforts are otherwise in substantial compliance with the requirements imposed by the contract. “The rule generally applied is that equity regards that as done which ought to have been done.” Brown v. Agin, 260 Minn. 104, 109, 109 N.W.2d 147, 150 (1961).

The Minnesota Supreme Court has established a two-part test to determine whether there has been effective change of beneficiary: (1) whether there was intent to change the beneficiary by the insured; and (2) whether the insured acted affirmatively or otherwise did substantially all possible to show intention whether or not she complied with policy change of beneficiary provisions. Id. at 106, 109 N.W.2d at 151.

In Gwin v. Gappa, 394 N.W.2d 530 (Minn.App. 1986), this court applied the Brown test to uphold a trial court’s determination that an insured’s failure to deliver a beneficiary change form indicated a lack of intent to effect the change. This court stated:

Delivery of the change of beneficiary form to the insurance company is not essential to effect a change in beneficiaries. However, as the court concluded, such a failure may create confusion about the insured’s intent. When examining the intent of the insured:
If there exists any confusion as to the insured’s intent or conflicting expressions of intent, then the named beneficiary should be entitled to the proceeds.

Id. at 534 (quoting Lemke v. Schwarz, 286 N.W.2d 693, 696 (Minn. 1979)).

Decedent’s insurance policy contained the following provision:

An Insured may change his beneficiary at any time by submitting written notice in the form satisfactory to the Company * * *. * * * Upon receipt and approval *781 by the Company at its Home Office, the change of beneficiary will be effective from the date the notice was signed by the Insured.

Decedent tragically died only a short time after the dissolution, without changing the beneficiary designation. Larsen argues that decedent had more than enough time to change her beneficiary if that was what she had so intended. The Minnesota Supreme Court has held that

where an insured has clearly and unambiguously demonstrated an intent to change the beneficiary on a life insurance policy, this intent should be given effect unless prejudice to the insurer would result.

Lemke, 286 N.W.2d at 696.

We believe the stipulation and dissolution decree adequately demonstrated decedent’s intent that she no longer wished her ex-husband to have any interest in her life insurance policy. NWNL received copies of the stipulation and decree prior to making any payment on the policy and did not object to such documents as notification of decedent’s intention to change the beneficiary designation. Because NWNL is not prejudiced, we must give effect to decedent’s intention to change the beneficiary designation.

DECISION

The trial court’s judgment ordering the proceeds of decedent’s insurance policy paid over to her estate is affirmed.

Affirmed.

1

. Decedent apparently possessed other investments with benefits payable on death to a named individual. There is no indication in the record, however, that decedent possessed life insurance other than the policy at issue. Although Knapp contends decedent changed the beneficiary designations for her IRA and annuity, naming her mother as the beneficiary, such facts are not supported in the record.

This page includes AI-generated summaries and analysis based on the full opinion text and citing cases. We believe the summaries are accurate, but you should always verify the holdings, quotes, and treatment data against the original opinion before relying on them in legal proceedings.

Case-law data current through September 30, 2026. Source: CourtListener bulk data.