Minnesota Court of Appeals, 2001 Holding that pesticide adulteration that made oat products unlawful to sell constitutes direct physical loss under an all-risk policy, the Minnesota Court of Appeals affirms coverage despite ambiguous exclusions and rejects a setoff claim tied to a separate malicious-tampering policy.

Holding that pesticide adulteration that made oat products unlawful to sell constitutes direct physical loss under an all-risk policy, the Minnesota Court of Appeals affirms coverage despite ambiguous exclusions and rejects a setoff claim tied to a separate malicious-tampering policy.

General Mills, Inc. v. Gold Medal Insurance Co.
Minnesota Court of Appeals · Decided February 6, 2001 · Anderson, Klaphake, Harten
622 N.W.2d 147; 2001 Minn. App. LEXIS 139; 2001 WL 96163 (North Western Reporter, Second Series)

Outcome: Affirmed for appellee.

AI-enhanced analysis. Verify before relying in legal proceedings.

Counsel

Lawrence Zelle, Lawrence Hofmann, Zelle, Hofmann, Voebel & Gette, LLP, Minneapolis, MN, (for respondent)., Richard P. Mahoney, Victor E. Lund, Mahoney, Dougherty and Mahoney, Minneapolis, MN; and Stephen A. Cozen, Richard M. Mackowsky, Cozen and O’Con-nor, Philadelphia, PA, (for appellant).

Can I rely on this case?

Citation treatment has not been reviewed for this case. The notes below come from the citation graph and the Minnesota Revisor's amendment records, not from a review of how later courts treated this decision.

(as of 9/30/2026)

Last cited by a Minnesota appellate court in 2023, among the opinions in this site’s citation index.

Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.

See our Terms of Use before relying on these notes. Report an error

General Mills, Inc. v. Gold Medal Insurance Co.

What happened

The facts of the case, in plain language.

In 1993-94, General Mills hired independent contractor George Roggy to treat grain stocks in Duluth and Superior with the FDA-approved pesticide Reldan; unbeknownst to General Mills, Roggy substituted the cheaper, unapproved pesticide Dursban, which was not approved for use on oats.

The parties stipulated that General Mills' losses—including destruction of oat stocks and finished products and cleaning costs—were $167,542,874, plus interest and costs, although Dursban presented no health hazard to the consuming public.

On a motion for summary judgment, the district court held that the losses were covered under the all-risk policy but not covered under the named-peril policy, and found no basis for a setoff against the National Union policy.

Whether or not the oats could be safely consumed, they legally could not be used in General Mills' business because of FDA regulations; the court found this impairment of function and value sufficient to support a finding of physical damage.

After taking testimony from Roggy, the district court concluded he acted with ordinary malice: he knew substituting Dursban was wrong but assumed the substitution would never be discovered and no one would be harmed, and in the absence of a desire to injure General Mills he lacked the actual malice needed to trigger coverage under the National Union policy.

What the court decided

An independent contractor hired in 1993-94 to treat General Mills' oat stocks with an FDA-approved pesticide secretly substituted Dursban, a cheaper chemical not approved for use on oats. Because the FDA treats any unapproved chemical residue as adulteration—even though Dursban posed no health hazard—General Mills halted distribution and discarded the affected oats and cereals, suffering stipulated losses of $167,542,874. Gold Medal, General Mills' captive insurer, denied coverage under its two policies. Affirming summary judgment, the appeals court held that the inability to lawfully sell the products impaired their function and value enough to constitute direct physical loss under the all-risk policy. Because the contamination and faulty-materials exclusions were ambiguous, and the insurer bears the burden of proving exclusions apply, they did not defeat coverage. The court also affirmed denial of a setoff under a separate malicious-tampering policy, which required actual malice the contractor lacked.

  1. Under an all-risk property policy, 'direct physical loss or damage' may exist without actual destruction of or structural injury to property; it is sufficient that insured property be injured in some way, including where government regulation renders the property unusable for its intended commercial purpose. (*152)
  2. Where an insurance exclusion is reasonably subject to more than one interpretation, it is ambiguous and cannot defeat coverage, because the insurer bears the burden of proving that its interpretation of the exclusion is the only reasonable one. (*153)
  3. An exclusion for 'errors in design, faulty workmanship or faulty materials' grouped with construction-related terms refers to materials used in constructing property, not to raw commodity stock held for manufacture into consumer products. (*154)
  4. A malicious product tampering policy requiring 'intentional, malicious and wrongful' alteration covers only acts done with actual malice—a subjective intent to injure the policyholder—and not merely intentional acts undertaken with knowledge that they are wrongful. (*155)

How the court reached its decision

The court's reasoning, step by step.

Whether General Mills' loss of oat stocks and finished cereal products constituted 'direct physical loss or damage' under the all-risk policy despite the absence of structural damage or any health hazard. As in Marshall Produce, where the Army rejected smoke-exposed milk powder and eggs under stringent manufacturing-environment standards regardless of actual hazard, FDA regulations treated the presence of unapproved Dursban residue as illegal adulteration; the function of General Mills' products—sale with assurance of regulatory conformity—was seriously impaired, making them legally unusable in its business. The regulatory impairment of function and value was sufficient to constitute direct physical loss, and the district court did not err in finding coverage under the all-risk policy.

Whether the contamination exclusion and its anti-concurrent-causation language barred coverage for the adulteration loss. The district court read the exclusion so that contamination created by a non-excluded peril (Roggy's substitution) remains covered, while Gold Medal read it to exclude any loss where the peril of contamination arises at a site not covered by the policy; these opposing reasonable interpretations, particularly absent definitions of material terms, rendered the exclusion ambiguous. Because the exclusion was ambiguous, Gold Medal could not sustain its burden of proving it applied, and the contamination exclusion did not operate to deny coverage.

Whether the faulty-materials exclusion precluded coverage for losses caused by the substituted pesticide. Grouped with 'errors in design' and 'faulty workmanship,' the faulty-materials term permissibly reads as referring to construction materials rather than raw grain stock destined for cereal production, and Gold Medal failed to carry its burden of establishing a broader reading. The district court did not clearly err in finding that the faulty-materials exclusion was not applicable.

Whether Gold Medal was entitled to a setoff based on potential coverage under the National Union malicious product tampering policy governed by New York law. After taking testimony from Roggy, the district court found that although he knew substituting Dursban was wrong, he assumed the substitution would never be discovered and that no one would be harmed; lacking any desire to injure General Mills, he acted with ordinary rather than actual malice. Because the policy's 'intentional, malicious and wrongful' trigger incorporates the concept of intending to harm, Roggy's conduct did not trigger coverage under the National Union policy, and no setoff was due to Gold Medal.

Key quotes from the opinion

Notable passages from the opinion, in the court's own words.

“Where an insurance contract is ambiguous, the court applies the doctrine of contra proferentem, by which ambiguities in a document are to be construed unfavorably to the drafter or in favor of coverage.”
Contra proferentem: ambiguities construed in favor of coverage — *151
“We have previously held that direct physical loss can exist without actual destruction of property or structural damage to property; it is sufficient to show that insured property is injured in some way.”
Direct physical loss does not require structural damage — *152
“When relying on an exclusion to coverage, the insurer bears the burden of proving the application of the exclusion.”
Insurer's burden to prove policy exclusions — *153
“Malice alone contemplates an intentional act undertaken with the knowledge that is wrongful, while actual malice adds the desire to injure another or, as discussed below, an affirmative disregard of the known harm accruing to others as a result of the intentional act.”
Distinction between ordinary malice and actual malice bearing on tampering-policy coverage — *154

Cases the court relied on

Earlier decisions the court cited as authority for its ruling.

  • Sentinel Management Co. v. New Hampshire Insurance Co. (563 N.W.2d 296 (Minn. App. 1997)) — Supplies the holding that direct physical loss can exist without structural damage, which this court extends to regulatory adulteration that impairs the marketability of insured products.
  • Marshall Produce Co. v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Co. (256 Minn. 404, 98 N.W.2d 280 (1959)) — Provides the closest analogue—goods rejected under stringent government standards despite no actual hazard—supporting the conclusion that legally compelled disuse constitutes compensable physical loss measured by impairment of value.
  • SCSC Corp. v. Allied Mutual Insurance Co. (536 N.W.2d 305 (Minn. 1995)) — Establishes the insurer's burden of proving exclusions and their narrow construction against the insurer, which defeated Gold Medal's reliance on the contested exclusions.
  • U.S. Fire Insurance Co. v. Beltmann North American Co. (883 F.2d 564 (7th Cir. 1989)) — Articulates the distinction between ordinary malice (an intentional act known to be wrongful) and actual malice (intent to injure or affirmative disregard of known harm) that controlled the setoff analysis under the tampering policy.
  • Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Globe Indemnity Co. (303 Minn. 16, 225 N.W.2d 831 (1975)) — Its maxim that diametrically opposed reasonable readings of policy language compel a conclusion of ambiguity anchored the court's finding that the contamination exclusion was ambiguous.

Cases that cite this one

112 later published cases cite this decision. The 25 that cite it most often are listed here.

This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.

Full opinion

The complete text of the court's opinion as published.

Opinion

OPINION

KLAPHAKE, Judge

Appellant challenges summary judgment entered against it, finding insurance coverage for losses suffered by respondent and denying appellant a setoff against other insurance. Because we conclude as a matter of law that there was direct physical loss to -insured property as required by terms of the policy, and because the exclusions from coverage relied on by appellant are ambiguous, we affirm the decision of the district court. Because the district court did not err in its application of the law regarding setoffs, we affirm as to that issue as well.

FACTS

Respondent General Mills,. Inc. (General Mills), is a Delaware corporation with executive offices in Minnesota. Appellant *150 Gold Medal Insurance Co. (Gold Medal), a Minnesota corporation and wholly-owned subsidiary of General Mills, was established by General Mills as a captive insurer for the purpose of accessing insurance markets in a cost-effective manner. Because Gold Medal has no actual employees, American Risk Management (ARM), an independent company that specializés in such work, handles its essential services. ARM drafted the wording of the Gold Medal insurance contracts that were issued to General Mills, although General Mills had considerable bargaining power with respect to the terms of the various policies.

This matter involves two insurance policies. The first policy, a Named Peril/Grain Stocks policy (named-peril policy), provided coverage for General Mills’ grain storage facilities at Duluth and Superior, as well as other storage facilities. The second, the All Risk Property Policy (all-risk policy) covered- all real and personal property of General Mills at named locations, but did not include the Duluth and Superior storage facilities. The limit of coverage for the named-peril policy was $65,576,000, and for the all-risk policy was $3,276,890,000.

In 1993-94, General Mills hired George Roggy, an independent contractor, to treat its grain stocks in Duluth and Superior with an FDA-approved pesticide, Reldan. Unbeknownst to General Mills, Roggy substituted the cheaper, but unapproved, pesticide Dursban. Although Reldan and Dursban are chemically almost identical, and although Dursban was approved for treatment of other foods, Dursban was not approved for use on oats. The FDA treats the presence of an unapproved chemical as an illegal adulteration of food products, even if not dangerous for human consumption; the fact that Dursban was not approved for application on oats was sufficient to violate FDA regulations on adulteration of food products.

In a routine inspection, the FDA discovered traces of Dursban in oat stocks at one of General Mills’ facilities and traced it to the Fridley plant. 1 Upon notification, General Mills immediately halted distribution and production of oat products, but some of the adulterated oat stocks had already been milled into oat flour and converted to finished product, and other adulterated oat stocks had been mixed with unadulterated stock. By the time the problem was uncovered, 16 million bushels of raw oats and the equivalent of 55 million boxes of Cheerios and other oat-based cereals had been affected. To remove all traces of Dursban, all machinery at the milling .plants had to be disassembled, cleaned, and reassembled.

There is little dispute that Dursban presented no health hazard to the consuming public. However, General Mills voluntarily held the adulterated cereals, based on the understanding that the FDA would order it to do so if General Mills attempted to distribute the product. General Mills considered petitioning the FDA for a waiver that would permit distribution of the cereals, but concluded that the matter could not be resolved in a timely fashion. Even if the FDA eventually granted a waiver, General Mills product freshness deadlines could not have been met. Instead, General Mills discarded all adulterated products. General Mills was also faced with a public relations problem, as news of the pesticide adulteration became public. The parties stipulated that General Mills’ losses, including destruction of oat stocks and finished products and cleaning costs, were $167,542,874, plus interest and costs.

General Mills sought coverage for its losses under the all-risk and named-peril policies purchased through Gold Medal, and under another policy, the National *151 Union Malicious Product Tampering Policy (National Union policy), purchased through a New York insurer. Coverage was denied under all three policies. A declaratory judgment action filed in New York over the National Union policy was eventually settled for $17.5 million, without an admission of coverage. General Mills also brought this breach of contract suit against Gold Medal for coverage under its two policies.

On a motion for summary judgment, the district court held that the losses were covered under the all-risk policy, but not covered under the named-peril policy. Further, the district court found no basis for a setoff against the National Union policy. Appellant Gold Medal appeals from the judgment finding coverage and denying a setoff.

ISSUES

I. Did the district court err in concluding that General Mills had suffered a direct physical loss of insured property?

II. Did the district court err in concluding that General Mills’ loss was not excluded from coverage under the policy exclusions?

III. Did the district court err in concluding that Gold Medal was not entitled to a setoff because of .other insurance?

ANALYSIS

“On an appeal from summary judgment, we must examine two questions, whether there are any genuine issues of material fact and whether the lower courts erred in their application of the law.” Cummings v. Koehnen, 568 N.W.2d 418, 420 (Minn. 1997) (citation omitted). “A reviewing court must view evidence in the light most favorable to the party against whom summary judgment was granted.” Vetter v. Security Continental Ins. Co., 567 N.W.2d 516, 520 (Minn. 1997) (citation omitted). Both parties agree that there are no genuine issues of material fact.

The construction of an insurance contract is a question of law determined de novo by the reviewing court. Jenoff, Inc. v. New Hampshire Ins. Co., 558 N.W.2d 260, 262 (Minn. 1997). As a question of law, interpretation of an insurance contract may be decided by the district court on a motion for summary judgment. American Nat’l Fire Ins. Co. v. Cordie, 478 N.W.2d 531, 533 (Minn.App. 1991).

In construing an insurance contract, the intention of the parties is the overriding concern, to be determined by the language of the entire contract. Bobich v. Oja, 258 Minn. 287, 294, 104 N.W.2d 19, 24 (1960). Endorsements and exclusions must be construed in terms of the entire contract, and in such a way, if possible, to give effect to all provisions. Id. at 294-95, 104 N.W.2d at 24-25. Language is to be given its plain and ordinary meaning. Id. at 294, 104 N.W.2d at 24.

Where an insurance contract is ambiguous, the court applies the doctrine of contra proferentem, by which ambiguities in a document are to be construed unfavorably to the drafter or in favor of coverage. Black’s Lato Dictionary 328 (7th ed. 1999). The court may not create an ambiguity where none exists. Bobich, 258 Minn. at 294, 104 N.W.2d at 24. Relatively equal bargaining power does not preclude application of the doctrine of contra proferentem. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co. v. MetPath, Inc., 38 F.Supp.2d 1087, 1092 (D.Minn. 1998); see, e.g., SCSC Corp. v. Allied Mut. Ins. Co. 536 N.W.2d 305, 315 (Minn. 1995); Minnesota Mining & Mfg. Co. v. Travelers Indem. Co., 457 N.W.2d 175, 180-81 (Minn. 1990); Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Globe Indem. Co., 303 Minn. 16, 26, n. 2, 225 N.W.2d 831, 837 n. 2 (1975).

I. Physical Damage to Property

The all-risk policy provides coverage against “ ‘All Risks’ of direct physical loss or damage to property insured and described herein.” There is no definition *152 of “direct physical loss or damage” included in the policy. Gold Medal argues that the district court erred in finding a direct physical loss, because Dursban did not render the oats and products unfit for human consumption; the loss occurred only because of government regulation, and not because of direct damage to the insured property.

In an “all-risk” policy, coverage usually-extends to

risks not usually covered under other insurance, and recovery under an “all-risk” policy will, as a rule, be allowed for all fortuitous losses not resulting from misconduct or fraud, unless the policy contains a specific provision expressly excluding the loss from coverage.

13A George J. Couch, Couc-h on Insurance § 48:141 (2d ed. 1982).

We have previously held that direct physical loss can exist without actual destruction of property or structural damage to property; it is sufficient to show that insured property is injured in some way. Sentinel Mgmt. Co. v. New Hampshire Ins. Co., 563 N.W.2d 296, 300 (Minn.App. 1997). In Sentinel, we noted that the function of a residential apartment building, to provide safe housing, was seriously impaired or destroyed by the presence of asbestos fibers, although the building itself - did not suffer a “tangible injury.” Id. Likewise, the function of the food products produced by General Mills is not only to be sold, but to be sold with an assurance that they meet certain regulatory standards. When General Mills is unable to lawfully distribute its products because of FDA regulations, that function is seriously impaired.

We are not persuaded by Gold Medal’s argument that the food products could be safely consumed but for a legal regulation that does not truly affect the function of the product. This matter is similar to the factual scenario in Marshall Produce Co. v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 256 Minn. 404, 98 N.W.2d 280 (1959). Marshall Produce was under contract with the United States Army to produce milk powder, egg powder, and raw eggs and had to meet certain very specific and rigorous standards. One of the standards was that the plant had to be “free from strong foul odors, dust, and smoke-laden air.” Id. at 408, 98 N.W.2d at 284-85. The produce company was covered by a fire policy issued by St. Paul Fire & Marine. A fire at a neighboring property caused the plant to be filled with heavy smoke, although no fire occurred on the premises of Marshall Produce. Id. at 407, 98 N.W.2d at 284.

When apprised of the presence of smoke, the army rejected the goods, apparently with no attempt to ascertain whether there was actual damage to the product. Id. at 409-10, 98 N.W.2d at 285-86. Thus, the product was damaged not necessarily because it was hazardous, but because of army regulations that set forth stringent requirements for the manufacturing environment. The court noted that the impairment of value, not the physical damage, was the measure of damages. Id. at 423, 98 N.W.2d at 293.

Much like Marshall Produce, General Mills was unable to sell its products or use the contaminated oats, because of legal regulations. The business of manufacturing food products requires conforming to the appropriate FDA regulations. Whether or not the oats could be safely consumed, they legally could not be used in General Mills’ business. The district court did not err in finding this to be an impairment of function and value sufficient to support a finding of physical damage.

II. Exclusions from Coverage

Contamination

Gold Medal argues that, even if there is direct physical loss, it is excluded from coverage by policy language that states:

PERILS EXCLUDED:
* *[T]his policy does not insure against loss or damage caused by or resulting from any of the following regardless of *153 any other cause or event contributing concurrently or in any other sequence to the loss:
A. Delay, loss of market or any other indirect or consequential loss or damage not specifically covered herein, gradual deterioration or leakage, seepage, inherent vice, latent defect, moth, vermin, termites or other insects, ordinary wear and tear, contamination> dampness of atmosphere, wet or dry rot, mold, shrinkage, evaporation, loss of weight, rust, corrosion, change in flavor or color or texture or finish, unless caused by or.resulting from a peril not excluded hereunder.

(Emphasis added.) Gold Medal asserts that the injury is one of contamination, clearly excluded by this language.

The district court concluded that this exclusion was unambiguous if read in the following manner: damage caused by a concurrent peril and an excluded peril (contamination) is not covered, except if the peril, not the damage, of the excluded peril (contamination) is caused by a peril not excluded. Because the actions of Rog-gy are a non-excluded peril that created the peril of contamination, the resulting injury would be covered.

Gold Medal, on the other hand, urges that the proper interpretation is that the exclusion and anti-concurrent clause apply, unless the peril of contamination is caused by a peril not excluded by the policy as a whole. Gold Medal argues that Rogges actions are not covered by the policy, occurring as they did at a site specifically not covered by the policy.

A policy is ambiguous if it is reasonably subject to more than one interpretation. American Commerce Ins. Brokers, Inc. v. Minnesota Mut. Fire & Cas. Co., 551 N.W.2d 224, 227 (Minn. 1996). As one court noted:

[T]he very fact that their respective positions as to what this policy says are so contrary compels one to conclude that the agreement is indeed ambiguous.

NoHhwest Airlines, Inc., 303 Minn, at 26, 225 N.W.2d at 837. Here we have two opposing interpretations reasonably based on policy language, particularly in the absence of any definition of material terms. We conclude that this exclusion is open to more than one interpretation and thus is ambiguous. Therefore, although the district court did not find this clause to be ambiguous, we agree with its conclusion in favor of coverage.

When relying on an exclusion to coverage, the insurer bears the burden of proving the application of the exclusion. SCSC Corp., 536 N.W.2d at 313-14. Exclusions are interpreted narrowly against the insurer. Id. at 314. Gold Medal has not sustained its burden of proving that its interpretation of the exclusion is the only reasonable one. Thus, this exclusion will not operate to deny coverage.

Faulty Materials

Gold Medal also claims that the district court erred in deciding that the exclusion against faulty materials did not preclude coverage. This exclusion is as follows:

Unless endorsed hereon, this policy does not insure against loss or damage caused by or resulting from any of the following regardless of any other cause or event contributing concurrently or in any other sequence to the loss:
D. Errors in design, faulty workmanship or faulty materials, unless a loss from a peril not otherwise excluded ensues and then only for the loss or damage caused by the ensuing peril.

(Emphasis added.)

The court concluded that this exclusion, by its grouping with “design” and “faulty workmanship” refers to materials for construction of property, rather than to raw stock for making cereal products. This is a permissible interpretation; courts *154 often look at the greater context or purpose of a clause in order to determine its meaning. Henning Nelson Const. Co. v. Fireman’s Fund Am. Life Ins. Co., 361 N.W.2d 446, 450 (Minn.App. 1985) (exclusion for earth movement applies only to natural disasters when included in provision with earthquakes, volcanic eruption, and landslide), aff'd as modified, 383 N.W.2d 645 (Minn. 1986).

Gold Medal bears the burden of proving the applicability of this exclusion. See SCSC, 536 N.W.2d at 313-14. The district court did not clearly err in finding that this exclusion was not applicable.

III. Other Insurance

Gold Medal appeals from the district court’s ruling dismissing its setoff claim against the National Union policy. The referee and district court concluded that the National Union policy, a malicious product tampering policy, did not afford coverage under New York law, 2 because New York law requires actual malice. The district court found that Roggy’s conduct constituted ordinary, not actual malice. Because this would not trigger coverage, no setoff was due to Gold Medal. 3

Gold Medal’s setoff claim is premised on the following clause from the all-risk policy:

This policy shall not cover to the extent of any other insurance whether prior or subsequent hereto in date, and by whomsoever effected, directly or indirectly covering the same property against the same perils and this Company shall be liable for loss or damage only for the excess value beyond the amount due from such other insurance, subject to the limits of this policy.

The National Union policy contains much the same language:

The insurance provided under this policy will be excess over any other coverage provided under any other valid bond or insurance applicable in whole or in part to any Loss under this policy.

The primary issue, then, is whether there is coverage under the National Union policy, an issue that the district court answered in the negative. The operative language of the National Union policy states:

MALICIOUS PRODUCT TAMPERING is any actual, alleged or threatened, intentional, malicious, and wrongful alteration or contamination of the Insured’s Product(s), whether or not by an employee of the Insured, so as to render it unfit or dangerous for use or consumption or to create such impression to the public.

Finding no New York decisions specifically dealing with malicious product tampering insurance, the court concluded that, based on New York property insurance cases, “malicious mischief’ requires actual, not ordinary, malice. The district court here found that Roggy’s actions were ordinarily malicious; thus, there was no coverage.

Actual malice, as opposed to ordinary malice, requires a subjective intent to injure the policyholder. See Fanberg Realty Corp. v. Travelers Cos., 117 A.D.2d 582, 498 N.Y.S.2d 53 (N.Y.App.Div. 1986); Romanych v. Liverpool & London & Globe Ins. Co., 8 Misc.2d 269, 167 N.Y.S.2d 398 (N.Y.Sup.Ct. 1957). The difference between actual and ordinary malice is well-defined in a case analyzing Minnesota law, which is similar to New York law:

Malice alone contemplates an intentional act undertaken with the knowledge that is wrongful, while actual malice adds the desire to injure another or, as discussed below, an affirmative disregard of the known harm accruing to others as a result of the intentional act.

U.S. Fire Ins. Co. v. Beltmann North Am. Co., Inc., 883 F.2d 564, 566 (7th Cir. 1989).

*155 After taking testimony from Roggy, the district court concluded that he acted with ordinary malice. This conclusion is based on the fact that although he knew it was wrong to substitute Dursban, he assumed that the substitution would never be discovered and that no one would be harmed by his action. In the absence of a desire to injure the policyholder, General Mills, the court held that Roggy lacked the actual malice to trigger coverage under the National Union policy.

The policy language requires “intentional, malicious and wrongful” tampering in order to trigger coverage. This language goes beyond the mere commission of a wrongful act; it includes the concept of intending'to harm, which is within the definition of actual malice. The district court did not err in concluding that there was no coverage and thus no setoff under the National union policy.

DECISION

The district court did not err in finding a direct physical loss under the policy. The loss of the function of the insured property, General Mills’s ability to sell products for consumption within the regulatory framework calculated to guarantee safe consumption, is sufficient to prove a direct physical loss under the policy language. Gold Medal has the burden of proving application of exclusions from coverage. Where an exclusion is ambiguous, Gold Medal has not sustained that burden; thus, the district court did not err in concluding that the exclusions from coverage for contamination and faulty materials were not applicable. In order to have a setoff against other insurance, Gold Medal must demonstrate coverage under the other policy, which it has failed to do. The district court’s conclusion in this issue is not erroneous.

Affirmed.

1

. The problem was eventually traced to Rog-gy, who confessed he had done it as a cost-saving measure. He eventually pled guilty to adulteration of food and served a jail sentence.

2

. The parties agree that New York is the proper forum for interpretation of the National Union policy, under its choice of law clause.

3

. General Mills did recover $17.5 million from National Union through a settlement agreement; there was no admission of coverage.

This page includes AI-generated summaries and analysis based on the full opinion text and citing cases. We believe the summaries are accurate, but you should always verify the holdings, quotes, and treatment data against the original opinion before relying on them in legal proceedings.

Case-law data current through September 30, 2026. Source: CourtListener bulk data.