Squires v. Robert Marini Builders, Inc.
Cases that cite this one
33 later published cases cite this decision. The 25 that cite it most often are listed here.
- Netherlands Insurance Co. v. United Specialty Insurance Co. (District Court, S.D. New York 2017)
- VermontMutualInsuranceCompany,Inc.vMoweryConstruction,Inc. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2014)
- Vermont Mutual Insurance v. Mowery Construction, Inc. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2014)
- Vermont Mutual Insurance v. Mowery Construction, Inc. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2014)
- Jewish Community Center v. Trumbull Insurance (District Court, E.D. New York 2013)
- Miranda v. Norstar Building Corp. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2010)
- Scott Hammersmith v. Tig Insurance Company (w.d. Of Pa. Civil Nos. 02-Cv-01829 & 03-Cv-01333) (3d Cir. 2007)
- City Univ. of N.Y. v. Utica First Ins. Co. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2022)
- City Univ. of N.Y. v. Utica First Ins. Co. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2022)
- Randall v. Time Warner Cable, Inc. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2011)
- Gatto v. Clifton Park Senior Living, LLC (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2011)
- Deshields v. Carey (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2010)
- Crocodile Bar, Inc. v. Dryden Mutual Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2009)
- Yost v. Quartararo (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2009)
- Morath v. New York Central Mutual Fire Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2008)
- McKeighan v. Vassar College (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2008)
- Hammersmith v. TIG Ins Co (3d Cir. 2007)
- Argueta v. Pomona Panorama Estates, Ltd. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2007)
- Dowling v. McCloskey Community Services Corp. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2007)
- Those Certain Underwriters at Lloyds v. Gray (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2007)
- Danna Construction Corp. v. Utica First Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2005)
- Bovis Lend Lease LMB, Inc. v. Royal Surplus Lines Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2005)
- Morin v. Machnick Builders, Ltd. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2004)
- Turner v. Sano-Rubin Construction Co. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2004)
- A. Servidone, Inc. v. Commercial Underwriter's Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2004)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
Appeal from an order of the Supreme Court (Teresi, J.), entered July 31, 2001 in Albany County, which, inter alia, granted plaintiffs motion for partial summary judgment on the issue of liability under Labor Law § 240 (1).
Plaintiff, a carpenter for subcontractor and third-party defendant Thomas Davin, commenced this action against defendant, the general contractor, to recover for injuries sustained when the extension ladder on which plaintiff was standing collapsed, causing him to fall approximately 20 feet to the ground. Davin’s contract with defendant included his agreement to indemnify defendant for losses or injuries resulting from the acts or omissions of his employees, and required him to maintain a $1,000,000 contractual liability insurance policy naming defendant as an additional insured. In his complaint against defendant, plaintiff alleged negligence and liability under Labor Law §§ 200, 240, 241 and 241-a. Defendant forwarded the complaint to Davin’s insurer, third-party defendant Utica First Insurance Company, which disclaimed coverage first as to defendant and later as to Davin based on policy provisions excluding injuries sustained by an insured’s employees and liability assumed by an insured under a contract. Defendant then commenced a third-party action against Davin and Utica First asserting claims against Davin for indemnification and breach of the contract to obtain insurance, and seeking a declaration requiring Utica First to provide coverage and a defense of plaintiffs claims. Upon the parties’ various motions, Supreme Court granted partial summary judgment to plaintiff on his Labor Law § 240 (1) claim, denied defendant’s cross motion for indemnification, granted summary judgment to Utica First declaring that Davin’s policy excluded plaintiffs claims, and denied Davin’s cross motion for dismissal of defendant’s third-party claim. Defendant appeals.
As for plaintiffs Labor Law § 240 (1) claim, we have repeatedly held that the question of whether an elevation-related
Supreme Court’s denial of defendant’s motion for a conditional judgment of indemnification against Davin also was proper, as such a judgment is premature when there are outstanding issues of fact regarding the negligence of the indemnitee (see, State of New York v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co., 280 AD2d 756, 757-758; Potter v M.A. Bongiovanni, Inc., 271 AD2d 918, 919). Here, defendant’s project manager, Michael Marini, testified that he visited the job site daily and that his responsibilities included monitoring safety issues at the site. Plaintiff and Davin also assert that defendant had actual or constructive notice that the ladder was not properly secured because the ladder was already in position when Marini arrived on the job site on the morning of plaintiffs fall. Since defendant may have had an opportunity to observe and correct the unsafe practice, we agree that there are triable issues of fact regarding defendant’s negligence (see, Rizzuto v Wenger Contr. Co., 91 NY2d 343, 352; Cole v Rappazzo Elec. Co., 267 AD2d 735, 736).
Next, defendant argues that Utica First cannot rely on the two policy exclusions cited in its disclaimers of coverage because those disclaimers were untimely. We must agree. Although Utica First contends that no timely disclaimer was required because plaintiffs claim falls outside the scope of the policy’s coverage, it overlooks the well-recognized distinction “between the denial of a claim based upon an exclusion from
Our review of the record leads to the conclusion that here, as a matter of law, notice of the disclaimer was required, but not timely given. Utica First was informed of the existence and nature of plaintiffs claim on March 22, 2000 when it received a letter from defendant’s insurer accompanied by copies of plaintiffs complaint and Bavin’s subcontract. On May 3, 2000, Utica First sent a letter to defendant, with a copy to Bavin, disclaiming coverage based on two specified policy exclusions. Bespite Utica First’s allegation that this notice was timely because of its need to investigate the claim before disclaiming, it is clear that the information required to decide whether or not to deny coverage was plaintiffs status as an employee of Bavin and Bavin’s subcontract with defendant. Plaintiffs complaint and Bavin’s subcontract unambiguously provided this information. Significantly, Utica First does not allege that it had any reason to doubt the allegations of plaintiffs complaint. As a result, Utica First had the information necessary to immediately determine whether one or more of the policy exclusions applied, and the record does not support the claim that its 42-day delay in disclaiming was reasonable (see, Kokonis v Hanover Ins. Co., 279 AD2d 868, 870; North Country Ins. Co. v Tucker, 273 AD2d 683, 684; Mohawk Minden Ins. Co. v Ferry, 251 AD2d 846, 848; compare, Crowningshield v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 255 AD2d 813, 815; State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Clift, 249 AD2d 800, 802). As the disclaimer was untimely, Supreme Court erred in granting Utica First’s motion and denying defendant’s cross motion.
Having concluded that Utica First should be precluded from denying coverage of plaintiffs claim based on its policy exclusions, we need not consider defendant’s alternate argument that Supreme Court also erred in failing to find that Bavin breached his subcontract by neglecting to obtain the prescribed contractual liability insurance.
Mercure, J.P., Crew III, Mugglin and Lahtinen, JJ., concur. Ordered that the order is modified, on the law, without costs, by reversing so much thereof as granted the motion of third-party defendant Utica First Insurance Company for summary judgment and denied defendant’s cross motion for summary
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.