Claim of Jones v. HSBC
Cases that cite this one
19 later published cases cite this decision.
- Claim of Hantz v. Brightman Agency (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2006)
- Claim of Bates v. Finger Lakes Truck Rental (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2007)
- Claim of Gregorec v. Brenners Furniture Co. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2009)
- Claim of Cook v. Staffing (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2006)
- Claim of Stanford v. Lewis County Opportunities (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2006)
- Claim of Mackey v. Roofing (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2005)
- Claim of Carubia v. Colt Industries (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2004)
- Claim of Buffum v. Syracuse University (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2004)
- Matter of Elijah X. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2019)
- Matter of Williams v. General Electric (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2017)
- Claim of Mucci v. New York State Department of Corrections (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2012)
- Claim of Mucci v. New York State Department of Corrections (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2012)
- Claim of Rodriguez v. Greenfield Die Casting (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2008)
- Claim of Washburn v. Bob Hooey Construction Co. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2007)
- Claim of Phillips v. Plainville Turkey Farms, Inc. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2007)
- Claim of Jones v. Gardner Motors (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2007)
- Claim of Granberry v. JCCA Edenwald, Inc. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2006)
- Claim of Stevens v. MMR Corp. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2004)
- Ransier v. Auburn Memorial Hospital (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2003)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
Appeal from a decision of the Workers’ Compensation Board, filed July 17, 2001, which directed that the award of workers’ compensation benefits be paid by the Special Fund for Reopened Cases.
In September 1991, claimant sought treatment for right hand and wrist pain developed through repetitive keyboarding during her employment as an accounts clerk for Marine Midland Bank (hereinafter the employer). The employer’s workers’ compensation carrier accepted the claim. Claimant was diagnosed with carpal tunnel syndrome of the right hand, which was treated with splints and ibuprofen. The Workers’ Compensation Board established her claim as an occupational
From 1995 until September 22, 1998, claimant continued to follow up with physicians for her wrist pain. Throughout this time, although she raised concerns over pain in both wrists, hands, thumbs, elbows and shoulders, no new diagnoses were made and the treatment regimen remained the same. By letter dated July 17, 1998, apparently mailed on September 16, 1998, and filed by the Board on September 18, 1998, the carrier notified the Board that the Special Fund for Reopened Cases (hereinafter Fund) was responsible for any further medical payments, pursuant to Workers’ Compensation Law § 25-a. On September 22, 1998, claimant reported increased pain, swelling on both wrists and a cyst on the left side. This information, as determined by her physician, led to several bilateral diagnoses related to a repetitive motion disorder which resulted from performing her job duties.
In October 1998, claimant filed a new claim for compensation relating to her left wrist, hand and forearm. At a hearing held on May 17, 2000, at which a representative of the Fund was present, the Board modified the original claim to include claimant’s left hand, both elbows and both thumbs. The applicability of Workers’ Compensation Law § 25-a was held in abeyance. No appeal was filed from that decision. After a hearing held on February 14, 2001, the Administrative Law Judge held that Workers’ Compensation Law § 25-a applied, requiring the Fund to cover all treatment that occurred after September 11, 1998. The Fund now appeals from the Board’s affirmance of that decision. Since we find that the Board’s determination is supported by substantial evidence, we affirm.
Workers’ Compensation Law § 25-a (1) provides that the Fund must cover any payments if a case is reopened more than seven years following the injury and three years following the last payment of compensation. The Fund first contends that
The Fund next contends that claimant’s case was reopened. Payment for medical treatment does not constitute payment of compensation for purposes of determining the time periods under Workers’ Compensation Law § 25-a (see Matter of Casey v Hinkle Iron Works, supra at 386; Matter of McQueen v New York State Div. of Parole, 245 AD2d 851, 852 [1997], lv denied 92 NY2d 802 [1998]). Subsequent to September 7, 1995, the carrier paid for medical treatment consisting of follow-up appointments regarding claimant’s established case, which would not reopen the case.
A medical report may be deemed an application to reopen if the report gives the Board sufficient notice of a change in a claimant’s condition, as opposed to simply indicating continued disability and treatment (see Matter of Davis v Madden Constr. Co., 295 AD2d 826, 827 [2002]; Matter of Sartwell v Hercules, Inc., 262 AD2d 766, 767 [1999]; Matter of Loiacono v Sears, Roebuck & Co., 230 AD2d 351, 354 [1997]). Reports should not be given a strained interpretation, but should only be interpreted as a basis to reopen if that was clearly the doctor’s intention (see Matter of Loiacono v Sears, Roebuck & Co., supra at 354; Matter of Tripoli v Crucible Steel Co. of Am., 12 AD2d 425, 427 [1961], affd 10 NY2d 877 [1961]). Claimant’s medical
The Fund’s remaining arguments are unpersuasive. The Board did not file the request to reopen until after September 11, 1998, after the requisite Workers’ Compensation Law § 25-a time periods had elapsed. Despite the Board’s brevity, we find that it provided enough factual basis to support its decision (see Matter of Foos v Bausch & Lomb, 181 AD2d 951, 953 [1992]).
Mercure, J.P., Crew III, Spain and Rose, JJ., concur. Ordered that the decision is affirmed, without costs.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.