Gershow Recycling Corp. v. Transcontinental Insurance
Cases that cite this one
24 later published cases cite this decision.
- Travelers Indemnity Co. v. Northrop Grumman Corp. (2d Cir. 2017)
- First Mercury Insurance v. 613 N.Y. Inc. (2d Cir. 2015)
- Strauss Painting, Inc. v. Mt. Hawley Insurance Company (N.Y. 2014)
- Cambridge Realty Co. v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance (2d Cir. 2011)
- U.S. Underwriters Insurance v. Landau (District Court, E.D. New York 2010)
- IMC Global v. Continental Insurance (Ill. App. Ct. 2007)
- IMC Global v. Continental Insurance v. Employers Mutual Liability Insurance (Ill. App. Ct. 2007)
- In re the Arbitration between Progressive Northeastern Insurance & Heath (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2007)
- Evangelos Car Wash, Inc. v. Utica First Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2007)
- Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's London Subscribing to Policy No., PGIARK01449-05 v. Advance Tr. Co., Inc. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2020)
- Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's London Subscribing to Policy No., PGIARK01449-05 v. Advance Tr. Co., Inc. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2020)
- Lafarge Bldg. Materials Inc. v. Harleysville Ins. Co. of N.Y. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2018)
- BN PARTNERS ASSOCIATES, LL v. SELECTIVE WAY INSURANCE CO. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2017)
- BN Partners Associates, LLC v. Selective Way Insurance Co. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2017)
- BN Partners Associates, LLC v. Selective Way Insurance Co. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2017)
- Soni v. Pryor (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2016)
- Ortiz v. Fage USA Corp. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2013)
- Ortiz v. Fage USA Corp. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2013)
- Lobosco v. Best Buy, Inc. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2011)
- Prince Seating Corp. v. QBE Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2010)
- Key Bank U.S.A. v. Interboro Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2009)
- Guayara v. Hudson Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2008)
- 2130 Williamsbridge Corp. v. Interstate Indemnity Co. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2008)
- Tower Insurance v. Mike's Pipe Yard & Building Supply Corp. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2006)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
In an action for a judgment declaring that the defendant must defend and indemnify the plaintiff in an underlying action entitled Gibbs v Gershow Recycling Corp., pending in the Supreme Court, Suffolk County, under index No. 11179/01, the plaintiff appeals from a judgment of the Supreme Court, Suffolk County (Werner, J.), dated July 13, 2004, which, upon an order of the same court (Underwood, J.), dated December 6, 2003, granting the defendant’s motion for summary judgment, dismissed the complaint.
The plaintiff operates an automobile recycling business in Medford. On July 23, 1998, a fire occurred at the plaintiff’s business premises. A volunteer firefighter allegedly sustained physical injuries while fighting the fire. The plaintiff allegedly was unaware of the firefighter’s injuries. The firefighter and his wife (hereinafter the Gibbses) commenced the underlying action in April 2001 effectuating service pursuant to Business Corporation Law § 306. However, the defendant’s registered agent on file with the Secretary of State could not be located by the Post Office. Thus, the service was returned as undeliverable. The Gibbses ultimately obtained a default judgment against the plaintiff.
The plaintiff allegedly first learned of the Gibbses’ action on March 4, 2002, when it was served with a set of motion papers. The papers were immediately sent to the plaintiffs insurance broker. However, the broker sent the papers to the wrong carrier. This mistake was not discovered until August 2002. The broker thereafter sent the papers to the defendant which first received notice of the claim and the action on August 27, 2002. The defendant promptly disclaimed coverage due to late notice of the action.
When an insurance policy requires that notice of an occurrence or action be given promptly, notice must be given within a reasonable time in view of all of the facts and circumstances (see Eagle Ins. Co. v Zuckerman, 301 AD2d 493, 495 [2003]; Merchants Mut. Ins. Co. v Hoffman, 56 NY2d 799, 801-802 [1982]; Travelers Indem. Co. v Worthy, 281 AD2d 411 [2001]). “Providing an insurer with timely notice of a potential claim is a condition precedent, and thus [a]bsent a valid excuse, a failure to satisfy the notice requirement vitiates the policy’ ” (Sayed v Macari, 296 AD2d 396, 397 [2002], quoting Security Mut. Ins. Co. of N.Y. v Acker-Fitzsimons Corp., 31 NY2d 436, 440 [1972]). It is uncontroverted that the defendant insurer did not receive notice of the underlying action until five months after the plaintiff allegedly first learned of the action. This five-month delay was unreasonable as a matter of law and justified the defendant’s disclaimer (see Trepel v Asian Pac. Express Corp., 16 AD3d 405 [2005]; see Sayed v Macari, supra; Serravillo v Sterling Ins. Co., 261 AD2d 384 [1999]).
We recognize that it is a common practice for insureds to notify their brokers, rather than their carriers, in the event of a claim or lawsuit. However, we emphasize that insureds do so at their peril since the law is clear: the policy requirement that the notice must be provided to the carrier trumps any informal arrangement or practice engaged in between insureds and their brokers.
Finally, contrary to the plaintiffs contentions, the defendant’s disclaimer was effective notwithstanding that it failed to show prejudice as a result of the delay (see Argo Corp. v Greater N.Y. Mut. Ins. Co., 4 NY3d 332 [2005]).
The plaintiffs remaining contentions are without merit.
We note that since this is a declaratory judgment action, the Supreme Court should have directed the entry of a declaration in favor of the defendant (see Lanza v Wagner, 11 NY2d 317, 334 [1962], appeal dismissed 371 US 74 [1962], cert denied 371 US 901 [1962]). Cozier, J.P., S. Miller, Mastro and Rivera, JJ., concur.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.