New Amsterdam Casualty Co. v. Stecker
Cases that cite this one
52 later published cases cite this decision. The 25 that cite it most often are listed here.
- Breen v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. (Conn. 1966)
- Matter of Allstate Ins. Co.(stolarz-Njm) (N.Y. 1993)
- In re the Arbitration between Allstate Insurance & Stolarz (N.Y. 1993)
- Fleet Messenger Service, Inc. v. Life Insurance Company of North America (2d Cir. 1963)
- Osuna v. Government Employees Insurance (2d Cir. 2015)
- Jenkins v. Indemnity Insurance Co. of North America (Conn. 1964)
- Harry M. Perrin v. Daniel Pearlstein (2d Cir. 1963)
- Donna Joan Zogg v. Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company (2d Cir. 1960)
- Warner-Lambert Pharmaceutical Co. v. John J. Reynolds, Inc. (District Court, S.D. New York 1959)
- Viruet v. City of New York (New York Supreme Court 1999)
- First United Methodist Church v. City of Syracuse (New York Supreme Court 1988)
- In re Daniel C. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 1984)
- Patrolmen's Benevolent Ass'n v. City of New York (N.Y. 1976)
- Bender v. Jamaica Hospital (N.Y. 1976)
- Leighton v. NEW YORK, SUSQUEHANNA & WESTERN RAILROAD CO. (District Court, S.D. New York 1969)
- Roomy v. Allstate Insurance Company (N.C. 1962)
- Huber Baking Company v. Stroehmann Brothers Company and Quality Bakers of America Cooperative, Inc. (2d Cir. 1958)
- Expressions Hair Design v. Schneiderman (N.Y. 2018)
- In re Justin L. (NYC Family Court 2017)
- People v. Brown (Criminal Court of the City of New York 2015)
- Lighthouse Pointe Property Associates LLC v. New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2009)
- HLP Properties, LLC v. New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (New York Supreme Court 2008)
- Van Nostrand v. Froehlich (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2007)
- Nationwide Mutual Insurance v. Carlini (New York Supreme Court 2006)
- In re M.B. Mental Hygiene Legal Service (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2005)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
In this declaratory judgment action we are called upon to review the correctness of the Appellate Division determination that the plaintiff, New Amsterdam Casualty Company, which issued, in New York, an automobile liability policy to defendant, Molly Stecker, a New York resident, is not obligated (1) to defend the said insured in an action instituted against her in Connecticut by her husband, defendant Emanuel Stecker, as the result of an automobile accident occurring in that State, or (2) to pay any judgment obtained by the insured’s husband against her in such suit.
The facts are not in dispute. On July 24, 1954, Molly Stecker was driving her car in the vicinity of Willington, Connecticut, when an accident occurred. Her husband, Emanuel, a passenger in the automobile, received injuries. The husband subsequently commenced an action in the Superior Court of Connecticut to recover damages, naming his wife and the driver of the other car as codefendants. That action is presently pending in such court. Both defendants are residents of New York. At the time of the accident Molly Stecker had a policy of insurance issued by plaintiff, New Amsterdam Casualty Company, which policy was written in New York. The policy is of a type commonly
Subdivision 3 of section 167 of the New York Insurance Law provides that “ No policy or contract shall be deemed to insure against any liability of an insured because of death of or injuries to his or her spouse or because of injury to, or destruction of property of his or her spouse unless express provision relating specifically thereto is included in the policy.” (Emphasis supplied.) There is no comparable statute in Connecticut. Consequently, insurance carriers in that State are obligated to defend any negligence action brought by one spouse against another, and to pay any judgment obtained in any such action. The question presented on this appeal is whether subdivision 3 of section 167 of the New York Insurance Law excludes coverage not only of the liability between spouses arising out of accidents occurring in New York State, but also of the liability between spouses arising out of accidents occurring in any other State. This question has been answered in the negative by Special Term and in the affirmative by the Appellate Division. We are in agreement with the conclusion reached by the Appellate Division.
The defendants correctly state that the policy as issued covers the liability of the insured no matter where it attaches, be it anywhere in the United States, its territories or possessions, Canada or Newfoundland. However, our inquiry does not end there, for we must determine the extent to which the contract of insurance is affected by subdivision 3 of section 167 of the New York Insurance Law.
Defendants contend that since the accident took place in Connecticut subdivision 3 of section 167 is inapplicable. They argue that the place where the accident occurs is the place of performance and that, therefore, the law of Connecticut applies which contains no restriction on the insurer’s liability to an
The pertinent statutory language is: “No policy or contract shall be deemed to insure against any liability of an insured * * * to his or her spouse * * * unless express provision relating specifically thereto is included in the policy.” (Emphasis added.) The language employed by the Legislature is clear, succinct and unequivocal. “ Certainly, there is no
On oral argument there was some question raised concerning the effect of the view taken by the insurance company, and here adopted by us, on the requirements of the full faith and credit clause as they relate to the judgment obtained in the primary tort action. We can see no difficulty in this connection, for any judgment obtained in Connecticut by the spouse will most certainly be enforced here. Indeed, our law is the same as the law of Connecticut insofar as the existence of negligence liability between the spouses (as distinguished from an insurance carrier) is concerned. Suffice it to say that whether the carrier is liable for indemnity has no bearing on the faith and credit to be accorded the foreign judgment in the primary tort action. That judgment decides only the question of the liability of one spouse to the other in tort, not of the liability of the insurer to the one insured in contract.
The judgment of the Appellate Division should be affirmed, with costs.
Desmond, Dye, Fuld, Froessel, Van Voorhis and Burke, JJ., concur.
Judgment affirmed.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.