Pecker Iron Works of New York, Inc. v. Traveler's Insurance
Cases that cite this one
63 later published cases cite this decision. The 25 that cite it most often are listed here.
- Gilbane Bldg. Co./TDX Constr. Corp. v. St. Paul Fire & Mar. Ins. Co. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2016)
- BP Air Conditioning Corp. v. One Beacon Insurance Group (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2006)
- Buck v. Horseheads Industrial Capital Management, II, LLC (District Court, W.D. New York 2005)
- United States Liability Ins. v. Mountain Valley Indemnity Co. (District Court, S.D. New York 2005)
- Certain Underwriters v. Illinois National Insurance (District Court, S.D. New York 2015)
- Gilbane Bldg. Co./TDX Constr. Corp. v. St. Paul Fire & Mar. Ins. Co. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2016)
- United Parcel Service v. Lexington Insurance Group (District Court, S.D. New York 2013)
- Liberty Mutual Insurance v. Harco National Insurance (United States District Court for the District of Connecticut 2013)
- Briarwoods Farm, Inc. v. Central Mutual Insurance Co. (New York Supreme Court 2008)
- Mecca Contracting, Inc. v. Scottsdale Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2016)
- Town Plaza of Poughquag, LLC v. Hartford Insurance (District Court, S.D. New York 2016)
- Wausau Underwriters Insurance v. Old Republic General Insurance (District Court, S.D. New York 2015)
- Endurance American Specialty Insurance v. Century Surety Co. (District Court, S.D. New York 2014)
- Bovis Lend Lease LMB, Inc. v. Great American Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2008)
- Jordan v. Can You Imagine, Inc. (District Court, S.D. New York 2007)
- The Travelers Indemnity Company of Connecticut v. Selective Fire and Casualty Insurance Company (District Court, S.D. New York 2023)
- Great Lakes Insurance SE v. Lassiter (United States District Court for the Southern District of Florida 2022)
- Travelers Property Casualty Company of America v. Wesco Insurance Company (District Court, S.D. New York 2022)
- East 51st Street Crane Collapse Litigation v. Lincoln General Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2012)
- United States Fire Insurance v. Knoller Companies, Inc. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2011)
- William Floyd School District v. Maxner (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2009)
- Harleysville Insurance v. Travelers Insurance (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2007)
- Travelers Indem. Co. of Am. v. Southwest Mar. & Gen. Ins. Co. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2026)
- AIX Specialty Ins. Co. v. Steel Fab NY, Inc. (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2026)
- Wesco Ins. Co., Inc. v. Kookmin Best Ins. Co. Ltd (Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York 2025)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion
OPINION OF THE COURT
This case involves the relative obligations of two liability insurance carriers covering the same risk. The outcome turns on whether the insurance policy in question extends primary or merely excess coverage to “additional insureds.” We conclude that the policy provides primary coverage, and therefore affirm the order of the Appellate Division.
At the time of the injury giving rise to the present dispute, Pecker Iron Works engaged Upfront Enterprises to provide labor, materials and equipment for a construction project under the supervision of a general contractor. As a subcontractor, Upfront agreed “to furnish [Pecker] with Certificates of Insurance for Liability and Workers Compensation and name Pecker * * * as an additional insured.” Upfront’s insurance contract *393 with the Travelers Indemnity Company of Connecticut * —the policy at issue — provided Upfront with primary coverage, and also covered such “additional insureds” as Upfront would designate in a written contract. Another provision of the policy provided that for those “additional insureds,” coverage would only be excess, unless Upfront “ha[d] agreed in a written contract for this insurance to apply on a primary or contributory basis.”
An Upfront worker was injured at the site and sued the general contractor and the owner of the property (see Jansen v C. Raimondo & Son Constr. Corp., 293 AD2d 574 [2002]). They in turn impleaded Pecker, who then sought a judgment declaring that Travelers was obligated to provide primary coverage for any liability resulting from the accident. Pecker based its claim on its contract with Upfront and on Upfront’s policy with Travelers.
Supreme Court granted Travelers’ motion to dismiss, concluding that, by its terms, the Travelers policy provided only excess coverage in the absence of a written, express designation of primary coverage and that the Upfront-Pecker contract contained no such written designation. The Appellate Division reversed, holding that there was no indication in the Pecker-Upfront agreement that as an “additional insured” Pecker would receive only excess, as opposed to primary, coverage. The Court thus determined that coverage for “additional insureds” was primary coverage unless unambiguously stated otherwise. We agree, and affirm.
Pecker’s claim against Travelers arises from its status as an “additional insured” under the policy, so we begin with that document. It is undisputed that Travelers provided Upfront with primary coverage and that Upfront agreed to make Pecker an additional insured. “Additional insured” is a recognized term in insurance contracts, with an understanding crucial to our conclusion in this case. As cases have recognized, the “well-understood meaning” of the term is “an ‘entity enjoying the same protection as the named insured’ ” (Del Bello v General Acc. Ins. Co., 185 AD2d 691, 692 [1992], quoting Rubin, Dictionary of Insurance Terms 7 [Barron’s 1987]; see also Jefferson Ins. Co. v Travelers Indem. Co., 92 NY2d 363, 372 [1998]; Wong v New York Times Co., 297 AD2d 544, 547 [2002]).
When Pecker engaged Upfront as a subcontractor and in writing provided that Upfront would name Pecker as an ad *394 ditional insured, Pecker signified, and Upfront agreed, that Upfront’s carrier — not Pecker’s — would provide Pecker with primary coverage on the risk. Pursuant to the policy provision at issue, Travelers agreed to provide primary insurance to any party with whom Upfront had contracted in writing for insurance to apply on a primary basis. When Upfront agreed to it, the policy provision was satisfied.
Accordingly, the order of the Appellate Division should be affirmed, with costs.
Chief Judge Kaye and Judges Smith, Ciparick, Wesley, Graffeo and Read concur.
Order affirmed, with costs.
Sued incorrectly as “Traveler’s Insurance Company.”
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.