Wears v. Motorists Mut. Ins. Co., Unpublished Decision (12-15-2004)
Cases that cite this one
2 later published cases cite this decision.
- Wears v. Motorists Mutual, Unpublished Decision (2-2-2005) (Ohio Ct. App. 2005)
- Wears v. Motorists Mut. Ins. (Ohio 2005)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
{¶ 3} Appellate courts review the grant of summary judgment de novo, applying the same standard used by the trial court.Grafton v. Ohio Edison Co. (1996),
"(1) No genuine issue as to any material fact remains to be litigated; (2) the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law; and (3) it appears from the evidence that reasonable minds can come to but one conclusion, and viewing such evidence most strongly in favor of the party against whom the motion for summary judgment is made, that conclusion is adverse to that party." Temple v. Wean United, Inc. (1977),
{¶ 4} The party seeking summary judgment initially bears the burden of informing the trial court of the basis for the motion and identifying portions of the record demonstrating an absence of genuine issues of material fact as to the essential elements of the nonmoving party's claims. Dresher v. Burt (1996),
{¶ 5} Specifically, the moving party must support the motion by pointing to some evidence in the record of the type listed in Civ.R. 56(C). Dresher,
{¶ 6} In its sole assignment of error, appellant argues that the trial court erred in granting summary judgment in favor of appellees on their claim that they were entitled to UM/UIM motorist coverage in the amount of $250,000.00 per person /$500,000.00 per accident. The insurance policy at issue was effective from March 31, 2001. The collision which is the basis of appellees' claim occurred on August 11, 2001. The law applicable to the claim was that in effect on the date of the accident. Appellant argues that the extrinsic evidence it presented showed that appellees effectively rejected UM/UIM coverage in that amount.1 Appellant claims that appellees accepted UM/UIM coverage in the reduced amount of $15,000.00 per person/$30,000.00 per accident.
{¶ 7} Appellant contends that H.B. 261, which amended R.C.
{¶ 8} The issue of whether an effective rejection is made arises out of an Ohio Supreme Court case, Linko v. Indemn. Ins.Co. of N. Am. (2000),
{¶ 9} Rejections of offers for UM/UIM coverage must likewise be in writing. Linko at 450. The Ohio Supreme Court held that the four corners of the insurance contract control in determining whether an effective rejection was made. Id. The court also held that extrinsic evidence is not admissible. Id. The court inLinko, however, was analyzing a prior version of R.C.
{¶ 10} Effective September 3, 1997, H.B. 261 revised R.C.
{¶ 11} Appellant admits that the Kemper court did not specifically address whether extrinsic evidence is admissible to prove rejection. Appellant argues that the Kemper court implied that such evidence might be admissible because the certified question regarding rejections included the proviso "where there is no other evidence, oral or documentary, of an offer of coverage." Appellant argues that this part of the question opens the door for courts to consider extrinsic evidence in determining rejections.
{¶ 12} Appellant contends there is a conflict among the districts regarding whether extrinsic evidence can be admitted. The Ohio Supreme Court has granted certiorari in the case ofHollon v. Clary,
{¶ 13} Until the Ohio Supreme Court decides this issue, this Court finds that extrinsic evidence is still not admissible under the 1997 amendments. We have already found that the court inKemper still applied Linko's requirements for offers after the amendments. In Reppl v. Jones (May 7, 2003), 9th Dist. No. 21299, 2003-Ohio-2350, reversed on other grounds,
{¶ 14} The insurance company argued that the 1997 amendments created a presumption that the signed rejection form had validly offered plaintiff UIM coverage and that plaintiff had rejected it. This Court found that argument unpersuasive. Reppl at ¶ 44. We held that, despite the 1997 amendments to R.C.
{¶ 15} The facts in Reppl are similar to the facts in this case. The insurance application here rejecting coverage does not meet the Linko requirements for a valid offer.5 TheKemper court held that a rejection form, by itself, does not constitute a valid Linko offer. Kemper at paragraphs 3 and 4. Yet, despite the fact that no offer has been validly made, appellant wishes this Court to consider whether appellees have rejected coverage based on the same rejection contained in the application. The court in Kemper prohibits us from doing so. The court in Kemper held that a signed rejection form is not effective in the absence of a Linko offer. Id. Because appellant has made a Linko-deficient offer, appellees' signed rejection is not effective either.
{¶ 16} This Court acknowledges that a few decisions have admitted extrinsic evidence, but the majority of the appellate courts considering the issue have found that such evidence is not admissible. Shindollar v. Erie Ins. Co.,
{¶ 17} Nothing in the amendments themselves cause this Court to believe that the Ohio legislature wishes to have courts consider extrinsic evidence in determining whether a rejection of UM/UIM coverage is effective. The legislative intent expressed inGyori has not changed. In that case, the Ohio Supreme Court refused to admit extrinsic evidence to "prevent needless litigation about whether the insurance company offered UM coverage." Gyori,
{¶ 18} This case presents such a case. Clearly, appellant did not properly proffer UM/UIM coverage without considering extrinsic evidence. The Ohio Supreme Court in Gyori prevents a court from considering such extrinsic evidence in determining whether a valid Linko offer has been made. As such, the trial court properly found that appellees were entitled to UM/UIM coverage arising under operation of law in the same amount as that contained in their liability policy.
Judgment affirmed
The Court finds that there were reasonable grounds for this appeal.
We order that a special mandate issue out of this Court, directing the Court of Common Pleas, County of Summit, State of Ohio, to carry this judgment into execution. A certified copy of this journal entry shall constitute the mandate, pursuant to App.R. 27.
Immediately upon the filing hereof, this document shall constitute the journal entry of judgment, and it shall be file stamped by the Clerk of the Court of Appeals at which time the period for review shall begin to run. App.R. 22(E). The Clerk of the Court of Appeals is instructed to mail a notice of entry of this judgment to the parties and to make a notation of the mailing in the docket, pursuant to App.R. 30.
Costs taxed to Appellant.
Exceptions.
Whitmore, J., Boyle, J., concur.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.