Graham v. German American Insurance
Opinion of the Court
These cases have been the subject of unusual and protracted consideration, not only on account of the intrinsic importance of the questions involved, but also because there is a divergence of views in the lower courts, and a variance between two reported decisions of this court. As an introduction to what we have to say now, it is also proper, if not really necessary, to direct attention to the fact that all of the policies now under review, the policy in Grand Rapids Ins. Co. v. Finn, 60 Ohio St., 513, and all of the policies in Phoenix Ins. Co. et al. v. Carnahan, 63 Ohio St., 258, except that of the Phoenix Insurance Company of Brooklyn, are substantially the same, in most cases identical, so far as they relate to the questions now before the court; and that the only material difference in the excepted policy is in the absence therefrom of the clause “including an award by the appraisers when appraisal has been required,” a difference which, in the view which we take of the meaning and effect of that clause, is of no consequence.
In several reported cases, not “in numerous cases and supported by the great weight of authority,” it has been assumed, rather than demonstrated by a proper course oí reasoning, that the
The contrary view" is supported by several courts of high standing in carefully considered and well-reasoned opinions, which will be cited further on. It also logically results from the ruling in Ins. Co. v. Carnahan, supra, upon like policies, although in those cases there had been a demand for appraisal, by the insurers, that the condition as to arbitration or appraisement is a condition precedent and to entitle the insured to maintain-an "action to recover under the policy, he must show that he has either performed the condition or has a legal excuse for non-performance thereof. To statie it in another form, in case of a disagreement between the insurer and the insured as to the amount of the loss, the contract gives to the insured no right of action upon the policy, but only the right to enforce an award, unless the insurer has waived the condition by refusal to proceed under it, when requested, or otherwise. Carroll v. Girard Fire Ins. Co., 72 Cal., 297.
The supreme court of the United States, in Hamilton v. Home Ins. Co. of N. Y., 137 U. S., 370, held that “if a contract of insurance provides that no action upon it shall be maintained until
] t is again provided: “In the event of disagreement as to the amount of loss, the same shall, as above provided, be ascertained by two competent and disinterested appraisers,” etc., * * * “and' the loss shall not become payable until sixty days after the notice, ascertainment, estimate and satisfactory proof of the loss herein required have been received by the company.” At this point these stipulations seem to be complete, and, except for a slight but very important ambiguity, perfectly clear. Possibly the word “ascertainment” might have been referred to, and claimed to be confined to, the ascertainment of the loss and damage, by the insurer and the insured, when there is no dispute, as provided in the first condition which we have quoted; and therefore for greater certainty this clause is added, “including an award by appraisers when appraisal has been required.” It is true that the word “required” may mean “requested” or “demanded”; but it may also mean “made necessary” or “made an essential condi
When is an appraisal required or “made necessary” ex vi termini within this contract?
An award is not called for or required by this agreement in every case, because in many cases, doubtless in most- cases, there may be no dispute over the loss; but by the express agreement of the parties, in the strongest terms, it is required “if they differ” and “in the event of a disagreement.” By the terms of the contract it is provided that, in case of disagreement, the loss does not become payable unless an appraisal has taken place; the “policy is made and accepted subject to the foregoing stipulations and conditions,” one of which is that “no suit or action, on the policy shall be sustainable * * * until after full compliance by the insured with all the
In a given state of circumstances, these policies plainly and definitely make the obtaining of an award, or at least an attempt in good faith to obtain an award, a condition precedent to a right of action on the policy; and it is elementary that the obligation of taking the initiative, or of showing an excuse for not doing so, is upon the party who has the affirmative in the action. “Where the parties, in their contract, fix on a certain mode by which the amount to be paid shall be ascertained, as in the present case, the party that seeks an enforcement of the agreement must show that he has done everything on his part which could be done to carry it into effect. He can not compel the payment of the amount claimed, unless he shall procure the kind of evidence required by the contract or show that by time or accident he is unable to do so” (United States v. Robeson, 34 U. S., 319, 327; see, also, 4 Encyc. Pl. & Prac., 632; 5 Ibid, 368; 1 Cyc., 692). So that, from all the foregoing considerations, our conclusion is that the clause, “including an award when appraisal has been required,” is very far from meaning “when appraisal has been requested by the insurer
Yet, by the construction which is urged upon us now, and which has been onc'e adopted by this court, a condition precedent which has been so clearly "expressed, is declared to-be no- condition precedent; and it is not available to the insurer even as a collateral condition unless upon its own
Having the strong convictions as to the proper construction and legal effect of these policies, which we have endeavored to concisely express above, we are of the opinion that the former ruling of this court in Grand Rapids Ins. Co. v. Finn, 60 Ohio St., 513, was wrong and the same is now expressly overruled.
It follows that the judgment of the circuit court of Stark county should be, and it is, Affirmed; and that the judgments of the circuit court and court of common pleas in the cases from Wood county and Cuyahoga county, respectively, should be, and they are, accordingly Reversed and judgment will be rendered in both of said cases for the plaintiff in error. '
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.