Warder v. Horton
Opinion of the Court
This was an action on a policy of insurance on goods valued at 3000 dollars, the cargo of the ship Charlotta, on a voyage from Liverpool to Philadelphia, warranted American property. Warder, the defendant below, who is plaintiff in error, underwrote the policy for 500 dollars. The case comes before us on a bill of exceptions, and there are three questions for decision. 1st. Whether the plaintiffs had an insurable interest in the goods. 2. Whether there was a double insurance. 3d. Whether the warranty of the property being American was complied with.
[The Chief Justice then stated the material facts.]
I consider M’Clure and Robertson as no more than the agents of Logan, Lenox and Co., and bound to obey their instructions in all respects. Consequently the property was not vested in M’Clure and Robertson, but remained in Logan, Lenox.and Co. Captain M’Call, by signing the bill of lading, acknowledged that the property was not in the plaintiffs. Indeed the plaintiffs had no right to the property either by law or equity. Logan, Lenox and Co. were under no obligation to advance their money to purchase a cargo for the plaintiffs, who were perfect strangers to them. They had a right to retain the property in themselves, until they were fully reimbursed; and that they intended to retain it, they explicitly declared in their letters, both to their agents and to the plaintiffs. Then what kind of interest had the plaintiffs? No other than what arose from the order of Logan, Lenox and Co. to deliver them the cargo on payment of a certain sum, which exceeded the cost of the cargo with all charges. Now if there had been occasion to abandon to the underwriters in Philadelphia, what would the plaintiffs have had it in their power to abandon ? Nothing at all, because *^)e abandonment made by Logan, Lenox and Co. to the English underwriters, would have carried every thing. The cases cited by the plaintiffs’ counsel, do not come up to the point. The strongest of these cases are an insurance on profits, an insurance by an agent of prizes, before the king had granted the property to the captors, and an insurance by A, who having a debt due to him from B, goods were consigned by B to his own agent C, with orders to deliver them to A in payment of the debt. As to the insurance on profits, it is to be remarked, that it was made for
2. If the plaintiffs had not an insurable interest, it was because the property was vested in some other persons, and those persons were not Americans, consequently the warranty was broken. This possibility of property can never
3. Was there a double insurance? I think not. To constitute a double insurance, the property must be twice insured on the same risk, and for the benefit of the same person. If different persons claim different interests in the same subject, each may insure his own interest, and yet the insurance is not what the law esteems double.
The house of Logan, Lenox and Co. did not insure on account of the plaintiffs but on their own account. Therefore if the plaintiffs had a separate interest, there was no reason-why they might not insure it, and recover on their own account, although Logan, Lenox and Co. had received the invoice value of the goods from the English underwriters.
I am of opinion on the whole, that the judgment should be reversed, and a venire facias de novo awarded.
I fully admit the correctness of the general legal principles laid down in the charge to the jury in the District Court; they are faithfully extracted from the books. But I cannot bring myself to agree to the application of those principles to the special circumstances of the case before the Court.
The evidence is wholly written; there is no contrariety in it. The bill of lading, which is the usual proof of property on the shipment of goods, is dated September 4th 1806. It expresses that 100 tons of stowed salt, 12 tons 3 cwt. of coals, and 20 crates of earthenware, were shipped at Liverpool by Logan, Lenox and Co. on account of M’Clure and Robertson merchants in Philadelphia. The shippers insured the goods in London on their own account, and on the 18th of October 1806, they wrote as well to M’Clure and Robertson, as to the plaintiffs below, that the goods were to be delivered to the latter on no other terms than their paying 445i. 10's. 2d. sterling to the former. The vessel sailed two days afterwards, and not having been since heard of, must have foundered at sea. *It is evident to me, that the cargo was subject to the orders of Logan, Lenox & Co. It was purchased by them with their own funds, sailed at their sole risk, and in the event which has happened, if they had not provided against it by insurance, the loss must have fallen upon themselves. Whether the plaintiffs below would ever acquire any property in the goods so shipped, depended on three contingencies, the safe arrival of the goods, their election to take them, and their actual payment of the sum stipulated. All these events must have occurred, before the legal interest in the cargo, could have vested in Horton and Cummings. The only exclusive privilege which they had, was the permission granted to them to purchase the goods at the prime costs and charges: and I cannot possibly think that they had such a legal or equitable title in those goods as the law would recognize, and confer on them an insurable interest. The intention of Logan, Lenox and Co. to preserve the absolute property, in themselves, is evidence throughout the whole transaction, and cannot be mistaken ; although in one of the minor parts, in charging the plaintiffs below with 4i. 18s. for premium of insurance, they appear to have overshot the mark.
I agree with the District Court, that there has been no double insurance in this case, for the reasons detailed in the charge. But on the remaining point, I cannot concur.
The cargo of the Charlotta was warranted to be American property, to be proved here only. The court correctly told
I am of opinion that the judgment of the District Court be reversed, and a venire facias de novo be awarded.
I am clearly of opinion that the judgment should be reversed, because the warranty was not performed, and I incline to think there was no insurable interest.
Judgment reversed.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.