Universal Automobile Insurance v. Culberson
Cases that cite this one
45 later published cases cite this decision. The 25 that cite it most often are listed here.
- Seguros Tepeyac, S.A., Compania Mexicana De Seguros Generales v. Maynard Bostrom and James L. Jernigan (5th Cir. 1965)
- Hernandez v. Great American Insurance Co. of NY (Tex. App. 1970)
- Smith v. Transit Casualty Company (District Court, E.D. Texas 1968)
- Seguros Tepeyac, S. A., Compania Mexicana De Seguros Generales v. James L. Jernigan (5th Cir. 1969)
- Lee v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company (District Court, D. Maryland 1960)
- Garcia v. American Physicians Insurance Exchange (Tex. App. 1991)
- Costley v. State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. (Tex. App. 1994)
- Insurance Co. of North America v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co. (Tex. App. 1990)
- Crabb v. National Indemnity Company (S.D. 1973)
- McGuire v. Commercial Union Insurance Co. of New York (Tex. 1968)
- Melville Harris, as Trustee in Bankruptcy of Leonard Massello and William Massello v. Standard Accident and Insurance Company (2d Cir. 1961)
- Klein v. Century Lloyds (Tex. 1955)
- Graves v. Southern Underwriters (Tex. App. 1939)
- EMPLOYERS LIABILITY ASSURANCE CORP. v. Mosley (Tex. App. 1970)
- Transit Casualty Company v. Mrs. Lorena Bates Smith, Mrs. Lorena Bates Smith v. Transit Casualty Company (5th Cir. 1969)
- Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Insurance Company v. J. D. Mitchell (8th Cir. 1963)
- William M. Mercer, Inc. v. Woods (Tex. App. 1986)
- Montfort v. Jeter (Tex. 1978)
- Hernandez v. Great American Insurance Co. of New York (Tex. 1971)
- Greenberg v. Mobil Oil Corp. (District Court, N.D. Texas 1970)
- Wooten v. Central Mutual Insurance Company (La. Ct. App. 1966)
- Jessen v. O'DANIEL (District Court, D. Montana 1962)
- Lane v. Anchor Casualty Company (Tex. App. 1962)
- Anna M. Lee v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company (4th Cir. 1961)
- Lee v. Nationwide Mutual Insurance (4th Cir. 1961)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion of the Court
On March 6, 1930, plaintiff in error, Universal Automobile Insurance Company, issued an automobile accident policy covering a car belonging to defendant in error, D. H. Culberson. The terms of this policy will be hereinafter more fully reviewed. Shortly after the policy was issued and while the car was being driven by Culberson's daughter, there was an accident in which Miss Minnie Lou Witt was injured. In a suit brought by Miss Witt against Culberson she was awarded a *Page 285
judgment for $10,536.88 and costs of suit. The various proceedings prior to the rendition of this judgment are set out in the opinion of the Court of Civil Appeals which is reported in
We do not approve the opinion of the Court of Civil Appeals in all other respects, and in view of another trial we proceed to discuss the rights of the parties under the policy of insurance; this being necessary in view of various assignments of error in petitions for writs of error by both parties.
The portion of the policy defining the primary obligation of the company as regards personal injuries to third persons by reason of the ownership of the car is in Item 6 of "Schedule of Perils and Extent of Each Coverage," and is as follows:
"The Company does hereby agree to insure the Assured named and described in the 'Schedule of Statements' herein, for the term therein specified against direct loss by reason ofliability imposed by law upon the Assured for damages by reason of the ownership or maintenance of the automobile described in Statement 6 of the 'Schedule of Statements,' and the use thereof for the purposes described in Statement 7 of the 'Schedule of Statements' (including loading and unloading thereof), to an amount not exceeding the limits hereinafter *Page 286 stated if such loss be sustained on account of Bodily injuries or death accidentally suffered or alleged to have been suffered by any person or persons (excluding any employee of the Assured suffering injuries or death while engaged in the operation, maintenance or repair of the automobile insured hereunder or while engaged in the usual course of the trade, business, profession or occupation of the Assured) as the result of an accident while this policy is in force; provided there is a specific premium charge made in writing in Item 6 of the 'Schedule of Coverage' on the preceding page. The liability of the Company under this Item 6 for loss or expense on account of an accident resulting in bodily injuries to or in the death of one person is limited to the amount named in Item 6, Section 2 of the Schedule of Perils and subject to the same limit for each person, the total liability of the Company for loss or expense on account of an accident resulting in bodily injuries to or in the death of more than one person is limited to the amount named in Item 6, Section 2 of the Schedule of Perils." (Emphasis ours.)
The amount named in Item 6 of Section 2 of the Schedule of Perils was limited to $5,000.
Item 7 pertained to damages and destruction of property.
There were further provisions more clearly defining liability and the limitations thereon, the same being contained in Subdivisions (A), (B) and (C) immediately after Items 6 and 7 above mentioned. These provisions are as follows:
"In the event that loss from the perils set forth in Item 6 and/or Item 7 is insured against hereunder, then as respects the peril or perils so insured against the limits of the Company's liability shall be:
"(A) To investigate all accidents covered by Item 6 and/or Item 7 of the 'Schedule of Coverage' of this policy and at its expense to employ attorneys to represent the Assured in all suits brought hereon, whether groundless or not; and
"(B) In event a final judgment be rendered against the Assured, to pay the same to an amount not exceeding the limits specified herein; and in addition,
"(C) To pay, irrespective of the limit of liability stated in the Policy, all costs taxed against the Assured in any such defended suit, all expenses incurred by the Company, all interest accruing after entry of judgment until the Company has paid, tendered or deposited in Court such part of such judgment as does not exceed the limit of the Company's liability thereon, also any expense incurred by the Assured for *Page 287 such immediate surgical relief as shall be imperative at the time of bodily injury."
Subdivision (Q) of "Conditions, Limitations and Agreements is as follows:
"It is understood and agreed that the Insolvency or Bankruptcy of the Assured or other persons entitled to benefit hereunder shall not release the Company from the payment of damages for injuries or loss occasioned during the life of the policy. In case execution against the Assured or such other defendants is returned unsatisfied in an action brought by the injured (or if death results from the accident by such other parties in whom the right of action vests) an action may be maintained by the injured person (or such other parties in whom the right of action vests) against the Company for the amount of the judgment of said action not exceeding the amount of the policy."
The clause with reference to cooperation on the part of the assured was Subdivision (O) of "Conditions, Limitations and Agreements," and is as follows:
"Upon the occurrence of any loss or accident covered under Section 2 of the Schedule of Perils, and irrespective of whether any injury or damage is apparent at the time, the Assured shall give immediate written notice to the Company at its Office in Dallas, Texas, or to its authorized agent, with the fullest information obtainable at the time; if a claim is made on account of any such accident the Assured shall give like notice thereof immediately after such claim is made, with full particulars; if thereafter any suit is brought against the Assured to enforce such claim, the Assured shall immediately forward to the Company or its authorized agent every summons or other process as soon as the same shall have been served; whenever requested by the Company, the Assured shall aid in effecting settlement, securing information and evidence, the attendance of witnesses and in prosecuting appeals, and at all times render all possible cooperation and assistance; the Assured shall not voluntarily assume any liability or interfere in any negotiations for settlement or in any legal proceedings or incur any expense or settle any claim, except at Assured's own cost, without the written consent of the Company previously given."
These provisions, however, do not give the assured any right to prosecute the suit in his own behalf before paying the judgment or the costs. Nor do they give him any right to sue for damages because of failure of the company to make a settlement of Miss Witt's claim. As to his alleged cause of action in that regard Culberson cannot assert same until he has paid some sum on the judgment in excess of the $5,000.00 limit in the policy; and then only to the extent of his payment.
As Miss Witt's rights rest entirely under the policy, the insurance company has a right in an action brought by her, *Page 290
as well as in an action which may be brought by Culberson, to litigate the question of failure to cooperate under the provisions of Subdivision (O) set out above. American Indemnity Company v. Martin, ante, p. 73,
If a situation should arise under which Miss Witt and Culberson might each maintain a suit, it would be proper to join their causes of action in one suit, so as to litigate the question of failure to cooperate but one time.
From what has been said it is apparent that there are several matters involved which are inseparably connected with the question of the failure of Culberson to cooperate as provided by Subdivision (O) above set out. As stated above, it is our conclusion that by Subdivisions (A), (B) and (C), construed in connection with Subdivision (Q), it was contemplated that Culberson was not to undertake the defense of any suit, or to interfere in any legal proceeding, unless requested to do so in writing, and that, therefore, the company was charged with the duty of assuming the full and complete defense of any suit and to employ its own attorneys for that purpose. On the other hand, Culberson was obligated to cooperate in several important particulars. His failure to cooperate in any one or more substantial or material particulars specified in Subdivision (O), if established, would be sufficient to destroy his right to claim indemnity under the policy. As to what are material obligations, and as to what will constitute a compliance or amount to a non-compliance with this clause, reference may be had to the very exhaustive and able annotation in 72 A. L. R., pp. 1446 to 1507. The failure, therefore, of the Insurance Company to take charge of the defense of the suit for Miss Witt against Culberson, which resulted in the judgment in question, has a direct relation to the matter of cooperation on the part of Culberson. If there was a breach of his obligations in any material or substantial particular, or any interference by him in any legal proceedings, the company's attorneys had a right to withdraw from the case. If, however, there was no failure on the part of Culberson to cooperate in any of the particulars named in the policy, and there was no substantial or material interference on his part in any legal proceedings, the company was not released from its obligation to defend the suit, and would be in the same position as if it had taken charge of the defense. *Page 291
The judgment of the Court of Civil Appeals reversing and remanding the case is affirmed.
Opinion adopted by Supreme Court October 30, 1935.
First: For the benefit of Minnie Lou Witt in the amount in excess of $5,000.00.
Second: His right to maintain the suit to the extent of $750.00 for the benefit of his attorney in defending him in the suit by Minnie Lou Witt.
Third: His right to maintain the suit for the use and benefit of the officers of the Court for the court costs.
As to the right of Culberson to maintain suit to the extent of $750.00 for the benefit of his attorneys in defending him in the suit brought by Miss Witt, we think it clear that if it be shown that there was no failure on his part to cooperate in any of the particulars named in the policy, and there was no substantial or material interference on his part in any legal proceeding, and the attorneys for the company refused to defend the suit brought by Miss Witt without a just and reasonable excuse therefor, the company would be liable for reasonable attorneys' fees incurred by Culberson in defending the suit.
As to the third inquiry, we think it would be proper for the court, rather than to sustain the plea in abatement, to permit Culberson to amend his pleading in this suit so as to more clearly show that his action for costs and attorneys' fees is brought for the benefit of the officers of the court and his attorneys.
From the foregoing, as well as what was said in the original opinion, it is clearly evident that the question of cooperation on the part of Culberson with the Insurance Company in the *Page 292 suit by Miss Witt, which resulted in the judgment in her favor, is of such importance as to justify the reversal and remanding of the case in order that the question may be thoroughly and fairly tried. The motion for rehearing is overruled.
Opinion adopted by the Supreme Court November 27, 1935.
Case-law data current through September 30, 2026. Source: CourtListener bulk data.