Ætna Life Ins. v. Smith
Opinion of the Court
after stating the case as above, delivered the opinion of the court.
The principal issue in this case which was raised by the pleadings, and concerning which there was most controversy at the trial, was whether the premiums on the two policies in suit that were due on February 16,1894, and were not paid until March 6, 1894, were paid at the latter date in pursuance of an express agreement, between the agent of the company and those who at the time were acting for the insured, that, if it transpired that the latter was not at that time in good health, the premium money so paid should be refunded to the insured, and the'premium or renewal receipts given therefor surrendered to the company. The defendant contended that the premiums were paid in pursuance of such an agreement, the insured being at the time absent from home, and his physical condition being unknown to its agent, while the plaintiff below just as strenuously insisted that the money was accepted by the defendant’s agent at Duluth unconditionally, and that such acceptance operated to renew the policies until February 16,1895, long after the insured died. This issue was fairly submitted to the jury, under appropriate instructions, of which no
^ “The agent may receive the premium, and the insurance will be revived by the delivery of this receipt within sixty days from the time when said premium became due: provided satisfactory evidence and guaranty is furnished that the person whose life was insured is in good health, and acceptable for new insurance, which guaranty shall be binding- upon the insured and beneficiaries under said policy.”
This clause on the back of the receipt does not say to the insured, as it should have done if the mere delivery and acceptance thereof were intended to bind him by a contract of guaranty, that the acceptance of the receipt by the insured should he construed as a guaranty that he was at the time in good health, and that the policy should not stand renewed unless such was the fact; but it con tains,'rather, a di
On the trial in the circuit court the -plaintiff below undertook to-show by proper evidence that while the defendant’s agents were required, by directions contained on the back of' its renewal or premium receipts, to obtain from persons whose premiums were overdue “satisfactory evidence and a guaranty” that such persons were in good health, before accepting their overdue premiums, yet that, in the actual transaction of the company’s business, its agents frequently accepted overdue premiums, and turned them over to the company, without requiring such a guaranty. In other words, the plaintiff undertook to prove that the company’s agents in the state of Minnesota were vested with an authority, to be exercised in their discretion,to accept overdue premiums without a guaranty, and that they exercised that power, doing so in the case at bar. The evidence in support of that contention, stated briefly and in substance, consisted of proof that guaranties of good health, in the case of overdue premiums, were taken on a form prescribed by the company, termed a “health certificate,” which was signed by or in behalf of the insured, and of reports of premium collections made by agents to the home office; which reports showed that, in a good many instances, premiums had' been collected after maturity without exacting such health certificates. It was conceded on the oral argument, as we understand,, that the proof in question was adequate to support the finding that the agents of the defendant company were clothed with the discretionary power above described, and no doubt can well be entertained on that point. It is insisted, however, that the trial court erred in its charge on this issue, in that it instructed the jury, in one part of' its charge, as follows: “The plaintiff is not required to show that the-
Complaint is further made by the defendant company that the trial court erred in excluding from the jury a pamphlet entitled “Instructions to Agents,” which purported to have been compiled by it in the year 1891. This pamphlet was attached to a deposition which was read in evidence by the defendant, and was offered, as we shall assume, for the purpose of showing that the printed instructions issued by the defendant to its agents did not permit them to accept overdue premiums without exacting a written certificate or guaranty of good health, signed by the insured. It may be conceded that the pamphlet had a tendency to prove that such were the company’s printed instructions, but there are several reasons, we think, why the exclusion of this pamphlet cannot be regarded as a material error. In the first place, the pamphlet contained the same directions to agents, requiring them to obtain a written guaranty of good health in case of the payment of an overdue premium, that were printed on the back of the renewal receipts- heretofore mentioned, which were already in evidence. The proof therefore was merely cumulative in its character. In the second place, two witnesses testified for the defendant, and without objection, to substantially all the facts which the printed instructions tended to establish. But a more conclusive reason why the exclusion of the pamphlet cannot be regarded as a material error is found in the fact that for the purpose of establishing that the agents of the company had power to accept overdue premiums, in their discretion, without exacting a guaranty of good health, the plaintiff relied exclusively upon proof of their actual practice in that regard, as shown by their reports to the home office, and the pamphlet had no tendency to disprove the practice in question. The defendant
There are some other alleged errors enumerated in the lengthy written argument with which we have been favored by counsel for the defendant company, but the questions of law which they present are subordinate to those heretofore discussed, and are in effect decided by what has already been said. We find no error in the record which would warrant a reversal, and the judgment below is therefore affirmed.
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.