Appeals court affirmed denial of Social Security disability benefits where claimant retained capacity to perform her past work as a receptionist.
Outcome: Affirmed for appellee.
What happened
The facts of the case, in plain language.
Sloan suffered a work-related back injury in October 1988, diagnosed as discogenic low back pain, and reached maximum medical improvement by December 1989 with fifteen percent permanent partial disability.
Sloan worked at Sam's Club from 1998 to March 2014, most recently as a phone attendant, reviewing pending customer orders, checking on stock status, answering and routing incoming calls to appropriate coworkers, printing and delivering reports for managers, walking the merchandise floor once a week, and sometimes retrieving items on the floor that could require lifts of about twenty-five pounds.
The ALJ found Sloan had severe impairments but retained residual functional capacity to perform sedentary work with limitations: she could not climb ladders, ropes, or scaffolds, could only occasionally climb ramps, stairs, balance, stoop, crouch, crawl, or kneel, and could frequently handle objects bilaterally while avoiding extreme temperatures, vibrations, pulmonary irritants, hazardous machinery, and unprotected heights.
The Dictionary of Occupational Titles defines receptionist work requiring lifting no more than ten pounds daily and walking only one hour daily, matching Sloan's primary responsibilities at Sam's Club, though she also performed some tasks consistent with stores laborer duties that were not the focus of her job.
The vocational expert testified that Sloan could not perform her job as a composite job combining receptionist and stores laborer duties but could perform receptionist work as defined in the Dictionary of Occupational Titles.
What the court decided
Tammy Sloan, injured in a work-related back accident in October 1988, applied for Social Security disability insurance and supplemental security income in July 2014, claiming disability onset of March 2014 when she left her job at Sam's Club. The ALJ found Sloan was not disabled because, despite severe impairments including degenerative disc disease and migraines, she retained residual functional capacity to perform sedentary work. Although Sloan's job as a phone attendant included tasks of a stores laborer, the court found her work was primarily receptionist duties as defined in the Dictionary of Occupational Titles and that she could still perform these duties. The Eighth Circuit affirmed the denial of benefits.
- A claimant's past work does not constitute a composite job where the additional tasks corresponding to a second DOT occupation were not the focus of the job and the claimant performed all duties of the primary DOT occupation. (p-23)
- At step four of the Social Security sequential evaluation process, the claimant bears the burden of demonstrating that she cannot perform her past relevant work, either as actually performed or as generally performed in the national economy. (p-18)
- Past work qualifies as substantial gainful activity for step-four purposes where the claimant worked predominantly in that capacity, was paid for the work, and performed significant physical or mental activities, notwithstanding occasional performance of more demanding ancillary tasks. (p-25)
- A deficiency in an ALJ's opinion-writing is not a sufficient ground for setting aside an administrative finding where the deficiency had no practical effect on the outcome of the case. (p-27)
How the court reached its decision
The court's reasoning, step by step.
Whether Sloan's past work as a phone attendant at Sam's Club constituted a composite job, requiring the ALJ to evaluate her capacity to perform that work as actually performed rather than as a receptionist as generally performed in the national economy. The DOT's receptionist description matched Sloan's primary responsibilities—managing incoming calls, routing them, and reviewing pending customer orders—and she lifted no more than ten pounds daily and walked only one hour per day. Although the vocational expert noted tasks consistent with a stores laborer (weekly floor walks, occasional item retrieval up to 25 lbs.), these were not the focus of her job, and she performed all duties of a receptionist. Sloan's prior position was not a composite job; the ALJ's conclusion that she could perform her past relevant work as a receptionist was supported by substantial evidence, notwithstanding the vocational expert's initial observation that the work 'looks like a composite job.'
Whether Sloan's performance of receptionist duties at Sam's Club constituted 'substantial gainful activity' qualifying as past relevant work at step four, given that she also occasionally performed more physically demanding tasks. Sloan worked predominantly as a receptionist, was paid for the work, and performed work plainly involving significant physical or mental activities. Her occasional floor walks and item retrievals did not diminish her work as a receptionist. Unlike the claimant in Carmickle, who constantly performed heavy labor, Sloan performed non-receptionist activities only occasionally. Substantial evidence supported the ALJ's finding that Sloan's receptionist work constituted substantial gainful activity; Carmickle was inapplicable because Sloan's additional tasks were merely occasional rather than constant and integral duties.
Whether the ALJ's failure to explicitly address whether Sloan's past work was a composite job rendered his decision insufficiently explained to permit judicial review. The ALJ stated only that his conclusion was 'based on the credible testimony of the vocational expert' without explicitly resolving the composite-job question, but the path of the agency's reasoning was clear enough to allow for appropriate judicial review. The ALJ's brief explanation did not require reversal because the opinion-writing deficiency had no practical effect on the outcome; substantial evidence on the whole record supported the finding that Sloan could perform her past relevant work as a receptionist.
Key quotes from the opinion
Notable passages from the opinion, in the court's own words.
Cases the court relied on
Earlier decisions the court cited as authority for its ruling.
Cases that cite this one
135 later published cases cite this decision. The 23 that cite it most often are listed here.
- Boyd v. Kijakazi (District Court, E.D. Missouri 2024)
- Thede-Turnmeyer v. Commissioner of Social Security (District Court, N.D. Iowa 2024)
- Malchow v. Kijakazi (D. Minn. 2022)
- Curry v. Commissioner of Social Security (United States District Court for the Southern District of Florida 2025)
- Miller v. O'Malley (District Court, E.D. Missouri 2024)
- Oudom v. Dudek (D. Minn. 2025)
- Wittrock v. Bisignano (United States District Court, Nebraska 2025)
- Catherine Bradford v. Kilolo Kijakazi (8th Cir. 2024)
- Strange v. Social Security Administration (United States District Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas 2024)
- Chara v. O'Malley (D. Minn. 2024)
- Bradford v. Social Security Administration (United States District Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas 2023)
- Biggers v. Social Security Administration (United States District Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas 2023)
- Heier v. Social Security Administration (United States District Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas 2023)
- Turner v. Social Security Administration (United States District Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas 2023)
- Walters v. Kijakazi (D. Minn. 2023)
- Campbell, Jr. v. Commissioner of Social Security (District Court, E.D. Missouri 2023)
- Strong v. Kijakazi (District Court, W.D. Missouri 2023)
- Green v. Social Security Administration (United States District Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas 2022)
- Slater v. Commissioner of Social Security (District Court, N.D. Iowa 2022)
- Veronica Grindley v. Kilolo Kijakazi (8th Cir. 2021)
- Bonneau v. Social Security Administration (United States District Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas 2021)
- Srite v. Social Security Administration (United States District Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas 2021)
- McCoy v. Social Security Administration (United States District Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas 2021)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Full opinion
The complete text of the court's opinion as published.
Opinion
Tammy Sloan appeals the judgment of the district court 1 upholding the denial of her application for Social Security disability insurance benefits and supplemental security income. We affirm.
Sloan injured her back in a work-related accident in October 1988. She eventually was diagnosed with discogenic low back pain. By December 1989, Sloan had achieved maximum medical improvement with a permanent partial disability of fifteen percent of her body as a whole.
Sloan worked at Sam's Club from 1998 to March 2014, serving in various roles from stocker to phone attendant. Most recently, as a phone attendant, Sloan reviewed pending customer orders, checked on stock status, answered incoming calls and routed them to the appropriate coworker, printed and delivered reports for her managers, and "walked the merchandise floor once a week to keep updated on new merchandise." To resolve customer requests, she "sometimes" needed to retrieve items on the floor, which could require her to lift about twenty-five pounds.
On July 3, 2014, Sloan applied for disability insurance benefits under Title II of the Social Security Act,
Applying the five-step disability evaluation process set forth in
The ALJ then considered Sloan's residual functional capacity-that is, the most that a claimant can do despite her limitations.
At step four of the sequential analysis, the ALJ took testimony from a vocational expert. After hearing Sloan describe her previous work at Sam's Club, the vocational expert remarked that Sloan's past work "looks like a composite job." Referring to the
Dictionary of Occupational Titles
(
DOT
), he said that Sloan's activity consisted first of work as a "receptionist," but that aspects of her work also fell under the
DOT
's description of an "order filler" or a "stores laborer."
See
1
Dictionary of Occupational Titles
237.367-038, at 207 (4th rev. ed. 1991) (receptionist); 2
The ALJ posed several hypothetical questions to the vocational expert, asking whether an individual with Sloan's impairments could perform her past duties as a phone attendant. The vocational expert opined that Sloan could not complete her job duties as previously performed, given the medium exertional requirements of the stores-laborer elements, but that Sloan could perform the duties of a receptionist, as defined in the DOT . Finding the vocational expert's testimony credible, the ALJ concluded that Sloan was capable of performing her past relevant work as a receptionist and deemed Sloan not disabled under the Act. The Appeals Council denied review.
Sloan filed an action in the district court, and the court upheld the ALJ's decision. Sloan appeals, and we review the district court's decision
de novo
. The Commissioner's decision must stand if it is supported by substantial evidence on the record as a whole and not based on any legal error. Substantial evidence is less than a preponderance, but enough that a reasonable mind would accept it as adequate to support the Commissioner's conclusion.
Chismarich v. Berryhill
,
Sloan's argument on appeal is that she lacks the capacity to perform her past relevant work. The ALJ concluded that she has the residual functional capacity to perform her prior work as a receptionist, but Sloan challenges this conclusion. At step four in the evaluation process, Sloan bears the burden to show that she cannot perform her past relevant work.
Steed v. Astrue
,
Sloan contends that the ALJ's determination was not supported by substantial evidence because it contradicted the vocational expert's testimony that Sloan's employment "looks like a composite job." In response to the ALJ's hypothetical questions, the vocational expert testified that a person with Sloan's limitations would not be able to perform a composite job as a receptionist and stores laborer, but could perform work as a receptionist.
In concluding that Sloan could perform her past relevant work as a receptionist, the ALJ described the vocational expert's testimony as "credible," but did not explicitly address whether Sloan's previous position was a composite job. Sloan contends that because she lacks the ability to perform the more strenuous aspects of a "composite job" that includes duties of both receptionist and stores laborer, the ALJ's conclusion is not supported by substantial evidence.
A composite job involves "significant elements of two or more occupations and, as such, [has] no counterpart in the DOT." Social Security Ruling ("SSR") 82-61,
That a job entails responsibilities beyond those outlined in the
DOT
does not necessarily make it a composite job. A claimant's prior work "may have involved functional demands and job duties significantly in excess of those generally required for the job by other employers throughout the national economy." SSR 82-61, at *2. An inability to perform these "excessive functional demands" does not render a claimant disabled under the Act.
Despite the vocational expert's testimony, the ALJ's conclusion that Sloan could perform her past relevant work as a receptionist was supported by substantial evidence. The
DOT
's description of a receptionist's duties matches Sloan's statements about her primary responsibilities, including "go[ing] through notes that members are waiting on merchandise to come in" and managing "incoming calls from members and rout[ing] them" to the appropriate person.
See
1
Dictionary
237.367-038, at 207. She also had to lift no more than ten pounds on a daily basis, and needed to walk for only one hour per day.
See
Sloan argues that even if her previous position encompassed all of the responsibilities of a receptionist, she did not perform those duties frequently enough to constitute "substantial gainful activity." To qualify as "past relevant work" at step four of the sequential analysis, the claimant's past work must be "substantial gainful activity." This means work activity that "involves doing significant physical or mental activities," even on a part-time basis, and is "done for pay or profit."
Substantial evidence supports the ALJ's conclusion that Sloan's work as a receptionist constituted "substantial gainful activity." She worked predominately as a receptionist, was paid for the work, and performed work that plainly involved significant physical or mental activities. That she also walked the merchandise floor once a week and "sometimes" needed to retrieve items on the floor to solve customer issues does not diminish her work as a receptionist.
Relying on
Carmickle v. Commissioner
,
Finally, Sloan complains that the ALJ did not provide a sufficient explanation for his decision. Although the ALJ explained only that his conclusion was "based on the credible testimony of the vocational expert," "a deficiency in opinion-writing is not a sufficient reason for setting aside an administrative finding where the deficiency had no practical effect on the outcome of the case."
Senne v. Apfel
,
The judgment of the district court is affirmed.
The Honorable Gary A. Fenner, United States District Judge for the Western District of Missouri.
Continue your research
- Eighth Circuit cases applying SSR 82-61's composite-job doctrine to step-four past-relevant-work determinations
- Cases addressing whether an ALJ must explicitly resolve composite-job classification before finding a claimant can return to past work
- Secondary sources on the composite-job doctrine and POMS DI 25005.020 in Social Security disability adjudication
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.