Acree v. O'rourke
Cases that cite this one
6 later published cases cite this decision.
- Cecil E. Hem Bree v. Robert L. Wilkie (United States Court of Veteran Appeals 2020)
- Pablo R. Martinez v. Denis McDonough (United States Court of Veteran Appeals 2023)
- Jackson v. Collins (Fed. Cir. 2025)
- Pereida v. Collins (Fed. Cir. 2025)
- Janich v. Collins (Fed. Cir. 2026)
- Regis v. Collins (Fed. Cir. 2025)
This list shows which later cases cite this one. It does not say how they treated it, and no review of that has been done. Not a substitute for Shepard’s or KeyCite — verify before relying.
Opinion
Lawrence J. Acree appeals the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims ("Veterans Court") affirming a decision by the Board of Veterans' Appeals ("board") to dismiss seven of his claims.
See
Acree v. Snyder
, No. 15-0031,
BACKGROUND
Acree served on active duty in the United States Navy from June 1985 to June 1989 and from June 2007 to April 2008. J.A. 9. While in the service, he was deployed to Iraq and was awarded Seabee Combat Warfare medals for his combat service. J.A. 39. Acree was diagnosed with post-traumatic stress disorder ("PTSD") while serving in Iraq. J.A. 99, 237.
After he left the service, Acree filed several claims for service-connected disability benefits with the Louisville, Kentucky Regional Office of the Department of Veterans Affairs ("VA"). J.A. 348-57. Acree appealed eleven of those claims to the board. See J.A. 8-17. On September 10, 2014, Acree testified at a hearing before the board. J.A. 10-11. A representative from the Disabled American Veterans ("DAV") organization was present at the hearing. J.A. 2, 146-85. The presiding board member asked Acree if he was withdrawing seven of his eleven claims from *1011 the appeal. His colloquy with Acree was as follows:
[BOARD MEMBER]: The issues certified for appellate consideration today, well there's more issues certified than what we're going to be discussing because some of the issues have been withdrawn. So let me address the issues that have been withdrawn first. The issue of an increased rating for degenerative arthritis of the tendonitis of the left shoulder. An earlier effective date for service connection for degenerative arthritis with tendonitis of the left shoulder, lumbar strain, [PTSD] and sinusitis. Entitlement to service connection for exposure to Gulf War hazards and entitlement to a total disability rating based on individual unemployability.
You're withdrawing your appeal with respect to all of those issues, is that correct, Mr. Acree?
[ACREE]: Yes.
J.A. 147.
Following this exchange, the presiding board member listed the four issues that would be discussed at the hearing and would "continue to be in appellate status." J.A. 148. He then asked the DAV representative whether he had "correctly identified the issues." J.A. 148. The representative responded: "Yes, thank you, Judge." J.A. 148.
On November 20, 2014, the board issued a final written decision remanding four of Acree's claims for further development. J.A. 10-17. The board dismissed Acree's seven remaining claims,
1
concluding that he had effectively withdrawn his appeal with respect to those claims during the September 2014 hearing. J.A. 10-11. Citing
Acree then appealed to the Veterans Court, arguing that the board "failed to provide an adequate statement of reasons or bases for its determination" that he had effectively withdrawn seven of his claims. J.A. 383 (citation and internal quotation marks omitted). He asserted that a veteran's withdrawal of a claim "is not effective unless the withdrawal 'is explicit, unambiguous, and done with a full understanding of the consequences of such action on the part of the claimant.' " J.A. 381 (quoting
DeLisio v. Shinseki
,
*1012
On January 30, 2017, the Veterans Court issued a decision sustaining the board's determination that Acree had effectively withdrawn seven of his claims. The court acknowledged that under
DeLisio
,
Acree then appealed to this court. We have jurisdiction under
DISCUSSION
A. Standard of Review
This court's authority to review decisions of the Veterans Court is circumscribed by statute.
See
B. Effective Verbal Withdrawal of a Claim
VA regulations provide that a veteran's "appeal may be withdrawn as to any or all issues involved in the appeal."
Except for appeals withdrawn on the record at a hearing, appeal withdrawals must be in writing. They must include the name of the veteran, the name of the claimant or appellant if other than the veteran (e.g., a veteran's survivor, a guardian, or a fiduciary appointed to receive VA benefits on an individual's behalf), the applicable [VA] file number, and a statement that the appeal is withdrawn. If the appeal involves multiple issues, the withdrawal must specify that the appeal is withdrawn in its entirety, or list the issue(s) withdrawn from the appeal.
Section 20.204(b)(1) sets out with particularity the requirements for making a written request to withdraw a claim.
See
In
DeLisio
, however, the Veterans Court determined that a statement made by a veteran at a board hearing qualifies as an effective claim withdrawal in accordance with the regulation only where it is: (1) "explicit"; (2) "unambiguous"; and (3) "done with a full understanding of the consequences of such action on the part of the [veteran]."
The
DeLisio
standard for verbal
2
claim withdrawal comports with the "uniquely proclaimant nature" of the system for adjudicating claims for veterans' benefits.
Hensley v. West
,
As they traverse the "labyrinthine corridors of the veterans' adjudicatory system,"
Comer
,
C. The Veterans Court Decision
Here, the Veterans Court acknowledged that
DeLisio
sets out the proper standard for determining whether a veteran has effectively withdrawn a claim at a board hearing.
See
Veterans Court Decision
,
We disagree. Having embraced the
DeLisio
standard for determining whether a veteran has effectively withdrawn a claim at a hearing, the Veterans Court erred by failing to ensure that the board faithfully adhered to that standard.
See
Allentown Mack Sales & Serv., Inc. v. NLRB
,
At oral argument, counsel for the government stated that it "does not take issue with" the
DeLisio
standard. Oral Argument at 26:16-22,
available at
http://oralarguments.cafc.uscourts./gov/mp3/2017-1749.mp3. Counsel asserted, however, that the Veterans Court properly applied that standard in a "flexible" manner.
Id.
at 26:41-48. This argument is unpersuasive. As discussed previously,
DeLisio
explicitly states that a withdrawal is effective only if it is undertaken with "a full understanding of the consequences of such action on the part of the [veteran]."
The government further asserts that requiring the board to ascertain whether a veteran understands the consequences of withdrawing an appeal is inconsistent with
Our jurisdictional statute,
see
CONCLUSION
Accordingly, the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims is vacated and the case is remanded for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.
VACATED AND REMANDED
COSTS
Acree shall have his costs.
These seven claims were for: (1) "[e]ntitlement to an initial rating in excess of 10 percent for degenerative arthritis with tendonitis of the left shoulder"; (2) "[e]ntitlement to an effective date earlier than April 24, 2008 for the award of service connection for degenerative arthritis with tendonitis of the left shoulder"; (3) "[e]ntitlement to an effective date earlier than April 24, 2008 for the award of service connection for a lumbar strain"; (4) "[e]ntitlement to an effective date earlier than April 24, 2008 for the award of service connection for [PTSD]"; (5) "[e]ntitlement to an effective date earlier than April 24, 2008 for the award of service connection for sinusitis"; (6) "[e]ntitlement to service connection for exposure to Gulf War hazards"; and (7) entitlement to a total disability rating due to individual unemployability resulting from service-connected disability ("TDIU"). J.A. 10-11.
Resolution of Acree's appeal turns on the requirements necessary for an effective oral withdrawal of a claim at a board hearing. We express no view on the criteria that must be satisfied when a veteran submits a written request to withdraw a claim.
See
Acree was diagnosed with PTSD and an anxiety disorder, J.A. 99, 235-39, 305, and has long been medicated with numerous psychotropic drugs, J.A. 52-53, 84, 89-90, 315.
Although Acree was accompanied by a DAV aide when he appeared before the board, J.A. 146-48, we have previously recognized that assistance from such an aide "is not equivalent to representation by a licensed attorney,"
Comer
,
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.