Sewards v. Comm'r
Opinion
Decision will be entered under
P-H received disability retirement payments relating to injuries suffered in the course of his employment. The payment amount was determined, in part, by reference to P-H's length of service. Ps did not report any portion of the payments as taxable.
*320 FOLEY,
On November *17 29, 2000, after many years of employment with the Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department (Sheriff's Department), and because of service-connected injuries, Jay Sewards was placed on involuntary medical disability leave. While on disability leave, he was provided a continuation of his $14,093 per month salary (final compensation) for one year. Because he suffered his service-connected injury after more than 34 years of employment with the Sheriff's Department, Mr. Sewards was eligible for two types of retirement plans: a service retirement based on his length of service (service retirement) and a service-connected disability retirement based on his service-connected injuries (SCD retirement).
On an election form dated July 30, 2001, Mr. Sewards requested, and the Los Angeles County Employees Retirement Association (LACERA)2 granted, a service retirement to take effect upon the expiration of his disability leave on October 31, 2001.3 Service retirement was authorized for individuals who: had completed 20 years of service regardless of age; had attained the applicable compulsory age of retirement;4 or had attained the age of 50, completed 10 years of service, and had no break from service *18 which exceeded 12 months. California County Employees Retirement Law of 1937 (CERL)
On May 28, 2002, Mr. Sewards applied for and was granted SCD retirement retroactive to the date upon which his service retirement took effect. Thus, his SCD retirement *19 replaced his service retirement. Individuals were eligible for *322 SCD retirement if they were permanently incapacitated because of an injury or disease arising from their county employment.
LACERA sent Mr. Sewards 2001 and 2002 Forms 1099-R, Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc., indicating that his service retirement payments were taxable. After his SCD retirement became effective, LACERA sent him amended 2001 and 2002 Forms 1099-R which indicated that the taxable amount was not determined. LACERA later sent him 2003, 2004, and 2005 Forms 1099-R which also indicated that the taxable amount was not determined. In a letter dated December 20, 2006, LACERA notified Mr. Sewards that beginning in 2006 it would report as taxable 50% of his final compensation. Consistent with the letter, LACERA sent him a 2006 Form 1099-R *20 indicating a portion of his SCD retirement payments was taxable.
On their joint 2006 Federal income tax return, petitioners did not report any portion of Mr. Sewards' SCD retirement payments as taxable. Respondent subsequently issued a statutory notice of deficiency determining that a portion of his SCD retirement payments was taxable and that petitioners were liable for a
The statute authorizing payments to Mr. Sewards is in the nature of a workmen's compensation act8 and Mr. *21 Sewards suffered an injury which arose in the course of his employment.
Petitioners contend that the entire retirement benefit is excludable.9 We disagree. SCD retirees were guaranteed an annual retirement allowance payable in monthly installments equal to 50% of their final compensation (guaranteed amount).10
Respondent further determined that petitioners are liable for a
LACERA sent Mr. Sewards 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, and 2005 Forms 1099R which did not indicate a taxable amount. LACERA, in late 2006, sent a letter to him indicating it would begin reporting as taxable a portion of his SCD retirement benefits and, in 2007, sent him a Form 1099-R reflecting the taxable portion. Over the course of several years, the guidance provided by LACERA varied. Petitioners, in good faith, took reasonable efforts to assess their proper tax liability. Thus, petitioners had reasonable cause for the underpayment and are not liable for a
Contentions we have not addressed are irrelevant, moot, or meritless.
To reflect the foregoing,
Footnotes
1. Unless otherwise indicated, all section references are to the Internal Revenue Code in effect for the year in issue, and all Rule references are to the Tax Court Rules of Practice and Procedure.↩
2. LACERA was the legally constituted agency for management of retirement assets and payments to Los Angeles County employees.↩
3. His service retirement was originally approved to take effect on October 9, 2001, but upon Mr. Sewards' request, his service retirement became effective immediately upon the expiration of his disability leave.↩
4. The compulsory retirement age varied depending on the individual's job title.
See Cal. Govt. Code. secs. 31662.4-31663↩ (West 2008).5. CERL is codified in
Cal. Govt. Code secs. 31450-31898 and adopted intoL.A. County Code secs. 5.20.010-5.20.080 ↩.6. Mr. Sewards acquired service credit for each payroll period of county employment during which a retirement contribution was made.↩
7. In subsequent years, this amount was increased to take into account cost of living adjustments.↩
8. Respondent does not challenge that the statute was in the nature of a workmen's compensation act.↩
9. Pursuant to
sec. 7491(a) , petitioners have the burden of proof unless they introduce credible evidence relating to the issue that would shift the burden to respondent.See Rule 142(a) . Our conclusions, however, are based on a preponderance of the evidence, and thus the allocation of the burden of proof is immaterial.See .Martin Ice Cream Co. v. Commissioner , 110 T.C. 189, 210↩ n.16 (1998)10. At the time of Mr. Sewards' retirement, the guaranteed amount was $7,046. In subsequent years, this amount was increased to account for cost of living adjustments.↩
Case-law data current through December 31, 2025. Source: CourtListener bulk data.