Brooks v. Hartford Life & Accident Insurance Company
Trial Court Opinion
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA
Alexandria Division
ANDREW BROOKS, )
Plaintiff, ) ) v. ) Civil Action No. 1:20-CV-85 )
HARTFORD LIFE & ACCIDENT )
INSURANCE COMPANY, )
Defendant. )
MEMORANDUM OPINION
At issue in this Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (“ERISA”) case on cross motions for judgment on the record is whether Defendant Hartford Life & Accident Insurance Company properly exercised its discretion in determining that Plaintiff Andrew Brooks was not entitled to long term disability (“LTD”) benefits for disability due to both physical and mental conditions. This matter has been fully briefed and argued and is now ready for disposition. For the reasons stated below, defendant’s motion for judgment on the record must be granted in part and denied in part, and plaintiff’s motion for judgment on the record must be denied.1 Specifically, because defendant’s determination that plaintiff was no longer disabled due to a physical disability was the result of a deliberate, principled reasoning process and supported by substantial evidence, that decision must be upheld. However, because defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a mental condition failed to satisfy the notice requirement of ERISA, that determination must be remanded to the plan administrator.
I.
The following findings of fact are derived from the record in this case: • From November 2010 to September 24, 2012, plaintiff was employed by PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP (“PwC”) as an “experience associate.” In that position, plaintiff was “responsible for helping clients realize competitive advantage from operations, translating business strategies into operations strategies, product innovation and development, sales and operations planning, procurement and sourcing, manufacturing operations, service operations, logistics, and capital programs.” Employability Analysis Report, Administrative Record (“AR”) 986. Plaintiff’s position was considered to be sedentary to light. • As an employee of PwC, plaintiff participated in a group insurance policy GLT-673035 (“the Group Policy”) issued by defendant. As an employer-provided insurance policy, the Group Policy is governed by ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1001 et seq. • As relevant to this case, the Group Policy was issued by defendant, effective July 1, 1999, to pay LTD and other related benefits to claimants who meet the conditions of the Group Policy. The Group Policy grants defendant “full discretion and authority to determine eligibility for benefits and to construe and interpret all terms and provisions.” Group Policy, AR 1874. • The Group Policy states that a claimant has a disability when the claimant is prevented by: (1) accidental bodily injury; (2) sickness; (3) Mental Illness; (4) Substance Abuse; or (5) pregnancy, from performing one or more of the Essential Duties of Your Occupation, and as a result Your Current Monthly Earnings are no more than 80% of Your Indexed Pre-disability Earnings. After [the first 60 months], You must be so prevented from performing one or more of the Essential Duties of Any Occupation. Id. at AR 1855. • The Group Policy limits disability benefits for those disabled by mental illness, stating that if the claimant is disabled because of “Mental Illness that results from any cause” or “any condition that may result from Mental Illness” then “benefits will be payable a total of 24 months.” Id. at AR 1866. • The Group Policy defines mental illness as: [A]ny psychological, behavioral or emotional disorder or ailment of the mind, including physical manifestations of psychological, behavioral or emotional disorders, but excluding demonstrable, structural brain damage. Id. at AR 1867. • The Group Policy further states that LTD benefits are only payable if the claimant is under the regular care of a physician and if the claimant submits satisfactory proof of loss, including, but not limited to documentation of the date, case, and prognosis of the disability medical information, and evidence that the claimant is under the regular care of a physician. Id. at AR 1861, 1865, 1871. • On March 1, 2012, plaintiff was in a car accident in Maryland. In the accident, a vehicle ran a red light and impacted plaintiff’s car at the driver’s side rear window. As a result, plaintiff hit his head on the driver’s side window but was otherwise uninjured.2 • Immediately after the accident, plaintiff was able to call 911, exit the vehicle, and take photographs of the scene before emergency personnel arrived. Plaintiff was then taken by ambulance to Shady Grove Adventist Hospital. • At the hospital, plaintiff underwent tests and physical examinations. In this regard, an x- ray of plaintiff’s cervical spine and an axial CT scan were performed, neither of which found evidence of a fracture or dislocation. Plaintiff was discharged a few hours later with a diagnosis of a head contusion and sprain to the neck and back. • A month later, on March 30, 2012, plaintiff visited Jon Peters, M.D., and reported feeling “very foggy and fuzzy headed.” Medical Examination of Jon Peters, M.D., AR 1679, 1687. Dr. Peters concluded that plaintiff was suffering a “closed head injury” and a “mild concussive injury to the brain,” and that plaintiff was suffered from “mild post[- ]concussive symptoms including headaches and cognitive difficulties.” Id. Dr. Peters recommended that plaintiff have an MRI of the brain and a “sleep deprived EEG,” and plaintiff did so. A review of the results of both tests were “unremarkable.” Id. at AR 1686. • In a series of appointments with Dr. Peters from March 2012 to January 2013, plaintiff reported difficulty with mood and affect control, headaches, trouble with memory and reading retention, and difficulty concentrating. Dr. Peters also noted symptoms of anxiety and difficulty with anger management, at one point finding it necessary to advise plaintiff “if he did not compose himself, [they] would have to terminate [the] meeting.” AR 1681.
But [plaintiff] hasn’t. Therefore I would say that [plaintiff’s] injury was not “mild,” but severely life-changing. [Plaintiff] is outside of the bell curve and must be considered permanently disabled. . . . All of [plaintiff’s] symptoms and pain came on after [the car] accident. This timeline must be honestly observed and respected. . . . Therefore, in my clinical judgment [plaintiff] suffered a TBI in the accident of March 1, 2012. It was severe and [plaintiff’s] life is altered to this day. In my opinion [plaintiff] is disabled and unable to work. [Plaintiff] has reach his level of maximum improvement.
Id. at AR 974-75. • Based on Dr. Spector’s independent medical examination, the employability analysis, and a review of plaintiff’s record, defendant determined that plaintiff “no longer [met] the definition of Disability due to a physical condition.” Initial Denial Letter, Nov. 30, 2018, AR 373, 373. However, defendant concluded that plaintiff did meet the Group Policy’s definition of disability due to mental conditions. Importantly, the Group Policy limits the maximum duration of LTD benefits for mental conditions to twenty-four months.
On January 24, 2020, plaintiff brought this action alleging that defendant had not complied with the Group Policy and the requirements of ERISA. 29 U.S.C. § 1001 et seq. Specifically, plaintiff alleges that defendant abused its discretion in finding that plaintiff was not disabled due to either a physical condition or a mental condition. On September 25, 2020, the parties filed the instant cross motions for judgment on the record.
II.
When addressing a challenge to a denial or termination of benefits under an ERISA plan, reviewing courts must apply a “de novo standard unless the benefit plan gives the administrator or fiduciary discretionary authority to determine eligibility for benefits or to construe the terms of the plan.” Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 115 (1989). Here, the Group Policy does precisely this; the Group Policy provides defendant, the plan administrator, with “full discretion.” Group Policy, AR 1874. It is therefore necessary to decide “only the contractual questions of whether the administrator exceeded its power or abused its discretion because only those inquiries are relevant to whether the administrator’s decision breached the contractual provision.” Griffin v. Hartford Life & Accident Ins. Co., 898 F.3d 371, 378 (4th Cir. 2018) (quoting Firestone, 489 U.S. at 111).10
For courts to determine whether the plan administrator, here defendant, exceeded its discretion, the Fourth Circuit has identified eight nonexclusive factors for courts to consider. See Helton v. AT&T Inc., 709 F.3d 343, 353 (4th Cir. 2013). These factors, first enunciated in Booth
Conkright v. Frommert, 559 U.S. 506, 517 (2010). v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. Assocs. Health and Welfare Plan, are as follows: (1) the language of the plan; (2) the purposes and goals of the plan; (3) the adequacy of the materials considered to make the decision and the degree to which they support it; (4) whether the [plan administrator’s] interpretation was consistent with other provisions in the plan and with earlier interpretations of the plan; (5) whether the decision[-]making process was reasoned and principled; (6) whether the decision was consistent with the procedural and substantive requirements of ERISA; (7) any external standard relevant to the exercise of discretion; and (8) the [plan administrator’s] motives and any conflict of interest it may have. 201 F.3d 335, 342–43 (4th Cir. 2000).11
As the Fourth Circuit has explained, “a trustee’s discretionary decision will not be disturbed if reasonable, even if the court itself would have reached a different conclusion.” Booth, 201 F.3d at 341. Additionally, the Fourth Circuit has articulated that “[u]nder the abuse of discretion standard, the plan administrator’s decision is reasonable if it is the result of a deliberate, principled reasoning process and if it is supported by substantial evidence.” Bernstein v. CapitalCare, Inc., 70 F.3d 783, 788 (4th Cir. 1995). And, as the Fourth Circuit has made clear, substantial evidence is “more than a scintilla but less than a preponderance.” Newport News Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co. v. Cherry, 326 F.3d 449, 452 (4th Cir. 2003) (quoting Norfolk In Metropolitan Life Ins. v. Glenn, the Supreme Court confirmed this analysis of a potential conflict of interest, stating that “a conflict should be weighed as a factor in determining whether there is an abuse of discretion” rather than changing the applicable standard of review. Metro. Life Ins. Co. v. Glenn, 554 U.S. 105, 115 (2008) (quoting Firestone, 489 U.S. at 115) (quotation marks removed).
Shipbldg. and Drydock Corp. v. Faulk, 228 F.3d 378, 380-81 (4th Cir. 2000)). With respect to the scope of review in ERISA cases, the Fourth Circuit has also made clear that under the more deferential abuse of discretion standard, consideration of evidence outside of the administrative record is generally inappropriate. See Helton v. AT&T Inc., 709 F.3d 343, 352 (4th Cir. 2013). However, “a district court may consider evidence outside of the administrative record on abuse of discretion review in an ERISA case when such evidence is necessary to adequately [sic] assess the Booth factors and the evidence was known to the plan administrator when it rendered its benefits determination.” Id. at 356. It is not necessary to consider outside evidence in this case, and in any event, neither party has asserted that additional evidence is necessary in this case.
Therefore, in order to overturn defendant’s decision in this case, it would be necessary to find that defendant’s decision was not the result of a deliberate, principled reasoning process or was not supported by substantial evidence.
III.
As an initial matter, it is necessary to address the shift in defendant’s reasoning between the Initial Denial Letter and the Final Denial Letter. As discussed above, in the Initial Denial Letter defendant determined that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition, but was disabled due to a mental condition. In the Final Denial Letter, on the other hand, defendant determined that plaintiff was neither disabled due to a physical condition nor disabled due to a mental condition. As the Fourth Circuit made clear in Gagliano v. Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company, ERISA requires that claimants be provided with a full and fair review, including “the opportunity for the claimant to appeal the adverse benefits determination and to submit written comments or records.” 547 F.3d 230, 235 (4th Cir. 2008).12 This statutory requirement extends to any new grounds for adverse benefits determinations given in final denial letters because those new grounds are effectively initial denials on the new grounds. See id. at 236. Here, defendant failed to give plaintiff the requisite opportunity to appeal administratively the finding that plaintiff was not disabled due to a mental condition, thereby violating ERISA’s procedural requirements.
As the Fourth Circuit articulated in Gagliano, such a violation requires “remand to the plan administrator for the ‘full and fair review’ to which [plaintiff] is entitled.” Id. at 241.13 Seeking to avoid this result, defendant claims that its determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a mental condition was warranted because plaintiff himself has consistently denied being disabled due to a mental condition. Although it is true that plaintiff has firmly denied being disabled due to a mental condition,14 that fact does not eliminate ERISA’s notice requirement. As the Fourth Circuit made clear in Gagliano, ERISA requires that defendant give plaintiff an opportunity to appeal administratively defendant’s conclusion that plaintiff was not disabled due to a mental condition in order to “protect a plan participant from arbitrary or unprincipled decision- making.” 547 F.3d at 235 (quoting Weaver v. Phoenix Home Life Mut. Ins. Co., 990 F.2d 154, 157 (4th Cir. 1993)). Defendant failed to give plaintiff such an opportunity here.
Defendant further claims that any appeal as to the validity of defendant’s determination regarding mental disability has not been administratively exhausted because plaintiff has not appealed the February 5, 2018 termination of LTD benefits. Defendant’s contention is clearly mistaken. In the Final Denial Letter, defendant explicitly wrote that the February 5, 2018 claim decision had been “rendered moot.” Final Denial Letter, Aug. 30, 2019, AR 344, 349. Thus, the Final Denial Letter effectively exhausted plaintiff’s administrative remedies for both the physical and the mental disability determinations.
In sum, because defendant has not provided plaintiff with full and fair review of defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to mental condition, that determination must be remanded to the administrator for full and fair administrative review. IV.
With respect to defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition, the principles elucidated above point persuasively to the conclusion that defendant did not abuse its discretion in determining that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition.
And because defendant’s determination was the result of a deliberate, principled reasoning process and supported by substantial evidence, that determination will not be disturbed.
Moreover, the eight Booth factors, applied here, clearly support the conclusion that defendant did not abuse its discretion in determining that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition, and then later upholding that determination.
1. Language of the Plan
The language of the Group Policy supports defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition. The Group Policy defines disability as being prevented by “(1) accidental bodily injury; (2) sickness; (3) Mental Illness; (4) Substance Abuse; or (5) pregnancy, from . . . from performing one or more of the Essential Duties of Your Occupation . . . . After [the first 60 months], You must be so prevented from performing one or more of the Essential Duties of Any Occupation.” Group Policy, AR 1855. In both the Initial Denial Letter and the Final Denial Letter, defendant found that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical disability from performing one or more of the essential duties of any occupation. See Initial Denial Letter, AR 373; Final Denial Letter, AR 344. Furthermore, plaintiff has not presented any argument concerning the language of the Group Policy. Defendant’s determination is therefore supported by the language of the Group Policy.
2. Purpose of the Plan
The purpose and goal of the Group Policy also supports defendant’s determination. The Group Policy’s purpose is to provide benefits in accordance with the guidelines of the plan and in compliance with ERISA. Here, defendant applied the language of the Group Policy and found after a full and fair impartial review that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition under that language, thus supporting the purpose and goal of the Group Policy.
3. Adequacy of Materials Considered and Degree to Which Materials Support the Plan Administrator’s Determination
The materials considered to make the decision were substantial and supported defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition. Defendant considered an ample administrative record in making its determination. When defendant made its initial determination, that record included medical records and reports from at least six medical professionals in addition to extensive administrative correspondence between defendant and plaintiff. When defendant made its final determination, that record had expanded to include independent medical record reviews from four additional doctors. Although several medical experts reported that plaintiff continued to be totally disabled due to a physical condition, substantial evidence supported defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to physical disability. Defendant’s determination was supported by the defense medical examination performed by Dr. Hope, the independent medical examination performed by Dr. Spector, and the independent medical reviews conducted by Dr. Sebesto, Dr. White, and Dr. Sautter.
In a defense medical examination on April 22, 2016, Dr. Hope reported that he saw “no evidence whatsoever of manifestation of pain” despite plaintiff’s assertion to the contrary. Medical Examination of Donald G. Hope, M.D., AR 1382, 1383. After reviewing plaintiff’s part medical history, Dr. Hope concluded that plaintiff “appear[ed] fully capable of work in his pre[-]accident capacity with regard to injuries sustained. I would impose a 40hr [sic] work week max but place these restrictions based on his current psychological state and consider these ongoing restrictions unrelated to the subject accident.” Id. at AR 1398.15
In his report on the independent medical examination of plaintiff performed on October 12 and 15, 2018, Dr. Spector reported that plaintiff was “obstreperous and agitated” through much of the medical exam and refused to answer a number of questions. Neuropsychological Evaluation Report of Jack Spector, Ph.D., AR 1008, 1009. Dr. Spector further reported that plaintiff “never seemed far from quitting the present examination all together, which in turn kept [Dr. Spector]
In their independent medical record reviews conducted on August 21 to 22, 2018, Dr. Sebesto, Dr. White, and Dr. Sautter all questioned the idea that plaintiff was suffering from a traumatic brain injury and concluded that plaintiff could sustain a standard 40-hour work week. In his review, Dr. Sautter found that there were “significant inconsistencies throughout the record regarding the uncomplicated concussion,” which Dr. Sautter claimed “do not result in persistent post-concussion symptoms.” Medical Record Review of Scott W. Sautter, Ph.D., Aug. 22, 2019, AR 657, 661. Therefore, Dr. Sautter concluded that there was “no substantive evidence” to support cognitive or behavioral health restrictions and limitations. Id. at 660.
In Dr. Sebesto’s examination, Dr. Sebesto asserted that plaintiff’s medical record “contain[ed] no documented evidence of impairment of the claimant’s neurologic function, and therefore, no restrictions/limitations are supported.” Medical Record Review of Jason Sebesto, Despite the fact that plaintiff “did not consistently exhibit his best possible performance during testing,” Dr. Spector concluded that plaintiff was not malingering or feigning impairment. Id. D.O., Aug. 21, 2019, AR 663, 666.
In Dr. White’s review, Dr. White found that Dr. Porvaznik’s opinion regarding plaintiff’s functionality and plaintiff’s self-reported inability to work were “inconsistent with the clinical findings.” Medical Record Review of Sarah M. White, M.D., Aug. 21, 2019, AR 669, 673. Dr. White found that plaintiff’s abilities were sustainable for a forty-hour work week with a minor limitation related to defendant’s reported pain.17
In summary, defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition is amply supported by substantial record evidence and by each of the independent medical reviews conducted by Drs. Sautter, Sebesto, and White.
Seeking to avoid this outcome, plaintiff argues that there is also evidence that plaintiff was disabled due to physical disability caused by the car accident. Plaintiff’s argument fails. Although it is true that several medical professionals concluded that plaintiff was disabled due to physical disability,18 defendant is not required to accept those findings over the conclusions of other experts. As the Fourth Circuit has made clear, “the plan administrator’s decision is reasonable if it is the result of a deliberate, principled reasoning process and if it is supported by substantial evidence.” Bernstein, 70 F.3d at 788. Additionally, the Fourth Circuit has explained that substantial evidence is “more than a scintilla but less than a preponderance.” Newport News Plaintiff argues that none of the reviewers relied on by defendant evaluated plaintiff’s complaints of pain. This argument is clearly incorrect. Indeed, Dr. White evaluated plaintiff’s complaints of pain and weighed them against Dr. Hope’s observation that “there was no evidence of pain” during his examination of plaintiff. Id. at AR 671. Dr. White then concluded on the basis of plaintiff’s pain and back problems that plaintiff should be limited to “lifting, carrying, pushing, and pulling up to 25 pounds occasionally and 10 pounds frequently.” Id. at 672.
4. Consistency of the Plan Administrator’s Interpretation with the Plan and with Past Interpretations of the Plan
Defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition was consistent with the provisions of the Group Policy. Moreover, although the determination marked a shift in application of defendant’s interpretation of the Group Policy, the determination was nonetheless consistent with both the language and past interpretations of the plan.
In making its determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition, defendant applied the Group Policy’s definition for disability and found, based on a review of plaintiff’s complete record, including Dr. Spector’s examination, Dr. Hope’s examination, and the reviews of Drs. Sebesto, White, and Sautter, that plaintiff did not meet the definition for disability based on a physical condition. This determination is clearly consistent with the provisions of the Group Policy. In making that determination, defendant changed its interpretation of plaintiff’s conditions and determined that plaintiff’s disability was due to a mental condition and was no longer attributable to the car accident.19 This change represents a response to additional evidence—first Dr. Spector’s examination and then the reviews of Drs. Sautter, Sebesto, and White—and is not inconsistent with defendant’s previous conclusion that plaintiff was eligible for LTD benefits. Thus, defendant’s later conclusion that plaintiff was no longer eligible for LTD
5. Whether the Decision-Making Process was Reasoned and Principled The record makes clear that defendant’s decision-making process was both reasoned and principled. As noted in detail above, defendant based its decision on substantial evidence that supported defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition. Additionally, defendant employed a reasoned and principled decision-making process to arrive at that decision.
From defendant’s original determination that plaintiff was disabled due to a physical disability to defendant’s review of the claim five years later, the record reflects that defendant’s decision-making process was thorough, reasoned, and principled. From April 2013 to November 2018, defendant determined that plaintiff was eligible for LTD benefits due to a physical disability. Defendant based these continuing determinations on medical records and reports from Jon Peters, M.D. and Michael Porvaznik, D.O., among others. When defendant received the medical report of Donald Hope, M.D., which conflicted with defendant’s determination that plaintiff was disabled due to a physical disability, defendant did not immediately alter its determination and cease granting benefits. Instead, it appears that defendant sought more information from plaintiff’s physicians and based on that additional information, continued to find plaintiff eligible for benefits due to a physical condition. See Defendant Benefit Management System Notes, AR 166-207. Additionally, defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition in the Initial Denial Letter and Final Denial Letter were based on a thorough, reasoned, and principled decision-making process. On July 26, 2018, defendant initiated a review of plaintiff’s case to determine whether plaintiff continued to be eligible for LTD benefits under the more stringent definition of disability that applied after the first five years of LTD benefits under the terms of the Group Policy. As part of that review, defendant arranged for an independent medical examination of plaintiff through a third-party. The results of that review, conducted by Dr. Spector, reinforced the position forwarded by Dr. Hope that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition. Defendant then conducted an employability analysis based on Dr. Spector’s examination and determined that there existed numerous occupations in the national economy that plaintiff could perform. Based on that evidence and a review of plaintiff’s record as a whole, defendant determined in the Initial Denial Letter that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition. Plaintiff appealed that decision and provided an independent medical review report that agreed with plaintiff’s position that plaintiff was disabled due to a physical condition. Defendant then conducted an appeal review through a separate appellate claims specialist. As part of the review, defendant requested three independent reviews of plaintiff’s medical records. All three reviews determined that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition.20 Defendant prepared an addendum to its employability analysis based on those medical reviews, and defendant concluded that there existed numerous occupations in the national economy that plaintiff could perform. Based on all of the evidence on the administrative record, defendant’s appellate claims specialist determined that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition.
From the thorough decision-making process defendant followed and the numerous steps defendant took to obtain expert reports and examinations of plaintiff, it is clear that defendant’s
6. Consistency of Decision with Procedural and Substantive Requirements of ERISA Defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to physical disability was also fully consistent with ERISA’s procedural and substantive requirements. In this regard, plaintiff presents no persuasive evidence that defendant’s determination violated the requirements of ERISA. As noted above, defendant did not provide notice to plaintiff regarding defendant’s determination as to whether plaintiff was disabled due to a mental condition and thus violated the notice requirement of ERISA.21 However, with respect to defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition, defendant provided plaintiff with both notice of defendant’s determination and opportunity to appeal that determination. Defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition was thus consistent with the requirements of ERISA.
7. External Standard Relevant to the Exercise of Discretion
There is no record evidence that any external standards of review apply to this case.
Therefore, this factor has no impact on the analysis.
8. Plan Administrator’s Motives and Any Potential Conflicts of Interest Defendant’s structural conflict of interest in making its claim determination as both the claim reviewer and the claim payor does not make the determination illegitimate. Although defendant has a structural conflict of interest as both the claim reviewer and the claim payor in this case, defendant has constructed adequate safeguards to reduce the impact of the conflict of interest on claim decisions. As the Supreme Court has stated in this regard, “[a conflict of interest] should
In that respect, defendant’s employees who make claims decisions are paid salaries that are unrelated to the amount or number of claims paid or denied, and are not given quotas or guidelines regarding claim payments or denials. See Declaration of Mary E. Roman, ¶¶ 23-24, Dkt. 13, Ex. 2. Additionally, defendant’s employees are evaluated based on the quality of their claim decisions. Id. ¶ 25. Moreover, defendant’s appeals unit, which is charged with making an independent assessment of the claim decision based on all the evidence in the claim file, is separate from the claims unit that makes initial claims determinations. Id. ¶¶ 27-28. Indeed, in this case, the employee handling the appeal did not discuss plaintiff’s claim with the employee who made the initial decision. Id. ¶ 29. Additionally, defendant’s claims and appeal units are separate business units from the financial underwriters. Id. ¶ 31. Furthermore, there is no persuasive record evidence suggesting that defendant’s determination was motivated by defendant’s structural conflict of interest.22 Therefore, although defendant has a structural conflict of interest, defendant has “taken active steps to reduce potential bias and to promote accuracy,” making this factor less important to the analysis under the Booth factors. Glenn, 554 U.S. at 117. * * *
In conclusion, because defendant’s determination that plaintiff was no longer disabled due Plaintiff contends that defendant’s adverse decision, is evidence that defendant’s conflict of interest infected the decision-making process. This argument is clearly meritless. As discussed above, defendant’s decision-making process was reasoned, principled, and based on substantial evidence. The mere fact that plaintiff disagrees with the outcome of defendant’s decision-making process is plainly insufficient to render the process illegitimate. to a physical disability was “the result of a deliberate, principled reasoning process” and “supported by substantial evidence,” the decision must be upheld. Bernstein, 70 F.3d at 788. The language and purpose of the Group Policy, the evidence considered by defendant, and the adequacy and thoroughness of defendant’s decision-making process all support defendant’s determination. Neither the fact that defendant changed its determination after five years of granting benefits nor defendant’s structural conflict of interest require altering this outcome. Moreover, defendant’s determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition is consistent with the equirements of ERISA. In summary, the Booth factors and Fourth Circuit precedent point persuasively to the conclusion that defendant did not abuse its discretion in determining that plaintiff was not disabled due to a physical condition.
V.
Plaintiff also moves for an award of attorney’s fees and costs. ERISA provides that “a district court may, in its discretion, award costs and reasonable attorneys’ fees to either party under 29 U.S.C. § 1132(g)(1), so long as that party has achieved some degree of success on the merits.” Williams v. Metro. Life Ins. Co., 609 F.3d 622, 634 (4th Cir. 2010). The Fourth Circuit has made clear that district courts should consider the following five factors when determining whether attorneys are entitled to costs and attorney’s fees: (1) degree of opposing parties’ culpability or bad faith; (2) ability of opposing parties to satisfy an award of attorneys’ fees; (3) whether an award of attorneys’ fees against the opposing parties would deter other persons acting under similar circumstances; (4) whether the parties requesting attorneys’ fees sought to benefit all participants and beneficiaries of an ERISA plan or to resolve a significant legal question regarding ERISA itself; and (5) the relative merits of the parties’ positions.
Quesinberry v. Life Ins. Co. of N. Am., 987 F.2d 1017, 1029 (4th Cir. 1993) Applied here, these factors point convincingly to the conclusion that attorney’s fees should not be granted. Although defendant failed to provide plaintiff with a meaningful opportunity to challenge the determination that plaintiff was not disabled due to a mental condition, defendant reasonably based that conclusion on defendant’s expert reports and on plaintiff's own contention that plaintiff was not disabled due to a mental condition. Defendant’s determination was therefore not made in bad faith. Accordingly, there is no significant need to create a strong deterrent against this kind of behavior in the future. Moreover, although plaintiff's argument that defendant failed to provide notice prevailed, the result is remand to defendant for further adjudication. Defendant, meanwhile, has prevailed on all other grounds. Thus, attorney’s fees and costs are not appropriate. An appropriate Order will issue separately.
The Clerk is directed to send a copy of this Memorandum Opinion to all counsel of record. Alexandria, Virginia
March 11, 2021
T. S. Ellis, II
United States District Judge
Case-law data current through September 30, 2026. Source: CourtListener bulk data.